Home Improvement Contractor License Application Checklist
Translated Checklists in PDF
Download the Home Improvement Contractor License Application Checklist in:
English (PDF, 11/19/2021)
Other Languages (PDF, 03/17/2021): Español (Spanish) | عربي (Arabic) | বাংলা (Bengali) | 简体中文 (Chinese - Simplified) | 繁體中文 (Chinese - Traditional) | Français (French) | Kreyòl Ayisyen (Haitian Creole) | 한국어 (Korean) | Język Polski (Polish) | Русский (Russian) | ردو (Urdu)
Note: Update to PDFs in other languages coming soon.
For health and safety reasons, the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP) Licensing Center and NYC Small Business Support Center cannot serve walk-ins, but you can schedule an appointment to submit your license application in person. See Application Filing Process section.
Note: As in-person service is limited, we encourage you to use our online service which is available 24/7.
Home Improvement Salespersons
As of August 9, 2020, DCWP no longer licenses Home Improvement Salespersons. See Additional Resources section.
Who Must Have a Home Improvement Contractor License?
A person or business must have a Home Improvement Contractor license to do construction, repair, remodeling, or other home improvement work to any residential land or building in New York City. Other home improvement work includes, but is not limited to, the construction, replacement, or improvement of basements, driveways, fences, garages, landscaping, patios, porches, sidewalks, swimming pools, terraces, and other improvements to structures or upon land that is next to a home or apartment building.
This description is only a general explanation of who must have a Home Improvement Contractor license.
Quick List of Requirements to Apply for a Home Improvement Contractor License
See Requirements section for detailed descriptions. Make sure you provide all requirements; otherwise, your application is incomplete. DCWP can only consider complete applications for license issuance.
- Basic License Application
- Sales Tax Identification Number OR Application Confirmation Number
- Proof of Business Address
- Proof of Home Address
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance Information
- Proof of U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) certification relating to safe lead practices AND/OR Signed Affirmation
- DCWP Trust Fund Enrollment ($200 fee) OR Copy of $20,000 Surety Bond (or Third Party Bond), properly signed
- Contractual Compliance Agreement
- Home Improvement Exam and $50 Exam Fee
- Fingerprints and Processing Fee
- Granting Authority to Act Affirmation (if applicable)
- License Fee
Submitting your application does not mean your license is automatically approved.
Additional City or State Permits/Licenses/Clearances You May Need
Sidewalk work requires a permit from the New York City Department of Transportation (DOT). Contact 311 or visit nyc.gov/dot.
Many home improvements require a permit from the New York City Department of Buildings (DOB). Work to raise, lift, elevate, or move a house or building requires a special inspection by DOB. Contact 311 or visit nyc.gov/buildings.
If you plan to haul or transport waste resulting from your business operations, you must obtain a Class One Self Hauler Registration from the New York City Business Integrity Commission. For an application and more information, contact 311 or visit nyc.gov/bic.
This is not meant to be a complete list. See Additional Resources section.
Important Message about Business Certificate
You must have the applicable Business Certificate based on your business’s legal structure. Although DCWP does not require submission of your Business Certificate in order to process your application, DCWP may request this document under section 20-104 of the New York City Administrative Code.
Sole proprietors operating under a name other than your own must have a Business/Assumed Name Certificate.
Partnerships must have a Partnership Certificate and, if applicable, an Assumed Name Certificate for your business.
Corporations, Limited Partnerships, Limited Liability Companies, or Limited Liability Partnerships must register and remain active with the New York State Division of Corporations. You can check your status at dos.ny.gov/corps.
DCWP will deny your application if you do not submit these required documents and information:
- Basic License Application.
Online submission: After reviewing the requirements, please click the Apply Online link at the bottom of the page to submit your application.
In-person submission: Download the Basic License Application.
- Sales Tax Identification Number OR Application Confirmation Number.
To apply for a Certificate of Authority in order to collect sales tax, visit businessexpress.ny.gov.
- Proof of Business Address.
Submit a copy of ONE of the following documents in the name of either the business or an individual listed on the license application:
- Utility bill, dated within the last 90 days (e.g., telephone, gas, electric, cable, or water) OR
- Current lease or deed OR
- Current rent or mortgage bill OR
- Insurance document or insurance bill that shows your business address OR
- Correspondence from any government agency that shows your business address OR
- Current (active) license or permit or certificate issued by a City/State/Federal government agency that shows your business address
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance Information.
