NYC Junior Ambassadors311Search all websites

2017-2018 Selection Committee

2017 - 2018 Selection Committee

The NYC Junior Ambassadors Selection Committee is comprised of local and international leaders who share a commitment to empowering youth through strong connections with the United Nations and its work. The Selection Committee is responsible for choosing the NYCJA cohort.

Penny Abeywardena
Commissioner, Mayor's Office for International Affairs
Jayathma Wickramanayake
Secretary-General's Envoy on Youth, United Nations
Richard Buery
Deputy Mayor for Strategic Policy Initiatives
Kathy Calvin
President and CEO, United Nations Foundation
Bill Chong
Commissioner, New York City Department of Youth and Community Development
Carmen Fariña
Chancellor, New York City Department of Education
Paula Gavin
Chief Service Officer, NYC Service
Phillip Hammack
Assistant Principal, Bronx Park Middle School
Melissa Mark-Viverito
Speaker, New York City Council
Valarie Hunsinger
Valarie Hunsinger, Teacher, Hyde Leadership Charter School
Valerie Rockefeller
Chair Rockefeller Brothers Fund and Board Member of Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors
Craig Kielburger
Craig Kielburger, Founder, WE DAY

View the 2016-2017 Selection Committee