Secondary Navigation

New York City Announces $10 Million in Commitments for DNC Bid

November 19, 2014

NEW YORK—The de Blasio Administration today announced that it has secured $10 million in commitments from host committee members for the City’s bid to host the 2016 Democratic National Convention.

In August, the City announced that it is preparing to host a $100 million convention, and has since raised 10 percent of that amount with two years left to plan and finance the convention. Once selected as the city to host the convention, the City and Host Committee will immediately convert those commitments into money in the bank to begin to organize the event.

The Administration also announced today that it has increased the host committee membership to 101 business, civic and labor leaders, all of whom have pledged their support.

“With this unprecedented show of support from such a broad cross-section of New Yorkers, we’ll be ready to hit the ground running the moment we’re named the host of the 2016 convention,” said Mayor de Blasio. “Taken together, today’s announcements show that New York City is both excited and prepared to host a fully-funded convention in all five boroughs to showcase the Democratic nominee for president.”

Earlier this month, Chief of Staff Laura Santucci took a temporary leave of absence from her role at City Hall to oversee the City’s operational, financial and strategic planning to secure the bid, and top Democratic fundraiser Liz Lowery came on board to build out the host committee and prepare the way for accelerated fundraising in the event that New York City gets the nod. Later this month, the City will begin to host a series of community meetings with key stakeholders to continue efforts to engage the community from the grassroots up.

New York City Host Committee 2016 Members:

Vincent Alvarez, NYC Central Labor Council
Stuart Appelbaum, Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union
Gina Argento, Broadway Stages
David J. Barger, JetBlue Airways
Frank A. Bennack Jr., Hearst Corporation
Barry H. Berke, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
Peter Beshar, Marsh and McLennan
Lloyd C. Blankfein, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc
Jeff T. Blau, The Related Companies
Richard Born, BD Hotels
Jacques Brand, Deutsche Bank North America
Jill Bright, Conde Nast Publications
Tonio Burgos, Tonio Burgos and Associates
Ursula M. Burns, Xerox Corporation Ltd.
Kenneth I. Chenault, American Express Company
Ian T. Clark, Genentech, Inc.
Ric Clark, Brookfield Office Properties
Philippe P. Dauman, Viacom, Inc.
Dr. Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, NYC Landmarks 50 Alliance
Barry Diller, IAC
Jamie Dimon, JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Douglas Durst, The Durst Organization
Helena Durst, The Durst Organization
Blair W. Effron, Centerview Partners
Cheryl Cohen Effron 
Jay W. Eisenhofer, Grant & Eisenhofer P.A.
Leecia Eve, Verizon
Hector J. Figueroa, 32BJ SEIU
Alan H. Fishman, Ladder Capital Corporation
Jay S. Fishman, The Travelers Companies, Inc
Gregory Floyd, Teamsters Local 237
Marian Fontana, 9-11 Families Association
Mark T. Gallogly, Centerbridge Partners
MaryAnne Gilmartin, Forest City Ratner Companies
Barry M. Gosin, Newmark Grubb Knight Frank
Jonathan Gray, Blackstone
George Gresham, 1199 SEIU United Healthcare Workers East
Robert Greifeld, Nasdaq OMX
Jeffrey R. Gural, Newmark Grubb Knight Frank
Gerald L. Hassell, The Bank of New York Mellon
Marc Holliday, SL Green Realty Group
Hamilton E. James, The Blackstone Group
Steven A. Kandarian, MetLife
Pat Kane, RN, New York State Nurses Association (NYSNA)
Brad Karp, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Michael W. Kempner, The MWW Group
Julie Kushner, United Automobile Workers
Pam Kwatra, Kripari Marketing
Gary LaBarbera, Building and Construction Trades Council of Greater New York
Kenneth Lerer, Lerer Ventures
Leonard Litwin, Glenwood Management
Jeffrey H. Lynford, Educational Housing Services
Tondra Lynford, Resources for Children with Special Needs
John McAvoy, Consolidated Edison, Inc
Raymond J. McGuire, Citigroup, Inc.
George L. Miranda, Teamsters Joint Council 16
Leslie R. Moonves, CBS Corporation
Evan L. Morris, Roche Pharmaceuticals
Michael Mulgrew, UFT
Mike Muse, Muse Recordings
Charles A. Myers, Evercore Partners Inc.
Drew Nieporent, Myriad Restaurant Group
Cynthia Nixon 
Michael E. Novogratz, Fortress Investment Group
Sean Parker, Sean N. Parker Foundation
Alan Patricof, Greycroft LLC
Susan Patricof
Ronald O. Perelman, MacAndrews & Forbes Holdings Inc.
Douglas L. Peterson, McGraw Hill Financial, Inc.
Charles E. Phillips, Infor
Richard R. Plepler, Home Box Office, Inc.
Kirk A. Radke, Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
Bruce C. Ratner, Forest City Ratner Companies
Scott H. Rechler, RXR Realty
Dennis Rivera 
Lillian Roberts, DC 37
James A. Rosenthal, Morgan Stanley
William C. Rudin, Rudin Management Company, Inc.
Kevin P. Ryan, Gilt Groupe
Elizabeth Sackler, Brooklyn Museum
Bill Samuels, Effective NY
Marie Samuels 
John Samuelsen, Transport Workers Union Local 100
Michael E. Schlein, Accion International
Richard D. Segal, Seavest Investment Group
Marissa Shorenstein, AT&T, Inc.
Adam Silver, National Basketball Association
Russell W. Simmons, RUSH Communications
Harendra Singh, Singh Hospitality Group
Jay Snyder, HBJ Investments
Rob Speyer, Tishman Speyer Properties
Ambassador Carl Spielvogel, Carl Spielvogel Enterprises
Joseph Spinnato, Hotel Association of New York City
Jonathan M. Tisch, Loews
Daniel R. Tishman, Tishman Construction Corporation
Diane von Furstenberg, DVF
Peter Ward, The New York Hotel and Motel Trades Council
Maureen White 
Robert Wolf, 32 Advisors
Kathy Wylde, Partnership for New York City
Donald Zucker, Donald Zucker Co.

Media Contact
(212) 788-2958