Gridlock Alert Days

DOT Traffic Congestion 5th Avenue Midtown Manhattan

Coined in New York City, the term gridlock means traffic congestion that blocks a city’s network of intersections and has been used to describe the Manhattan core’s overwhelming traffic volume in general. Despite the number of vehicles on our streets, New Yorkers most often choose from a variety of available transportation options including regional rail lines, the 24/7 metropolitan subway and bus system, ferries, cycling, and walking.

NYC DOT designates the busiest traffic days of the year as Gridlock Alert Days. Whether traveling for work, errands or recreation, please consider walking, biking or taking public transportation whenever possible.

2022 Gridlock Alert Days

  • Monday, September 19, 2022
  • Tuesday, September 20, 2022
  • Wednesday, September 21, 2022
  • Thursday, September 22, 2022
  • Friday, September 23, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 16, 2022
  • Thursday, November 17, 2022
  • Tuesday, November 22, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 23, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 30, 2022
  • Thursday, December 1, 2022
  • Friday, December 2, 2022
  • Tuesday, December 6, 2022
  • Wednesday, December 7, 2022
  • Thursday, December 8, 2022
  • Friday, December 9, 2022
  • Tuesday, December 13, 2022
  • Wednesday, December 14, 2022
  • Thursday, December 15, 2022