Department of Investigation311Search all websites

NYC Marshals


City Marshals are appointed by the Mayor for five year terms. At the time of appointment and during his or her term of office, a City Marshal must reside in the City of New York or in the Counties of Nassau, Westchester, Suffolk, Orange, Rockland or Putnam. By law, no more than 83 City Marshals shall be appointed by a mayor. Marshals primarily enforce orders from Civil Court cases, including collecting on judgments, towing, seizing utility meters and carrying out evictions. In 2023, Marshals collectively performed approximately 13,520 evictions. Marshals are regulated by DOI but, unlike the City Sheriff, they are not City employees. Marshals collect fees, which are set by statute, from the private litigants whose judgments they enforce, and they also retain five percent of any money they collect on judgments. Marshals must pay an annual assessment to the City consisting of $1,500 plus 4.5% of their gross income.

To view the members to the Mayor's Committee on City Marshals please click here. The Mayor's Committee on City Marshals is established by state law and an Executive Order issued in 1980. The Committee establishes qualification criteria for Marshal candidates and identifies and recommends Marshal candidates for appointment and reappointment by the Mayor. The Mayor may appoint as Marshals only those candidates recommended by this committee.   

List of New York City Marshals
New York City Marshals Handbook
Citywide Performance Reporting (CPR)
City Marshals' Annual Revenue
Frequently Asked Questions About Marshals and Judgments