Office Adaptive Reuse Task Force

Office Adaptive Reuse Task Force

The Office Adaptive Reuse Task Force explored opportunities to convert outdated office space to other potential uses, especially housing. The Task Force was established by Local Law 43 and culminated in the January 2023 Office Adaptive Reuse Study.

The Task Force called for 11 legal and regulatory reforms that would increase opportunities for productive conversions and help ensure NYC’s central business districts remain vibrant, adaptable, and successful over the long term.

This work directly supports the Making New York Work for Everyone Action Plan, a broader examination of the future of New York City and its economy.

Office Adaptive Reuse Study

Recommendations in the Office Adaptive Reuse Study include allowing most office buildings constructed in 1990 or before to convert. By moving the eligibility date to 1990, the City could enable new homes for as many as 40,000 New Yorkers in the next 10 years.

While conversion is expected to be a practical option for a limited share of those buildings, expanding the options is important to support investment and vitality of our business districts.

Other recommendations include a tax incentive program to support affordable housing in conversions and an incentive for retrofitting space for childcare facilities.

Read the Report Appendices:


The Task Force included 12 experts appointed by the Mayor, City Council Speaker, and Public Advocate, with NYC Planning Director Dan Garodnick as Chair:

  1. Dan Garodnick (Task Force Chair) – Director of the Department of City Planning
  2. James Colgate – Partner at Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner (Appointed by the Mayor)
  3. Kim Darga, Deputy Commissioner, New York City Department of Housing Preservation and Development 
  4. Basha Gerhards – Senior Vice President of Planning at REBNY (Appointed by the Mayor)
  5. Denis Johnston– Executive Vice President of 32BJ SEIU (Appointed by the Mayor)
  6. Cecilia Kushner, Chief Strategy Officer, New York City Economic Development Corporation (NYCEDC)
  7. Nicole Larusso – Senior Director of Research at CBRE (Appointed by the Mayor)
  8. Gary Rodney – Head of Affordable Housing at Tishman Speyer (Appointed by the Mayor)
  9. Wendi Shafran – Principal at FXCollaborative (Appointed by the Mayor)
  10. Wendy Wan – Director of Architecture at the Department of Buildings
  11. Cea Weaver – Campaign Coordinator at Housing Justice for All (Appointed by the Public Advocate)
  12. Michael Zenreich – Principal at Michael Zenreich Architects (Appointed by the City Council Speaker)

Questions or comments?

Please email: