Rohit T. Aggarwala, Commissioner

Rohit T. Aggarwala

Rohit T. “Rit” Aggarwala was appointed Commissioner of the New York City Department of Environmental Protection and the City’s Chief Climate Officer in February 2022. Under his leadership, DEP has been at the forefront of both stormwater and coastal resilience, streamlined its procurement processes to be able to invest more money in infrastructure each year, and improved DEP’s water revenues by reducing accounts receivable. As Chief Climate Officer, he also led the development of New York City’s most recent sustainability plan, PlaNYC.

Prior to the Adams administration, Aggarwala served as the first Director of the New York City Office of Long-Term Planning and Sustainability under Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg, where he led the creation of the first PlaNYC. He later founded the environmental grantmaking program at Bloomberg Philanthropies and served as president of the Board of Directors of the C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group. He was part of the founding team at Sidewalk Labs—Google’s urban technology startup—and more recently was a senior urban tech fellow at the Jacobs Cornell-Technion Institute. He has co-chaired the Regional Plan Association’s Fourth Regional Plan for the New York metropolitan area and is an adjunct professor at Columbia University. Aggarwala holds a PhD, MBA, and BA from Columbia University and an MA from Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario.


Chief Financial Officer - Joseph Murin
Joseph Murin
Chief Financial Officer
Chief Operating Officer - Kathryn Mallon
Kathryn Mallon
Chief Operating Officer
Deputy Chief Operating Officer - Kim Cipriano
Kim Cipriano
Deputy Chief Operating Officer
Chief of Staff - Anna Ponting
Anna Ponting
Chief of Staff
Assistant Commissioner EEO, Diversity, and Inclusion - Danielle Barrett
Danielle Barrett
Assistant Commissioner
EEO, Diversity, & Inclusion
Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Engineering Design & Construction - Ana Barrio
Ana Barrio
Deputy Commissioner
Engineering Design & Construction
Assistant Commissioner - Environmental, Health & Safety - Leigh Beer
Leigh Beer
Assistant Commissioner
Environmental, Health & Safety
Deputy Commissioner Organizational Development & Human Resources - Zoe Ann Campbell
Zoe Ann Campbell
Deputy Commissioner
Organizational Development & Human Resources
General Counsel & Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Legal Affairs - Elissa Stein Cushman
Elissa Stein Cushman
General Counsel and
Deputy Commissioner
Legal Affairs
Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Public Affairs & Communications - Beth DeFalco
Beth DeFalco
Deputy Commissioner
Public Affairs & Communications
Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Wastewater Treatment - Angela DeLillo
Angela DeLillo
Deputy Commissioner
Wastewater Treatment
Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Coastal Resilience - Laurian Farrell
Laurian Farrell
Deputy Commissioner
Coastal Resilience
Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Water & Sewer Operations - Anastasios Georgelis
Anastasios Georgelis
Deputy Commissioner
Water & Sewer Operations
Deputy Commissioner Customer Services - Jeff Lynch
Albert Kramer
Acting Deputy Commissioner
Customer Services
Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Sustainability - Angela Licata
Angela Licata
Deputy Commissioner
Deputy Commissioner of Environmental Compliance - Julie Lubin
Julie Lubin
Deputy Commissioner
Environmental Compliance
Deputy Commissioner Budget - Patricia Lyons
Patricia Lyons
Deputy Commissioner
Acting Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Police & Security - Frank Milazzo
Frank Milazzo
Acting Deputy Commissioner
Police & Security
Senior Advisor - Nerissa Moray
Nerissa Moray
Senior Advisor
Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Water Supply - Paul Rush
Paul Rush
Deputy Commissioner
Water Supply
Chief Information Officer - Michael Shum
Michael Shum
Chief Information Officer
Agency Chief Contracting Officer - Joseph Vaicels
Joseph Vaicels
Agency Chief Contracting Officer
Deputy Chief Financial Officer - Elisa Velazquez
Elisa Velazquez
Deputy Chief Financial Officer