

NEW YORK CITY BOARD OF CORRECTION

October 19, 2021 PUBLIC MEETING¹ MINUTES

ATTENDEES

MEMBERS PRESENT

Jennifer Jones Austin, Esq., Chair Marco Carrion, Member Robert L. Cohen, M.D., Member Felipe Franco, Member Julio Medina, Member James Perrino, Member Steven M. Safyer, M.D., Member Jacqueline Sherman, Esq., Member

Margaret Egan, Executive Director

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION (DOC)

Vincent Schiraldi, Commissioner
Kenneth Stukes, Chief of Department
Dana Wax, Chief of Staff
Stanley Richards, First Deputy Commissioner of Programs and Operations
SarenaTownsend, Deputy Commissioner of the Investigation Division
Patricia Feeney, Deputy Commissioner of Quality Assurance and Integrity
Maureen Danko, Deputy Commissioner
James Boyd, Assistant Commissioner of Internal Communications
Justin Von Bujdoss, Executive Director of Chaplaincy and Staff Wellness
Steven Kaiser, Executive Director of Policy and Intergovernmental Affairs
Nancy Li, Policy, Policy and Oversight Specialist
Julia Szendro, Senior Policy Analyst
Jason Kersten, Press Secretary
Natalie Rodriguez, Correction Officer
Patrick Gallahue, Press Secretary

NYC HEALTH + HOSPITALS - CORRECTIONAL HEALTH SERVICES (CHS)

Patsy Yang, DrPH, Senior Vice President
Nancy Arias, RN, Chief Nursing Officer
Monica Katyal, Esq., MPH, Senior Director of Monitoring and Evaluation
Jeanette Merrill, MPH, Director of Communications and Intergovernmental Affairs

¹ Due to the coronavirus/COVID-19 pandemic, this special meeting was conducted virtually via WebEx.

Ashley Smith, MPA, Chief of Staff

Ellie Epstein, MPH, Director of Reentry and Transition Services

Dilenia Ramirez, MPH, Associate Director Ambulatory Care

Alex Garcia, Ph.D. Clinical Director of Mental Health

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE

Julia Salazar, NY State Senate

Marcos Soler, Office of the Mayor

Deanna Logan, Office of the Mayor

America Canas, Office of the Mayor

Marcos Soler, Office of the Mayor

Joseph Thomas, Officer of the Mayor

Daniele Gerard, Children's Rights

Tobin Kassa, Children's Rights

Kathleen Rendell, Children's Rights

Mary Werlwas, Legal Aid Society Prisoners' Rights Project (LAS)

Alexandra Smith, LAS

Stefen Short, LAS

V. Vela. LAS

Nailah Gumbs-Fahie, LAS

Kailey White, LAS

Mallory Harwood, LAS

Alex Lesman, LAS

Jennifer Parish, Urban Justice Center (UJC)

Minister Dr. Victoria A. Phillips, Jails Action Coalition (JAC)/UJC

Kelsey De Avila, Brooklyn Defender Services (BDS)

Simone Spirig, BDS

Alyssa Briody, BDS

Kathleen Mckenna, BDS

Claudia Forrester, BDS

Jose Henry, BDS

Christopher Boyle, New York County Defender Services

Rachel Sznajderman, New York County Defender Services

Wendell Walters, Osborne Association

Tanya Krupat, Osborne Association

Erik Perry, Osborne Association

Ashaki Antoine, Correction Officers' Benevolent Association (COBA)

Joey Bracco, COBA

Martha Grieco, Bronx Defenders

Scott Paltrowitz, HALT Solitary Campaign

Sarita Daftary, Freedom Agenda

Nicole Weinberg, Women's Community Justice Association (WCJA)

Jordyn Rosenthal, WCJA

Kelly Grace Price, Close Rosie's

Laura Limuli, Youth Justice Network

Michael Carey, Brooklyn Public Library

Matt Siliciano, Doctors Council

Mariella Montplaisir, Milbank LLP

Chassity Bobbitt, Milbank LLP

Eric Hecker, Cuti Hecker Wang LLP

Gloria Pazmino, Spectrum News NY1

William Rosado, Independent Ainslee Johnson, Independent Madeline Feliciano, Independent Jason Barefoot, Independent Erick Moscoso, Independent Micaela Manley, Independent Nicole Napolitano, Independent

Opening Remarks/Announcements

Board Chair Jennifer Jones Austin ("Chair Jones Austin") convened the meeting and introduced the Board's newest member, Julio Medina. The Chair announced the Board's Executive Director Margaret Egan ("ED Egan") is leaving the agency at the end of this year. Chair Jones Austin also said her six-year term as a Board member ended this month and she has agreed to stay on the Board until the end of November and possibly until the end of this year. The Chair also addressed the current conditions in the jails and the recent deaths of four people in custody. See this portion of the video recording here.

Approval of September 14, 2021 Minutes

Chair Jones Austin asked for a motion to approve the draft minutes of the Board's September 14, 2021 meeting. Upon Member Sherman moving the item and Member Perrino seconding it, the minutes were unanimously approved, 6-0 (Chair Jones Austin and Members Carrion, Cohen, Medina, Perrino, and Sherman). See this portion of the video recording here.

DOC Commissioner Updates

DOC's Commissioner Vincent Schiraldi addressed the conditions in the jails and discussed progress made since the September Board meeting, specifically in relation to staffing shortages and the size of the jail population. He also discussed advancements DOC made in young adult programming. See this portion of the video recording here. The Board's response to Commissioner Schiraldi's remarks is available here.

Commissioner Schiraldi also responded to Member Sherman's request for more information about the plan to move the RMSC population to the Bedford Hills state facility. See this portion of the video recording here.

The City's Decarceration Efforts

Restrictive Housing Rule Implementation Update

ED Egan provided background on the Department's Restrictive Housing Rule implementation update. See this portion of the video recording here.

Steven Kaiser, DOC's Executive Director of Policy and Intergovernmental Affairs, provided an update on the Department's implementation of the Restrictive Housing Rule. See this portion of the video recording here.

COVID-19 Update

ED Egan provided background on COVID-19 in the jails. See this portion of the video recording here. See the Board's PowerPoint presentation published here.

CHS and DOC provided an update on COVID-19 in the jails and responded to the Board's questions. See this portion of the video recording here.

Sick Call Hotline Update

ED Egan provided background on CHS's sick call triage process. See this portion of the video recording here.

Nancy Arias, CHS's Chief Nursing Officer, presented on the sick call/health triage hotline. CHS and DOC also responded to the Board's questions. See this portion of the video recording here.

Public Comment

The Board heard public comment from Daniele Gerard (Children's Rights), Rachel Sznajderman (New York County Defender Services), Kelly Grace Price (Close Rosie's), Ashaki Antoine (COBA), Alexandra Smith (LAS), Claudia Forrester (BDS), Minister Dr. Victoria A. Phillips (JAC), Jennifer Parish (UJC), and Martha Grieco (Bronx Defenders).

The public comments portion of this video recording is available here.