Secondary Navigation

Mayor de Blasio Appoints Members of Theater Subdistrict Council

April 21, 2015

NEW YORK—Mayor de Blasio today appointed Lin-Manuel Miranda and Daryl Roth and reappointed George C. Wolfe to the Theater Subdistrict Council.

As members of the Theater Subdistrict Council, they will be responsible for administering the Theater Subdistrict Fund and allocating grants with the goal of promoting the production of new theater work, developing new audiences, and showcasing Broadway’s role in the history of American theater. Through its grants, the TSC has supported 37 theater education, audience development and accessibility programs as well as new theatrical works. From providing startup funds for new programs to enhancing or expanding existing programs of great impact, the TSC has recognized innovation and excellence in New York City theater.

“New York City is home to the single greatest theater district in the world, steeped in rich history and populated by boundless talent. Today’s appointees not only understand the cultural and historical significance of Broadway theater – they helped contribute to it,” said Mayor de Blasio. “I know they will work hard to support this celebrated artistic center, ensuring New York City’s theater district continues to thrive and attract talented young people from all over.”

Lin-Manuel Miranda is a composer, lyricist, and actor best known for his work on the Broadway musical In the Heights. In the Heights received four 2008 Tony Awards (including Best Orchestrations, Best Choreography and Best Musical), with Miranda receiving a Tony Award for Best Score, as well as a nomination for Best Leading Actor in a Musical. In the Heights won a 2009 Grammy Award for its Original Broadway Cast Album and was recognized as a Finalist for the 2009 Pulitzer Prize in Drama. Last year, Miranda won an Emmy Award as the lyricist of the 2013 Tony Awards opening number, “Bigger.” Recently, Miranda has received widespread attention and accolades for his latest musical Hamilton, inspired by the book Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow. Hamilton made its world debut at the Public Theater in 2015, with book, music and lyrics by Miranda, who also played the title role. The production will transfer to Broadway in July 2015, starting previews at the Richard Rodgers Theater. Miranda is a graduate of Wesleyan University, where he first started work on In the Heights. He also serves as a Council Member of The Dramatists Guild and serves on the board of Young Playwrights Inc. Miranda is of Puerto Rican descent and grew up in the Inwood section of Manhattan. He currently lives with his family in Washington Heights.

Daryl Roth is one of the most decorated Broadway producers of all time. With seven Pulitzer Prize-winning plays and eight Tony awards, she has produced over 90 award-winning productions on and off Broadway. Her production credits include Tracey Letts’ August: Osage County, David Auburn’s Proof; Margaret Edson’s Wit; Paula Vogel’s How I Learned to Drive, Harvey Fierstein and Cyndi Lauper’s Kinky Boots, Larry Kramer’s The Normal Heart, and her current production, It Shoulda Been You. The Daryl Roth Creative Spirit Award annually honors a gifted theater artist or organization that has demonstrated exceptional talent and promise in their field, providing them with financial support as they develop new works in an artistic residency. Roth is an Honorary Trustee for Lincoln Center Theatre and has served on the Board of Directors of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and New York State Council on the Arts.

George C. Wolfe, who is being reappointed today, is an American playwright and film and theater director. Wolfe directed and co-wrote the 1996 musical Bring in 'Da Noise, Bring in 'Da Funk, which won four Tony Awards – including for Best Direction of a Musical – and five nominations. Wolfe’s Broadway productions also include Angels in America, Caroline Or Change and most recently Nora Ephron’s Lucky Guy. Wolfe currently serves as the Chief Creative Officer at the Center for Civil & Human Rights in Atlanta, and previously served as the Artistic Director and Producer of the New York Shakespeare Festival/Public Theater for over a decade.

“The importance of the theater district on Broadway is unparalleled,” said Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer, Chair of the Cultural Affairs Committee. “Ensuring that the district is maintained is immensely important to our City as a whole. I welcome the Mayor’s appointees to the Theater Subdistrict Council and look forward to working with them to continue the grand tradition of Broadway theater.”

About the Theater Subdistrict Council

The Theater Subdistrict Council, established by a 1998 zoning law, is a not-for-profit corporation limited solely to promoting theater and theater-related use and preservation within, and promoting the welfare of, the Theater Subdistrict. The TSC falls under the jurisdiction of the Department of City Planning. The TSC consists of the Mayor, three representatives appointed by the Mayor, the City Council Speaker and her designee, the Manhattan Borough President, and the Director of the Department of City Planning. The TSC is chaired by Cultural Affairs Commissioner Tom Finkelpearl on behalf of the Mayor.

Media Contact
(212) 788-2958