Secondary Navigation

New York City Announces Host Committee Co-Chairs for 2016 Democratic National Convention

January 29, 2015

City raises $20 million for $100 million convention, has $6.5 million cash on hand

NEW YORK—The de Blasio administration today announced its 10 host committee co-chairs, a diverse group of local leaders who will assume leadership roles and partner with the Mayor and the administration to execute the City’s convention strategy. Led by Mayor de Blasio, this group of business, civic, labor and tech leaders will be responsible for raising the remaining funds, organizing convention events, and will work hand-in-hand with the DNC to host a world-class convention in July 2016.

The City’s host committee co-chairs are: Lloyd Blankfein, Ursula Burns, Kenneth Chenault, George Gresham, Melissa Mark-Viverito, Sean Parker, Alan Patricof, Rob Speyer, Anna Wintour, and Robert Wolf.

“As we head into the final weeks of the selection process, it’s more critical than ever that we show the DNC that New Yorkers are enthusiastic and united in our desire to bring the convention back to New York City,” said Mayor Bill de Blasio. “We are so proud to have the support of this diverse group of leaders who represent everything New York City has to offer. We’ve significantly outraised the other cities competing to host the convention, and we are well on our way to reaching our goal of a $100 million convention. Add to that the support of these 10 co-chairs, New York City is in the strongest position to execute an unforgettable convention.”

The administration also today released updated fundraising totals in support of New York City’s bid. As of Thursday morning, the City has raised $20 million, with $6.5 million cash on hand, up from $15 million in commitments and $5 million cash on hand in December 2014. Today’s announcement showcases New York City’s unparalleled ability to commit substantial resources to hosting the 2016 convention in the five boroughs.

Once selected as the city to host the convention, the 119-member Host Committee will immediately convert all commitments into money in the bank to begin to organize the event, guided by the 10 co-chairs. Expedia, IAC, Jonathan Tisch, Mark Gallogly, Rubenstein, American Express, Goldman Sachs, 1199SEIU, Condé Nast, Blackstone, Tishman Speyer, and Citi are among the 25 individuals and organizations that have contributed to the $6.5 million already in the bank for the City’s convention bid.

New York City Host Committee Co-Chairs:

Lloyd Blankfein, Goldman Sachs and Co.
Ursula Burns, Xerox
Kenneth Chenault, American Express
George Gresham, 1199 SEIU
Melissa Mark-Viverito, New York City Council
Sean Parker, Sean N. Parker Foundation
Alan Patricof, Greycroft Partners
Rob Speyer, Tishman Speyer
Anna Wintour, Condé Nast, Vogue
Robert Wolf, 32 Advisors

New York City Host Committee 2016 Members (119):