Provide a copy of ONE of the following documents as proof of workers’ compensation insurance information:
- An Insurance Certificate for workers’ compensation insurance from a private insurance carrier or the New York State Insurance Fund Office. The Insurance Certificate must name the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection as the certificate holder and include the Department’s address: 42 Broadway, New York, NY 10004. OR
- A Certificate of Attestation of Exemption from the New York State Workers’ Compensation Board (if you claimed exemption from the requirement to hold workers’ compensation insurance). For more information, visit New York State Workers’ Compensation Board at wcb.ny.gov
- You must provide DCWP with proof of Workers’ Compensation Insurance if your business no longer qualifies for Workers’ Compensation Exemption.
- ACORD Forms are not acceptable proof of New York State workers’ compensation coverage.
- Proof of EPA Certification AND/OR Signed Affirmation.
You must submit the requirements in 1 OR 2 OR 3 depending on the type of work your business performs:
- Copies of EPA Renovation, Repair, and Painting (RRP) certification AND EPA Lead-Based Paint Activities certification (also known as Lead Abatement certification). Certifications must include name, EPA certificate number, and EPA certificate expiration date.
- Copy of either EPA RRP certification or EPA Lead Abatement certification AND signed Home Improvement Contractor Affirmation indicating that the other EPA certification is not required for any home improvement work performed by the applicant.
- Signed Home Improvement Contractor Affirmation indicating that both EPA certifications (RRP; Lead Abatement) are not required for any home improvement work performed by the applicant.
For more information about the EPA certificates, visit epa.gov/lead.
- DCWP Trust Fund Enrollment OR Copy of $20,000 Surety Bond (or Third Party Bond), properly signed.
- If you want to enroll your business in the Trust Fund, complete the Trust Fund Enrollment Form. The fee for joining the Trust Fund is $200.
- If you do not enroll your business in the Trust Fund, you must submit a copy of a $20,000 Surety Bond (or Third Party Bond), properly signed. The copy of the bond must name the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection as the Certificate Holder. Your corporate name, Doing-Business-As (DBA) name (if any), and premises address must be exactly the same on all documents. You must also submit a copy of the bond receipt showing that the bond has been paid in full and does not expire before the end of the licensing period.
Download a list of bonding companies. Note: The list is not exhaustive, and DCWP does not endorse or recommend any particular bonding company.
- Home Improvement Exam and $50 Exam Fee.
A sole proprietor, general partner, corporate officer, principal, director, member, or shareholder owning 10% or more of company stock must schedule an appointment with Exam Builder to take the Home Improvement Exam.
- Only ONE of the following persons needs to pass the Home Improvement Exam: sole proprietor, general partner, corporate officer, principal, director, member, or shareholder owning 10% or more of company stock.
- The FIRST individual you list on the Basic License Application—Individual General Partner #1 or General Partner / Corporate Officer / Shareholder / Member #1) will be the ONLY person who can take the exam at an ExamBuilder Test Center.
- You can schedule the exam 24 hours after DCWP has processed your completed license application, which includes required documents and fees. You cannot schedule the exam until DCWP has received and processed required documents and payments. Once DCWP has processed your application, it takes 24 hours for your information to appear in ExamBuilder’s system.
- You have 60 days to take and pass the exam from the time your information appears in ExamBuilder’s system.
- You can schedule the exam in ONE of three ways:
- Online at dcaschedule.exambuilder.com. Enter your Record ID, then click Continue.
- You can find Record ID on your License Application Confirmation Page or payment receipt.
- By phone: (646) 974-8244
- Customer service is available from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. seven days a week.
- In person at:
- The Manhattan Test Center:
545 8th Avenue, # 1210, New York, NY 10018
- The Queens Test Center:
36-60 Main Street, 4th floor, Flushing, NY 11354
Test Centers are open seven days a week from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Note: ExamBuilder may offer additional Test Centers in the near future. ExamBuilder can provide you with up-to-date information when you schedule your exam.
The exam consists of 30 questions. You must answer a minimum of 21 questions correctly to pass. The fee is $50. The exam fee is separate from the license fee and is nonrefundable. If you fail the exam twice, you must pay the exam fee again in order to retake the exam.
Download the Frequently Asked Questions: Exams.
