Water Board Officers

Water Board Officers

Joseph P. Murin, Executive Director

Mr. Murin was appointed Executive Director in February 2017. Mr. Murin has served as Chief Financial Officer of DEP since January 2017, after serving as Acting Chief Financial Officer since July 2016. Mr. Murin joined DEP in 2000 and from 2007 on served as Assistant Commissioner of Budget. Since beginning his City service in 1989, Mr. Murin has held budget and financial management positions with the Department of Transportation, the Office of Management and Budget, and the Board of Education’s Division of School Facilities. Mr. Murin began his career as an auditor with Arthur Andersen & Co. Mr. Murin received a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from New York University.

Omar A. Nazem, Treasurer

Mr. Nazem was appointed Treasurer in March 2016. Prior to joining DEP, Mr. Nazem worked in the investment management industry, most recently at Exium Partners, Coller Capital, and J.P. Morgan Asset Management. Mr. Nazem is a graduate of Harvard University and is a CFA charterholder.

Albert M. Rodriguez, Secretary

Mr. Rodriguez was appointed Secretary in October 2013. He currently serves as the Chief of the Municipal Finance Division for the New York City Law Department. Prior to joining the Law Department, he served as legal counsel to three successive Borough Presidents of the Bronx and worked as a municipal finance attorney and investment banker. Mr. Rodriguez is a graduate of Columbia Law School and the University of New Mexico.

Water Board Organizational Chart