1951 - First Community Planning Councils established by the Manhattan Borough President

1963 - 62 Community Planning Boards established by the New York City Charter

1968 - Local Law 39 expands the powers of Community Planning Boards

1975 - 59 Community Boards established by the Charter Revision Commission

1989 - Charter Revision Commission changes the structure of City government and increases the role of Community Boards in environmental review process. Currently there are 59 Community Boards:

12 in the Bronx;

18 in Brooklyn;

12 in Manhattan;

14 in Queens; and

3 in Staten Island

Maximum of 250,000 people per Community District.