Commissioners & Staff

The Public Design Commission is composed of 11 members, who serve pro bono: an architect, landscape architect, painter, sculptor, and three lay members, all of whom are nominated by the Fine Arts Federation (an arts consortium) and appointed by the Mayor; and representatives of the Brooklyn Museum, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York Public Library, and Mayor’s Office. The President and other officers of the Commission are elected by its members.