Single-Use Plastic Bags

Single-use plastic carryout bags are banned, with limited exceptions, in New York State. as of October 19, 2020. Learn more about the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation's Bag Waste Reduction Act.

Prior to this law, NYC residents used more than 10 billion single-use carryout bags every year — costing our City more than $12 million annually to dispose of these bags.

New York State created a task force that analyzed the impacts of single-use plastic bags and issued a report: Learn more about the task force and read the report.


Any retailer that is required to collect New York State sales tax (with limited exceptions) will no longer be able to provide single-use plastic carryout bags. Learn more about the exceptions to the ban and how to comply.
Additionally, all NYC businesses covered by the ban must charge a five-cent ($0.05) fee on paper bags. Learn more about the carryout bag reduction fee and how to comply.

NOTE: This fee does not apply to any customers using SNAP or WIC.

Business Take-Back Program Requirement

The New York State's Plastic Bag Reduction, Reuse and Recycling Act has been in effect since January 1, 2009.

Large retailers are required to take back all types of film plastic for recycling, including single-use plastic carryout bags from residents.

Visit the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation for more information.