Vaccination Information for Pharmacists

New York State-licensed pharmacists, certified by the New York State Department of Education to vaccinate, can provide influenza, pneumococcal, meningococcal, herpes zoster and tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis (Td or Tdap) vaccines to persons 18 years of age and older. Certified pharmacists can also administer influenza vaccine to persons 2 years of age and older. Pharmacists who have not been certified as an immunizer can learn more about how to become a certified immunizer in New York.

Pharmacists who wish to administer vaccines must get a non-patient specific standing order from a licensed New York State physician or nurse practitioner. In NYC, pharmacists who plan to vaccinate must get their non-patient standing order from a physician or nurse practitioner who is licensed in New York State and located in NYC.

You can review all of the laws, rules and regulations for pharmacist vaccinations.

See a sample version of a template non-patient specific standing order document (PDF).

On August 24, 2020, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) amended the Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness Act (PREP Act), authorizing State-licensed pharmacists to order and administer ACIP-recommended vaccines to individuals ages 3 through 18 years, to increase access to childhood vaccines and decrease the risk of vaccine-preventable disease outbreaks. You can review the details of this amendment and pharmacist requirements.

Non Patient-Specific Standing Order from NYC Health Department

Pharmacists who are interested in vaccinating their patients using a non-patient standing order issued by the Health Department must attend one orientation session. The next orientation sessions will be offered in the summer of 2021. You can also request more information by emailing

Reporting Requirement

Pharmacists administering vaccines in NYC are required to report vaccine doses given to individuals 18 (and ages 2-17 for flu vaccine) to the Citywide Immunization Registry (CIR). In addition, vaccinating pharmacists must also report vaccines administered to adults 19 and older to the CIR, with the written or verbal consent of the individual receiving the vaccine. Pharmacists must report vaccinations to the CIR within 14 days of administering the vaccine.

You can find more information on this reporting requirement in this notification letter (PDF) and these FAQs.

Additional Resources

More Information