Vincent Alvarez, NYC Central Labor Council
Stuart Appelbaum, Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union
Gina Argento, Broadway Stages
Ajay Banga, MasterCard
David J. Barger, JetBlue Airways
Paul Beirne, Bernstein Global Wealth Management
Frank A. Bennack Jr., Hearst Corporation
Barry H. Berke, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
Peter Beshar, Marsh and McLennan
Lloyd C. Blankfein, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc
Jeff T. Blau, The Related Companies
Richard Born, BD Hotels
Jacques Brand, Deutsche Bank North America
Jill Bright, Condé Nast
Tonio Burgos, Tonio Burgos and Associates
Ursula M. Burns, Xerox Corporation Ltd.
Kenneth I. Chenault, American Express Company
Ric Clark, Brookfield Office Properties
Philippe P. Dauman, Viacom, Inc.
Dr. Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, NYC Landmarks 50 Alliance
Barry Diller, IAC and Expedia
Jamie Dimon, JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Doug Dunham, Quinn Gillepsie
Douglas Durst, The Durst Organization
Helena Durst, The Durst Organization
Richard Edelman, Edelman PR
Blair W. Effron, Centerview Partners
Cheryl Cohen Effron 
Jay W. Eisenhofer, Grant & Eisenhofer P.A.
Leecia Eve, Verizon
Hector J. Figueroa, 32BJ SEIU
Alan H. Fishman, Ladder Capital Corporation
Jay S. Fishman, The Travelers Companies, Inc
Gregory Floyd, Teamsters Local 237
Marian Fontana, 9-11 Families Association
Mark T. Gallogly, Centerbridge Partners
Christopher C. Giamo, Regional President, TD Bank
Faith Gay, Quinn Emanuel
MaryAnne Gilmartin, Forest City Ratner Companies
Steve Goldman, Kramer Levin
Barry M. Gosin, Newmark Grubb Knight Frank
Raj Goyle, Badhala
Nick Gravante, Boies Schiller
Jonathan Gray, Blackstone
George Gresham, 1199 SEIU United Healthcare Workers East
Robert Greifeld, Nasdaq OMX
Jeffrey R. Gural, Newmark Grubb Knight Frank
Gerald L. Hassell, The Bank of New York Mellon
Marc Holliday, SL Green Realty Group
Jay S. Jacobs, Nassau County Democratic Committee
Hamilton E. James, The Blackstone Group
Steven A. Kandarian, MetLife
Pat Kane, RN, New York State Nurses Association
Brad Karp, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Rob Kaplan, Harvard Business School
Michael W. Kempner, The MWW Group
Julie Kushner, United Automobile Workers
Pam Kwatra, Kripari Marketing
Gary LaBarbera, Building and Construction Trades Council of Greater New York
Jonathan Lavine, Sankaty Advisors
Kenneth Lerer, Lerer Ventures
Leonard Litwin, Glenwood Management
Jeffrey H. Lynford, Educational Housing Services
John McAvoy, Consolidated Edison, Inc
Raymond J. McGuire, Citigroup, Inc.
Keith R. Mestrich, Amalgamated Bank
George L. Miranda, Teamsters Joint Council 16
Leslie R. Moonves, CBS Corporation
Evan L. Morris, Roche Pharmaceuticals
Michael Mulgrew, United Federation of Teachers
Mike Muse, Muse Recordings
Charles A. Myers, Evercore Partners Inc.
Drew Nieporent, Myriad Restaurant Group
Cynthia Nixon 
Michael E. Novogratz, Fortress Investment Group
Sean Parker, Sean N. Parker Foundation
Alan Patricof, Greycroft LLC
Susan Patricof
Ronald O. Perelman, MacAndrews & Forbes Holdings Inc.
Douglas L. Peterson, McGraw Hill Financial, Inc.
Charles E. Phillips, Infor
Richard R. Plepler, Home Box Office, Inc.
Kirk A. Radke, Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
Bruce C. Ratner, Forest City Ratner Companies
Scott H. Rechler, RXR Realty
Dennis Rivera 
Lillian Roberts, AFSCME DC 37
Jeff Rose, Attitude New York
James A. Rosenthal, Morgan Stanley
Joe Rospars, Blue State Digital
Steven Rubenstein, Rubenstein
Rosina Rubin, Attitude New York
William C. Rudin, Rudin Management Company, Inc.
Kevin P. Ryan, Gilt Groupe
Elizabeth Sackler, Brooklyn Museum
Bill Samuels, Effective NY
Marie Samuels 
John Samuelsen, Transport Workers Union Local 100
Michael E. Schlein, Accion International
Richard D. Segal, Seavest Investment Group
Marissa Shorenstein, AT&T, Inc.
Adam Silver, National Basketball Association
Russell W. Simmons, RUSH Communications
Harendra Singh, Singh Hospitality Group
Jay Snyder, HBJ Investments
Rob Speyer, Tishman Speyer Properties
Ambassador Carl Spielvogel, Carl Spielvogel Enterprises
Joseph Spinnato, Hotel Association of New York City
Steven Spinola, Real Estate Board of New York
Jonathan M. Tisch, Loews Hotels and Resorts
Daniel R. Tishman, Tishman Construction Corporation
Diane von Furstenberg, DVF
Peter Ward, The New York Hotel and Motel Trades Council
David Weinreb, The Howard Hughes Corporation
Maureen White 
Steve Witkoff, The Witkoff Group
Robert Wolf, 32 Advisors
Kathy Wylde, Partnership for New York City
Donald Zucker, Donald Zucker Co.

Media Contact
(212) 788-2958