## THE COUNCIL

Minutes of the Proceedings for the **RECESSED MEETING** 

of Thursday, June 13, 2019 *held on* Wednesday, June 19, 2019, 3:27 p.m.

The Public Advocate (Mr. Williams) Acting President Pro Tempore and Presiding Officer

The following Council Members answered the Roll Call for this brief Recessed Meeting:

## Council Members

## Corey D. Johnson, Speaker

Adrienne E. Adams	Ben Kallos	Eric A. Ulrich
Alicia Ampry-Samuel	Peter A. Koo	Paul A. Vallone
Diana Ayala	Karen Koslowitz	James G. Van Bramer
Joseph C. Borelli	Bradford S. Lander	Kalman Yeger
Justin L. Brannan	Mark D. Levine	
Fernando Cabrera	Farah N. Louis	
Margaret S. Chin	Alan N. Maisel	
Andrew Cohen	Steven Matteo	
Costa G. Constantinides	Carlos Menchaca	
Robert E. Cornegy, Jr	Antonio Reynoso	
Laurie A. Cumbo	Donovan J. Richards	
Ruben Diaz, Sr.	Carlina Rivera	
Daniel Dromm	Ydanis A. Rodriguez	
Mathieu Eugene	Deborah L. Rose	
Mark Gjonaj	Helen K. Rosenthal	
Barry S. Grodenchik	Rafael Salamanca, Jr	
Robert F. Holden	Mark Treyger	

Absent for this brief procedural Recessed Meeting held on June 19, 2019 (did not answer Roll Call): Council Members Barron, Deutsch, Espinal, Gibson, King, Lancman, Miller, Moya, Perkins, Powers, and Torres.

Paternity Leave: Levin.

The Public Advocate (Mr. Williams) assumed the chair as the Acting President Pro Tempore and Presiding Officer for these proceedings.

After consulting with the City Clerk and Clerk of the Council (Mr. McSweeney), the presence of a quorum was announced by the Public Advocate (Mr. Williams).

There were 39 Council Members marked present for this brief procedural Recessed Meeting held on June 19, 2019 in the Council Chambers of City Hall, New York, N.Y. (\*\*but see Editor's Note: re: Attendance below).

\*\*Editor's Note re: Attendance for the Stated Meeting held on June 13, 2019, the Recessed Meeting held on June 18, 2019, and the brief procedural Recessed Meeting held on June 19, 2019: The Recessed Meetings held on June 18, 2019 and June 19, 2019, are considered to be the continuation and conclusion of the Stated Meeting which opened on June 13, 2019. For attendance purposes, therefore, any Council Member who was present at any one of these three Meetings will be considered present for all of the proceedings known collectively as the Stated Meeting of June 13, 2019. Although the Council Members Barron, Deutsch, Espinal, Gibson, King, Miller, Moya, Perkins, Powers, and Torres were absent from this Recessed Meeting, they are considered Present but Not Voting for these June 19th proceedings due to their earlier presence at the Stated Meeting held on June 13, 2019. Council Member Lancman is considered absent since he was not marked present for any of the aforementioned three meetings.

(On a separate note: although not listed in the above Roll Call, it should be noted that the following Council Members were marked present for the subsequent Roll Call held for the Stated Meeting of June 19, 2019 which opened immediately following the adjournment of this brief procedural Recessed Meeting: Council Members Barron, Deutsch, Espinal, Gibson, King, Lancman, Miller, Moya, Perkins, Powers, and Torres; Council Member Levin, considered on Paternity Leave (and who did not answer the Roll Call for this Recessed Meeting), chose to attend the subsequent Stated Meeting of June 19, 2019 and cast his vote for the items before the Council)

Whereupon on motion of the Speaker (Council Member Johnson), the Public Advocate (Mr. Williams) adjourned these proceedings to meet immediately again for the Stated Meeting of June 19, 2019.

MICHAEL M. McSWEENEY, City Clerk Clerk of the Council

Editor's Local Law Note: Int. Nos. 59-A, 551-A, 562-A, 975-A, 977-A, 1107-A, 1171-A, 1241-A, 1242-A, 1247-A, 1257-A, 1258-A, 1274-A, 1275-A, 1277-A, 1278-A, 1279-A, 1280-A, and 1533-A, all adopted at the May 8, 2019 Stated Meeting, were returned unsigned by the Mayor on June 11, 2019. These items become law on June 8, 2019 due to the lack of Mayoral action within the Charter-prescribed thirty day time period. These bills were assigned subsequently as Local Laws Nos. 101 through 119 of 2019, respectively.