New York City Police Department311Search all websites


The New York City Police Department is headed by the Police Commissioner, who is appointed by the Mayor. Her function is to carry out the department's critical mission: ensuring a safe, secure environment and enhancing the quality of life for all New Yorkers.

Reporting to the Police Commissioner are the First Deputy Commissioner, Deputy Commissioners, Chief of Department (highest ranking uniformed member of the service), and Bureau Chiefs.

Police Commissioner
Keechant L. Sewell
First Deputy Commissioner
Edward A. Caban
Chief of Department
Jeffrey B. Maddrey
Chief of Staff
Oleg Chernyavsky
Deputy Commissioners
Community Affairs Mark T. Stewart
Collaborative Policing Chauncey Parker
Department Advocate Amy J. Litwin
Employee Relations Lisa D. White
Equity and Inclusion Wendy Garcia
Labor Relations
Legal Matters
Management and Budget Kristine M. Ryan
Public Information Julian Phillips
Support Services Division
Trials Rosemarie Maldonado
Crime Control Strategies Michael Lipetri
Detectives James W. Essig
Housing Martine N. Materasso
IntelligenceCounterterrorism Thomas Galati
Interagency Operations Theresa Tobin
Information Technology Ruben Beltran
Internal Affairs Miguel A. Iglesias
Patrol Services John M. Chell
Personnel Donna G. Jones
Special Operations Wilson Aramboles
Risk Management Matthew V. Pontillo
Strategic Initiatives Isa M. Abbassi
Supervising Chief Surgeon Eli J. Kleinman, MD, MPH
Training Juanita N. Holmes
Transit Michael M. Kemper
Transportation Kim Y. Royster