Suspended Scaffold Tips

Suspended Scaffolds (also called hanging scaffolds) are work platforms that hang from overhead support structures on roofs or building setbacks. Suspended scaffolds must comply with the New York City Construction Codes.

All workers on suspended scaffolds must complete scaffold-specific training. In addition, a designated foreman, licensed sign hanger, or licensed rigger must be on site at all times to supervise scaffold operations.

Types of Suspended Scaffolds

There are three major types of suspended scaffolding:

  • Outrigger Beams
  • C-Hooks
  • Davit Structures

Using Outrigger Beams & C-Hooks

Applicants seeking to use outrigger beams must file a CD-5 application with the Cranes & Derricks Unit. Notification must be made to the Buildings Department prior to using outrigger beams or c-hooks.

Training Requirements and Certifications


  • Must complete a 16-hour training course by a Department-approved training provider and receive a Certificate of Completion
  • Must have a Certificate of Fitness, issued by the Licensed Rigger or Licensed Sign Hanger overseeing the scaffold operations


  • Rigger - Must be licensed by the Department
  • Foreman - Must complete a 32-hour training course by a Department-approved provider and receive a DOB-issued ID card

Helpful Links