Advisory Commission

Cultural Affairs Advisory Commission

CAAC Member List

  • Kemi Ilesanmi, Chair, Cultural Affairs Advisory Commission and Executive Director of The Laundromat Project
  • Candice Anderson, Executive Director of Cool Culture
  • Steve Buscemi, Actor, Director and Writer
  • Gabri Christa, Film and Dance Maker, Associate Professor of Professional Practice, Barnard College
  • Ben Rodriguez-Cubeñas, Director at the Rockefeller Brothers Fund
  • Ebony Noelle Golden, CEO/Founder, Betty’s Daughter Arts Collaborative
  • Melanie Hartzog, President, The New York Foundling
  • Lane Harwell, Program Officer, Creativity and Free Expression, Ford Foundation
  • Peter Hatch, Commissioner, NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection
  • Jane Steiner Hoffman, Fellow at Harvard University, Environmentalist, and former Commissioner of New York City's Department of Consumer Affairs
  • Emil J. Kang, Program Director for Arts and Cultural Heritage, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
  • Michael Kamber, Founder/Executive Director, Bronx Documentary Center
  • Simi Linton, Author, Filmmaker, and President, Disability / Arts Consultancy
  • Brett Littman, Director, Noguchi Museum
  • Robyne Walker Murphy, Executive Director, Groundswell
  • Raymond J. McGuire, Global Head of Corporate and Investment Banking, Citigroup
  • Muriel Miguel, Founding Member & Artistic Director, Spiderwoman Theater
  • Jennifer Ifil-Ryan, Director of Education, Friends of Highline
  • Kristina Newman-Scott, Executive Director, The Greene Space at New York Public Radio
  • Kellie Terry, Program Officer - Sustainable Environments , Surdna Foundation
  • Jeff Thamkittikasem, Senior Director, Ambulatory Operations, NYU Langone Health

Honorary Members

  • Susana Torruella Leval, Chair Emeritus, Cultural Affairs Advisory Commission
  • John Calvelli, Executive Director, Wildlife Conservation Society
  • Viviana Bianchi, Executive Director, Bronx Council of the Arts


Laurie Cumbo, Commissioner, NYC Department of Cultural Affairs

Sue Donoghue, Commissioner, NYC Parks Department

Maria Torres-Springer, NYC Deputy Mayor for Economic & Workforce Development