FDNY Adds 43 Names to Memorial Wall for Deaths Related to World Trade Center Illnesses

September 5, 2023

The FDNY will add the names of 43 members who died of illnesses related to their work in the rescue and recovery efforts at the World Trade Center to the FDNY World Trade Center Memorial Wall. The outdoor ceremony will take place on Wednesday, September 6, at 4 p.m. at FDNY Headquarters – 9 MetroTech Center in Brooklyn. It can be viewed live on the Department’s website, www.nyc.gov/FDNY.

This is the second largest group to be added to the WTC memorial wall since it was created in 2011, when 55 names were added.

“As we approach the 22nd anniversary of 9/11, the FDNY continues to feel the impact of that day. Each year, this memorial wall grows as we honor of those who gave their lives in service of others,” said Fire Commissioner Laura Kavanagh. “These brave men and women showed up that day, and in the days and months following the attacks to participate in the rescue and recovery efforts at the World Trade Center site. We will never forget them.”

Those to be added to the memorial wall are:

Firefighter Dennis J. Komar
EMS Captain Faye Baughman
EMS Lieutenant Gloria Gordon
Lieutenant Baudon C. Malmbeck
Firefighter Russell Feliciano
Dr. Sabina B. Ostolski
EMT Steven Thorsen
Lieutenant Arthur J. Darby
Firefighter Richard C. Toshack
Supervising Fire Marshal James E. Devery
Firefighter Edward V. Hronec
Captain Paul W. Schmalzried
Firefighter Ronald J. Kirchner
Firefighter William M. Hughes
Firefighter Gregg Lawrence
Battalion Chief Joseph A. McKie
Lieutenant James F. McCauley, Jr.
Battalion Chief Stephen J. Geraghty
Firefighter George J. Tripptree
Firefighter Peter A. Chiodo
Firefighter John F. McDonnell
Battalion Chief Brian E. O'Flaherty
Firefighter Michael J. Arriaga
Firefighter Thomas D. Healy
EMT Patricia Scaduto
Lieutenant Michael G. Hance
Lieutenant Donald J. Kelly
Firefighter Thomas J. McDougall
Marine Wiper Bruce Peat
Lieutenant Joseph Brosi
Battalion Chief James J. Hanley
Firefighter Victor A. Cantelmo
Battalion Chief Vincent G. Lyons
Paramedic Peter L. Bushey
Paramedic Paul Daniels
Captain Gary A. Nybro
Firefighter James C. Mager
Firefighter Douglas F. Harkins
Lieutenant Richard Kobbe
Fire Marshal Karl J. Sederholt
Lieutenant James J. Burns II
Firefighter Michael T. Costa
Captain Neil R. Ferro

The inscription on the Memorial Wall reads:

“Dedicated to the memory of those who bravely served this department protecting life and property in the City of New York in the rescue and recovery effort at Manhattan Box 5-5-8087 World Trade Center”

WHO: Fire Commissioner Laura Kavanagh; Chief of Department John Hodgens, FDNY members and families

WHERE: FDNY Headquarters – 9 MetroTech Center, Brooklyn

WHEN: Wednesday, September 6, 2023 – 4 p.m.