Secondary Navigation

New York City Raises $15 Million for 2016 DNC Bid, Has $5 Million Cash on Hand

December 12, 2014

Goldman Sachs, 1199SEIU, Condé Nast, Blackstone, Tishman Speyer and Citi among early donors

NEW YORK—The de Blasio Administration today announced that it has secured an additional $5 million from host committee members in support of New York City’s bid to host the 2016 Democratic National Convention, bringing the City’s fundraising total to $15 million. Today’s announcement showcases New York City’s unparalleled ability to commit substantial resources to hosting the 2016 convention in the five boroughs.

Of the $15 million, $5 million has been received, and the City has an additional $10 million in commitments from host committee members. Goldman Sachs, 1199SEIU, Condé Nast, Blackstone, Tishman Speyer and Citi are among the organizations that have contributed to the City’s convention bid. Once selected as the city to host the convention, the Host Committee will immediately convert all commitments into money in the bank to begin to organize the event.

“We are proud to have the backing of a diverse group of community, business, labor and faith leaders that have helped us to get the necessary framework in place to host a fully-funded convention that will help to propel the Democratic nominee into the White House. This outpouring of support is the latest sign that New York City is ready to host the 2016 Convention in the five boroughs,” said Mayor de Blasio.

“As a company based in New York City for 145 years, we believe it is important to support the City’s efforts to host the DNC Convention. More personally, having grown up in Brooklyn, I’m excited to showcase all the progress that will make it such a terrific venue,” said Lloyd Blankfein, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Goldman Sachs.

“New York is the ideal host for the Democratic Convention, because we are showing national leadership by addressing income inequality through progressive policies such as universal pre-K and paid sick days. The middle-class is struggling in America, and we must send a powerful message that we need to prioritize good jobs and a real voice for working people in national politics. This is an incredible opportunity to showcase our city and boost our economy—now is the time for us all to make a united effort to bring the Democratic Convention to New York,” said George Gresham, President of 1199SEIU United Healthcare Workers East.

“New York City is home to world class attractions, venues, neighborhoods, and the city has a spirit and energy like no other in the nation. Holding the convention here in America’s foremost city is totally appropriate, and it would be great for all New Yorkers. I’m gratified to see the business community standing ready to support efforts to bring the convention to NYC,” said Tony James, President and Chief Operating Officer, Blackstone.

“As a long-time member of New York’s business community, I am proud to support the city’s bid to host the 2016 convention. As a lifelong New Yorker, I am even more excited by the prospect of showcasing all that our five boroughs have to offer,” said Rob Speyer, President and Co-CEO, Tishman Speyer.

The Administration also today increased the host committee membership to 112 business, civic and labor leaders, all of whom have pledged their support.

New York City Host Committee 2016 Members:

