Today, more than 38,000 buildings throughout New York City are protected as individual landmarks, interior landmarks, scenic landmarks, or as part of 158 historic districts. According to the Landmarks Law, one of the purposes of safeguarding the buildings and places that represent New York City's history is to promote the use of designated landmarks for the education, pleasure and welfare of the people of the City. In that spirit, the Commission created a series of features such as story maps, image galleries, walking tours and other online content and initiatives to help you explore the history of the city through its built environment.

Digital Photo Archive
Story Maps
Image Galleries
Walking Tours
Love NYC Landmarks