Stay in the Know

Information for Hosts

Are you violating short-term rental restrictions and in jeopardy of receiving a fine or legal action from your landlord? Read the following restrictions, outlined in the NYS Multiple Dwelling Law, the NYC Administrative Code, and the New York City Zoning Resolution to find out.

Did you know:

  • You cannot rent out an entire apartment or home to visitors for less than 30 days, even if you own or live in the building.

  • You must be present during your guests' stay if it is for less than 30 days.

  • You may have up to two paying guests staying in your household for fewer than 30 days, only if every guest has free and unobstructed access to every room and each exit within the apartment, and you have applied for and received a short-term rental registration.

  • Internal doors cannot have key locks that allow guests to leave and lock their room behind them. All occupants need to maintain a common household, which means, among other things, that every member of the family and all guests have access to all parts of the dwelling unit. Internal doors with such key locks create barriers to escaping in an emergency, and may result in the issuance of a temporary vacate order.

  • Under the NYC Administrative Code, property owners are responsible for ensuring their properties are maintained in a safe and code-compliant manner at all times. Property owners can and will be issued the violation for any illegal short-term rentals at their property -- even if it is conducted by tenants.

  • New York State law also prohibits the advertising of an apartment in a Class A multiple dwelling, generally a building with three or more permanent residential units, for rent for any period less than 30 days. Fines for doing so range from $1,000 to $7,500, and will be issued to the person who is responsible for the advertisement.

Submit a complaint

Do you suspect illegal short-term rental activity in your neighborhood?

Call 311 or submit a complaint online.