Vincent Alvarez, NYC Central Labor Council
Stuart Appelbaum, Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union
Gina Argento, Broadway Stages
Ajay Banga, MasterCard
David J. Barger, JetBlue Airways
Paul Beirne, Bernstein Global Walth Management
Frank A. Bennack Jr., Hearst Corporation
Barry H. Berke, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
Peter Beshar, Marsh and McLennan
Lloyd C. Blankfein, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc
Jeff T. Blau, The Related Companies
Richard Born, BD Hotels
Jacques Brand, Deutsche Bank North America
Jill Bright, Condé Nast
Tonio Burgos, Tonio Burgos and Associates
Ursula M. Burns, Xerox Corporation Ltd.
Kenneth I. Chenault, American Express Company
Ric Clark, Brookfield Office Properties
Philippe P. Dauman, Viacom, Inc.
Dr. Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, NYC Landmarks 50 Alliance
Barry Diller, IAC
Jamie Dimon, JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Doug Dunham, Quinn Gillepsie
Douglas Durst, The Durst Organization
Helena Durst, The Durst Organization
Richard Edelman, Edelman PR
Blair W. Effron, Centerview Partners
Cheryl Cohen Effron 
Jay W. Eisenhofer, Grant & Eisenhofer P.A.
Leecia Eve, Verizon
Hector J. Figueroa, 32BJ SEIU
Alan H. Fishman, Ladder Capital Corporation
Jay S. Fishman, The Travelers Companies, Inc
Gregory Floyd, Teamsters Local 237
Marian Fontana, 9-11 Families Association
Mark T. Gallogly, Centerbridge Partners
Faith Gay, Quinn Emanuel
MaryAnne Gilmartin, Forest City Ratner Companies
Steve Goldman, Kramer Levin
Barry M. Gosin, Newmark Grubb Knight Frank
Jonathan Gray, Blackstone
George Gresham, 1199 SEIU United Healthcare Workers East
Robert Greifeld, Nasdaq OMX
Jeffrey R. Gural, Newmark Grubb Knight Frank
Gerald L. Hassell, The Bank of New York Mellon
Marc Holliday, SL Green Realty Group
Jay S. Jacobs, Nassau County Democratic Committee
Hamilton E. James, The Blackstone Group
Steven A. Kandarian, MetLife
Pat Kane, RN, New York State Nurses Association (NYSNA)
Brad Karp, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Rob Kaplan, Harvard Business School
Michael W. Kempner, The MWW Group
Julie Kushner, United Automobile Workers
Pam Kwatra, Kripari Marketing
Gary LaBarbera, Building and Construction Trades Council of Greater New York
Jonathan Lavine, Sankaty Advisors
Kenneth Lerer, Lerer Ventures
Leonard Litwin, Glenwood Management
Jeffrey H. Lynford, Educational Housing Services
John McAvoy, Consolidated Edison, Inc
Raymond J. McGuire, Citigroup, Inc.
George L. Miranda, Teamsters Joint Council 16
Leslie R. Moonves, CBS Corporation
Evan L. Morris, Roche Pharmaceuticals
Michael Mulgrew, UFT
Mike Muse, Muse Recordings
Charles A. Myers, Evercore Partners Inc.
Drew Nieporent, Myriad Restaurant Group
Cynthia Nixon 
Michael E. Novogratz, Fortress Investment Group
Sean Parker, Sean N. Parker Foundation
Alan Patricof, Greycroft LLC
Susan Patricof
Ronald O. Perelman, MacAndrews & Forbes Holdings Inc.
Douglas L. Peterson, McGraw Hill Financial, Inc.
Charles E. Phillips, Infor
Richard R. Plepler, Home Box Office, Inc.
Kirk A. Radke, Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
Bruce C. Ratner, Forest City Ratner Companies
Scott H. Rechler, RXR Realty
Dennis Rivera 
Lillian Roberts, DC 37
James A. Rosenthal, Morgan Stanley
Rosina Rubin, Attitude New YOrk
William C. Rudin, Rudin Management Company, Inc.
Kevin P. Ryan, Gilt Groupe
Elizabeth Sackler, Brooklyn Museum
Bill Samuels, Effective NY
Marie Samuels 
John Samuelsen, Transport Workers Union Local 100
Michael E. Schlein, Accion International
Richard D. Segal, Seavest Investment Group
Marissa Shorenstein, AT&T, Inc.
Adam Silver, National Basketball Association
Russell W. Simmons, RUSH Communications
Harendra Singh, Singh Hospitality Group
Jay Snyder, HBJ Investments
Rob Speyer, Tishman Speyer Properties
Ambassador Carl Spielvogel, Carl Spielvogel Enterprises
Joseph Spinnato, Hotel Association of New York City
Steven Spinola, Real Estate Board of New York
Jonathan M. Tisch, Loews
Daniel R. Tishman, Tishman Construction Corporation
Diane von Furstenberg, DVF
Peter Ward, The New York Hotel and Motel Trades Council
David Weinreb, The Howard Hughes Corporation
Maureen White 
Steve Witkoff, The Witkoff Group
Robert Wolf, 32 Advisors
Kathy Wylde, Partnership for New York City
Donald Zucker, Donald Zucker Co.

Media Contact
(212) 788-2958