Not everything is an e-bike. Learn the difference between emerging micromobility options, including pedal assist, e-bikes, e-scooters, mopeds and more.
Get There Safely by E-Bike
Types of Electric Bikes & Mopeds
Where you are allowed to ride and how you ride in NYC depends on the type of e-bike or vehicle you have. E-bikes and mopeds can look quite similar. Check the chart below to see what type you have.
|Electric bike, pedal-assist||Electric bike, throttle up to 20 MPH, operable pedals||Electric bike, throttle up to 25 MPH, operable pedals||Limited use motorcycle, low-speed, 2-3 wheels||Limited use motorcycle, low-speed, 2-3 wheels||Limited use motorcycle, low-speed, 2-3 wheels|
|How fast can I go?||20 MPH||20 MPH||25 MPH||20 MPH||30 MPH||40 MPH|
|Do I need a license?||No||No||No||Driver's License||Driver's License||Driver's License +M|
|Do I need to register my bike?||No||No||No||Yes, must be registered with New York State DMV||Yes, must be registered with New York State DMV||Yes, must be registered with New York State DMV|
|Where can I ride?||Bike lanes & streets with speed limits no greater than 30 MPH||Bike lanes & streets with speed limits no greater than 30 MPH||Bike lanes & streets with speed limits no greater than 30 MPH||Right lane and/or shoulder (except when making a left turn)||Right lane and/or shoulder (except when making a left turn)||Vehicle lanes|
|Do I need to wear a helmet?||Recommended for all, required for 16-17 year olds & working cyclists||Recommended for all, required for 16-17 year olds & working cyclists||Yes, required by law||Recommended||Yes, required by law||Yes, required by law|
- Remember that other safety equipment is required by law or recommended for use with these vehicles
- Mini-bikes, off-road motorcycles (dirt bikes), go-carts, and golf carts cannot be registered as vehicles in New York State and may not operate on sidewalks, streets, or highways
- *Class 3 e-bikes are allowed only in New York City
- E-bikes and e-scooters in areas administered by NYC Parks need to comply with NYC Parks rules
Dangers of Lithium-ion Batteries
Safety Tips and Precautions
- Use approved batteries
- Use supplied charger
- Use the wall outlet
- Make sure you can get out
- Store in open space
- No overnight charging
- Keep away from heat
- Dispose of batteries safely
Law & Enforcement
Pedal-assist e-bikes (Class 1) are allowed in New York City. As of November 23, 2020, all e-bikes (Class 1-3) are allowed in NYC.
Cyclists have all the rights and are subject to all of the duties and regulations applicable to drivers of motor vehicles: Review bike safety tips and NYC biking laws Download a complete list of New York City bicycle rules E-bikes can park on areas of the sidewalk intended for bicycle parking Get There by E-Bike Postcard, Spanish & Chinese (pdfs)
E-scooters are allowed in NYC. They have handlebars and a floorboard or seat, and may be powered by electric and/or human power.
You must not operate an e-scooter in excess of 15 MPH.
E-scooters may be ridden in bike lanes and on streets with speed limits no greater than 30 MPH. Do not ride e-scooters on sidewalks.
Helmets are recommended for all e-scooter riders, and required for 16 and 17 year olds.