Motorists & Parking

Alternate Side Parking

Many streets in New York have alternate side regulations, which allow for street cleaning. Most alternate side parking signs are clearly marked with signs featuring a "P" crossed by a broom. Some areas have three-hour restrictions (e.g. 8 am to 11 am) but times vary considerably.

The City suspends alternate side parking rules on the legal and religious holidays listed below, and makes emergency suspensions because of severe weather or other emergencies.

Some metered parking zones have alternate side parking rules. When alternate side parking is suspended for a holiday or other reason, the parking meters remain in effect.

Alternate side parking suspensions

There are multiple ways to find out about alternate side parking suspensions:

Emergency Suspensions

Alternate side regulations may be changed because of inclement weather or emergencies. DOT and the Department of Sanitation carefully consult weather reports before and during snowfalls in order to determine whether suspension is necessary. As weather patterns can change quickly, this decision must sometimes be made late in the day. After a snowfall, alternate side parking regulations will be restored so that plows can begin removing snow and ice from curbside lanes. Plowing helps to clear parking lanes and catch basins, which reduces the chance of melting snow flooding streets, and also helps return street cleaning operations back to normal.

To stay up-to-date on emergency suspensions, sign up for email alerts or follow @NYCASP on Twitter.

2014 Holiday Alternate Side Parking Suspensions

This calendar lists the legal and religious holidays with scheduled alternate side parking suspensions. The City also suspends alternate side rules due to weather and emergencies.

On major legal holidays, stopping, standing and parking are permitted except in areas where stopping, standing and parking rules are in effect seven days a week (e.g., “No Standing Anytime”). Parking meter regulations are also suspended on major legal holidays. The major legal holidays are New Years Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. On all other holidays, only street cleaning rules are suspended, and other regulations remain in effect.

Read instructions for importing the calendar file into Outlook, Google or OS X calendars applications.

The City of New York makes no representations about any content or information made accessible by this file, for any purpose. This file is provided “as is,” and you assume all risks associated with their use. The City makes no representation or warranties with respect to any loss of data, functionality from the downloading, installation or use of this file and shall not be liable for any damages that may accrue as a result of the use of this file.

2014 Alternate Side Parking Suspension Calendar
Date Holiday
Wednesday, January 1 New Years Day*
Monday, January 20 Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday
Friday, January 31 Asian Lunar New Year
Wednesday, February 12 Lincoln’s Birthday
Monday, February 17 Washington’s Birthday (Presidents Day)
Wednesday, March 5 Ash Wednesday
Sunday, March 16 Purim
Tuesday, April 15 Passover (1st day)
Wednesday, April 16 Passover (2nd day)
Thursday, April 17 Holy Thursday (Orthodox)
Friday, April 18 Good Friday (Orthodox)
Monday, April 21 Passover (7th days)
Tuesday, April 22 Passover (8th days)
Monday, May 26 Memorial Day*
Thursday, May 29 Solemnity of the Ascension
Wednesday, June 4 Shavuot
Thursday, June 5 Shavuot
Friday, July 4 Independence Day*
Monday, July 28 Idul-Fitr
Tuesday, July 29 Idul-Fitr
Wednesday, July 30 Idul-Fitr
Friday, Aug 15 Feast of the Assumption
Monday, Sept 1 Labor Day*
Thursday, Sept 25 Rosh Hashanah
Friday, Sept 26 Rosh Hashanah
Saturday, Oct 4 Idul-Adha and Yom Kippur
Sunday, Oct 5 Idul-Adha
Monday, Oct 6 Idul-Adha
Thursday, Oct 9 Succoth
Friday, Oct 10 Succoth
Monday, Oct 13 Columbus Day
Thursday, Oct 16 Shemini Atzereth
Friday, Oct 17 Simchas Torah
Thursday, Oct 23 Diwali
Saturday, Nov 1 All Saints Day
Tuesday, Nov 4 Election Day
Tuesday, Nov 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, Nov 27 Thanksgiving*
Monday, Dec 8 Immaculate Conception
Thursday, Dec 25 Christmas*

Temporary Suspensions

Alternate side parking regulations may be suspended temporarily in parts of the City in order to post new regulations. When the Department of Sanitation must change street cleaning rules, regulations are suspended temporarily to allow DOT to update signs in the affected area. These suspensions do not affect parking rules other than alternate side parking rules.

When the new signage has been posted, the Department of Sanitation provides a weeklong grace period during which its crews will clean streets according to the newly posted schedule, but will not issue summonses. At the conclusion of the grace period, enforcement of the new rules begins.

Park Slope Alternate Side Parking Suspension Study

During the summer of 2008, DOT suspended ASP in Park Slope, Brooklyn. The study found that the suspension caused minimal impact on traffic and parking conditions in that neighborhood.