Gridlock Alert Days

DOT Traffic Congestion 5th Avenue Midtown Manhattan

Coined in New York City, the term gridlock means traffic congestion that blocks a city’s network of intersections and has been used to describe the Manhattan core’s overwhelming traffic volume in general. Despite the number of vehicles on our streets, New Yorkers most often choose from a variety of available transportation options including regional rail lines, the 24/7 metropolitan subway and bus system, ferries, cycling, and walking.

NYC DOT designates the busiest traffic days of the year as Gridlock Alert Days. Whether traveling for work, errands or recreation, please consider walking, biking or taking public transportation whenever possible.

2021 Gridlock Alert Days

  • Monday, September 20, 2021
  • Tuesday, September 21, 2021
  • Wednesday, September 22, 2021
  • Thursday, September 23, 2021
  • Friday, September 24, 2021
  • Monday, September 27, 2021
  • Thursday, November 18, 2021
  • Friday, November 19, 2021
  • Tuesday, November 23, 2021
  • Wednesday, November 24, 2021
  • Wednesday, December 1, 2021
  • Thursday, December 2, 2021
  • Friday, December 3, 2021
  • Wednesday, December 8, 2021
  • Thursday, December 9, 2021
  • Wednesday, December 15, 2021
  • Thursday, December 16, 2021
  • Friday, December 17, 2021
  • Wednesday, December 22, 2021