End Domestic and Gender-Based Violence311Search all NYC.gov websites

Advisory Council

Advisory Council

ENDGBV’s first Advisory Council was formed to support New York City’s efforts serving survivors of domestic and gender-based violence.

The Advisory Council was appointed by Commissioner Noel, and ENDGBV Senior Advisor Bea Hanson developed and implemented the council after having spent nearly four years heading up ENDGBV’s NYC Domestic Violence Task Force. Hanson will facilitate the council convenings lead by two chairpersons and 22 members, each with expertise specific to gender-based violence, and work experience aligned with ENDGBV-identified priorities and needs.

Co-Chairpersons Rawaa Nancy Albilal, President & CEO of the Arab-American Family Support Center, and Christopher Bromson, Executive Director of the Crime Victims Treatment Center, guide an impressive field of experts that includes:

  • Anne Patterson, Senior Vice President, Intimate Partner Violence Services, Rising Ground
  • Darlene Torres, Director of Client Services, Anti-Violence Project
  • Elizabeth Fitelson, MD, Associate Professor of Psychiatry; Director, Women's Program, Department of Psychiatry, Columbia University Medical Center
  • Joanne Smith, President and Chief Executive Officer, Girls for Gender Equity
  • Judy Kluger, Chief Executive Officer, Sanctuary for Families
  • Karma Cottman, Executive Director, Ujima: The National Center on Violence Against Women in the Black Community
  • Lisa Rachmuth, Executive Director, NYC Elder Abuse Center
  • Liz Roberts, Interim Chief Executive Officer, Safe Horizon
  • Loren Miller, Executive Director, Center for Anti-Violence Education
  • Madeline Garcia-Bigelow, Associate Director; Managing Director DV Project, Urban Justice Center
  • Margarita Guzman, Executive Director, Violence Intervention Program
  • Nadia Hernandez, Acting Project Director, Staten Island Legal Services, Legal Services NYC
  • Nathaniel Fields, Chief Executive Officer, Urban Resource Institute
  • Nicole Branca, Executive Director, New Destiny Housing
  • Pamela Shifman, former Executive Director, NOVO Foundation
  • Quentin Wolcott, Co-Executive, CONNECT
  • Raquel Singh, Executive Director, Voices of Women
  • Rosie Hidalgo, Senior Director of Public Policy, Casa de Esperanza; National Latin@ Network for Healthy Families
  • Shoshannah (Shana) Frydman, Executive Director, Shalom Task Force
  • Stephanie Woodbine, ENDGBV Voices Committee
  • Tricia Bent-Goodley, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Howard University School of Social Work; Graduate Professor of Public Health, Howard University Graduate School
  • Yasmeen Hamza, Chief Executive Officer, WomanKind