Commission Members

Commission Members

Nancy G. Chaffetz

Commissioner and Chair
Nancy G. Chaffetz was appointed as a Commissioner of the CSC in May 2009, and has served as Chair since May 2011. Prior to the CSC, she served as a member of the NYC Health and Hospital Corporation's Personnel Review Board and as an Administrative Law Judge at the NYC Environmental Control Board.


Rudy Washington

Commissioner and Vice-Chair
Rudy Washington was appointed to the CSC in August 2003. Prior to joining the CSC, Commissioner Washington was Deputy Mayor for Community Development and Business Services, and has served the public in many other capacities, including as Commissioner of the New York City Department of Business Services; a board member for the Metropolitan Transportation Authority; Chairman of the New York Empowerment Zone Corporation; Chairman of the Brooklyn Navy Yard Development Corporation; Chairman of the Council for Airport Opportunity; and a board member of the New York City Procurement Policy Board.

Larry Dais

Larry Dais was appointed as a Commissioner of the CSC in June 2016. Prior to Joining the CSC, Commissioner Dais served as Assistant Vice President for Government and Community Affairs at Columbia University. Commissioner Dais is an Arbitrator serving on an array of panels servicing public and private entities in upstate New York and Long Island. He also serves as a member of the Southern District of New York Magistrate Judge Merit Selection Panel, and a member of the New York City School Construction Diversity Board.



Charles D. McFaul

Charles McFaul was appointed as a Commissioner of the CSC in March 2011, prior to which he headed the City’s Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings. Commissioner McFaul has also worked for the NYC Law Department, the NY State Division of Criminal Justice Services, and the NY State Office of Court Administration.