About New York City Government

City of New York flag

New York City

New York is composed of five boroughs – Brooklyn, the Bronx, Manhattan, Queens and Staten Island - is home to 8.4 million people who speak more than 200 languages, hail from every corner of the globe, and, together, are the heart and soul of the most dynamic city in the world. 

New York City is a global leader in industries ranging from technology to transportation to financial services to fashion to health care to education. More than 52 million people visit NYC each year to experience the city’s unparalleled cultural institutions, visit our world-renowned parks, and dine at our more than 24,000 restaurants.

The City government, which is led by a Mayor and a Council of 51 members, employs more than 300,000 civil servants – including police officers, firefighters, educators, doctors, nurses, artists, and engineers – works to ensure the City promotes public safety, public health and opportunity. New Yorkers elect the Mayor, Borough Presidents, City Council Members, Public Advocate, and Comptroller. These officials are collectively responsible for overseeing City government, either directly or through their appointees. The City Charter defines the authority of each official or body, including community boards, and the relationships among them.

The Blue Room

The Mayor

The Mayor is the City's chief executive officer, setting the agenda for the City and its finances and appointing Deputy Mayors and heads of agencies to carry out policies.

Eric L. Adams is the 110th Mayor of the City of New York. Mayor Adams has served the people of New York City as an NYPD officer, State Senator, Brooklyn Borough President, and now as the 110th Mayor of the City of New York. He gave voice to a diverse coalition of working families in all five boroughs and is leading the fight to bring back New York City’s economy, reduce inequality, improve public safety, and build a stronger, healthier city that delivers for all New Yorkers. Visit the Office of the Mayor to view the most recent City news announcements, contact Administration Officials, and learn more about Mayor Adams.

The Municipal Building

The Public Advocate

An independently elected public official, the Public Advocate represents the consumers of City services. He reviews and investigates complaints about City services, assesses whether agencies are responsive to the public, and recommends improvements in agency programs and complaint handling procedures; he serves as ombudsman, or go-between, for individuals who are having trouble getting the service, help or answer they need from City agencies; he monitors the effectiveness of the City's public information and education efforts. Visit the office of the Public Advocate.

The Comptroller

An independently elected official, the Comptroller is the City's Chief Financial Officer and advises the Mayor, the City Council, and the public of the City's financial condition, and makes recommendations regarding City programs and operations, fiscal policies, and financial transactions. The Comptroller also audits and examines all matters relating to the City's finances. Visit the office of the Comptroller.

City Hall

The City Council

The City Council is NYC's legislative body. There are 51 elected members, one from each council district. Besides enacting legislation, the Council approves the City's budget and has oversight powers for the activities of City agencies. The Council monitors the operation and performance of city agencies, makes land use decisions and has sole responsibility for approving the city's budget. It also legislates on a wide range of other subjects. The Council is an equal partner with the Mayor in the governing of New York City. The Speaker of the City Council is Adrienne Adams. View a list of all City Council Members here.

The Borough President

The Borough Presidents are the executive officials of each borough. The City Charter gives them authority to: work with the Mayor in preparing the annual executive budget submitted to the City Council and to propose borough budget priorities directly to the council; review and comment on major land use decisions and propose sites for city facilities within their respective boroughs; monitor and modify the delivery of city services within their boroughs; and engage in strategic planning for their boroughs. Visit the websites of the five Borough Presidents to learn more:

  • The Bronx Borough President: Vanessa L. Gibson
  • Brooklyn Borough President: Antonio Reynoso
  • Manhattan Borough President: Mark D. Levine
  • Queens Borough President: Donovan Richards
  • Staten Island Borough President: Vito Fossella

Community Boards

Community boards are local representative bodies. There are 59 community boards throughout the City, and each one consists of up to 50 unsalaried members, half of whom are nominated by their district's City Council members. Board members are selected and appointed by the Borough Presidents from among active, involved people of each community and must reside, work, or have some other significant interest in the community. Find a Community Board at the Community Affairs Unit website.