Download the Home Improvement Examination Guide to help prepare for the exam in:
English | Español (Spanish) | عربي (Arabic) | বাংলা (Bengali) | 简体中文 (Chinese - Simplified) | 繁體中文 (Chinese - Traditional) | Français (French) | Kreyòl Ayisyen (Haitian Creole) | 한국어 (Korean) | Język Polski (Polish) | Русский (Russian) | ردو (Urdu)
- Fingerprints and Processing Fee.
All sole proprietors, general partners, corporate officers, principals, directors, members, and all shareholders owning more than 10% of company stock must schedule an appointment with IdentoGO to be fingerprinted:
- Visit uenroll.identogo.com
- Service Code. Enter 1585BH
- Agency ID. Enter numbers only from Record ID Number. Record ID Number is on your receipt or confirmation letter when you apply online. (Example: For Record ID Number 12345-2021-AHIC, enter only 123452021 as Agency ID.)
- Follow the instructions and pay the required fee(s).
IMPORTANT: Anyone required to be fingerprinted should schedule an appointment as soon as possible to complete this requirement.
- Granting Authority to Act Affirmation, if applicable (download Affirmation).
Required if someone other than the license applicant will prepare and submit this application.
Note: The applicant must sign the license application and all related forms.
- License Fee.
License Period: 2 years | Expiration Date: February 28, Odd Years.
|If You File Your Application Between These Dates: ||License Fee Option 1 ||License Fee Option 2
|From March 1 in an odd year to August 31 in an odd year
||Pay $100 for a license expiring February 28 of the next odd year. (Valid for at most 24 months.)
|From September 1 in an odd year to February 28 or 29 in an even year
||Pay $75 for a license expiring February 28 of the soonest odd year. (Valid for at most 18 months.)
|From March 1 in an even year to August 31 in an even year
||Pay $50 for a license expiring February 28 of the soonest odd year. (Valid for at most 12 months.)
|From September 1 in an even year to February 28 in an odd year
||Pay $25 for a license expiring February 28 of the soonest odd year. (Valid for at most 6 months.)
||Pay $125 for a license expiring February 28 of the next odd year. (Valid for at most 30 months.)
○ Check or money order payable to DCWP. (In person)
○ Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card only).
You will be charged a nonrefundable Convenience Fee. (In person or online)
Application Filing Process
- Review requirements and gather all materials before clicking the button below. The online service is available using a laptop or desktop computer only.
- If you haven’t registered an account with the City of New York, you will need to register an account before you can proceed to the online application.
- After you submit the online application, follow the instructions on the confirmation page. DCWP cannot process incomplete applications.
- Important: If you need to file another license application, return to the Apply for a DCWP License page to read requirements and proceed to the next online application.
File In Person
Schedule an appointment to file in person at the DCWP Licensing Center or NYC Small Business Support Center
|DCWP LICENSING CENTER
42 Broadway, Lobby
New York, NY 10004
By Appointment Only Hours:
Monday-Thursday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Last appointment: 3:30 p.m.
|NYC SMALL BUSINESS SUPPORT CENTER
90-27 Sutphin Blvd, 4th Floor
Jamaica, NY 11435
By Appointment Only Hours:
Tuesday-Thursday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Last appointment: 3:30 p.m.
By Email: LicensingAppointments@dca.nyc.gov
By Phone*: Call (212) 436-0441. (Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.)
*This number is to schedule an appointment for in-person service only. For general questions, email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Free Interpretation Services are available on-site. To request a disability-related accommodation, please email DCWP’s Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator at email@example.com or visit our Accommodations page.
Additional Resources for Home Improvement Contractors
- For resources to help your business open, operate, and grow, visit nyc.gov/business.
- Learn Ways to Make Seniors’ Homes “Age-Friendly”
Created by DCWP and the Department for the Aging, this flyer offers contractors tips on working with seniors, making homes senior-friendly, and helping seniors go “green.”
- Important Update about Home Improvement Salespersons
Local Law 31 of 2020 repealed the licensing requirement for Home Improvement Salespersons. As of August 9, 2020, DCWP no longer licenses Home Improvement Salespersons and will no longer accept new or renewal applications. This repeal does not impact the licensing requirement for Home Improvement Contractors.
Get Voter Information
Note: Whether you apply to register to vote or not, it will not affect the assistance DCWP will provide to you.