Newsletter Sign-up Printer Friendly Format Translate This Page Text Size Small Medium Large


October 17, 2003

Contact: Ian Michaels (718) 595-6600

Second Graduating Class Sworn In At DEP’s Environmental Protection Police Academy

Twenty-two graduates of the second class of DEP’s Environmental Protection Police Academy, were inducted on Wednesday, October 15, into the New York City Department of Environmental Protection’s Environmental Police Force by Commissioner Christopher O. Ward. The Environmental Protection Police Academy, the first of its kind in the nation, was launched to provide top-notch training to new cadets.

Addressing the graduates, Commissioner Ward said, “I want to welcome you to the DEP’s Environmental Police Force. You are in the unique position of being the first law enforcement officers to experience this intense training in environmental law enforcement and protection. The many hours of concentrated course work at the Academy, including advanced police tactics and use of state-of-the-art equipment will ensure your commitment to preservation of our natural resources and containment of criminal and environmentally destructive activities. You are the front line of our efforts to protect our watersheds. You and your families should be proud of your achievement and special status.”

The second group of recruits to attend the Environmental Police Academy experienced twenty weeks of intensive training in environmental law and police administration, which included basic police training in laws of arrest, use of force, justification, firearms, defensive tactics, terrorism and police science. In addition, courses covered environmental conservation law training in lands and forests, fish and wildlife, stream protection and fresh water wetlands.


The graduates include:

Donald K. Dorste – Class Leader
Richard F. Cabrera – Squad Leader
Yesenia Martinez – Squad Leader
Jeremiah Morales – Squad Leader
Makiba A Brathwaite
Darryl M. Burrell
George Carreno
Alfonzo H Choice III
Daniel J. Christman
Joseph M. Galli
John C. Jones
Nicholas P. Kozack
Philipp M. Kraus
Ronald R. Luciano
William Maisonette
Anthony A. Menichino
Jason L. Molini
Steven Roman
Joseph Santiago
Alex T. Sefakakis
Jose Vargas
Timothy F. Walton

More Information

NYC Department of Environmental Protection
Public Affairs

59-17 Junction Boulevard
19th Floor
Flushing, NY 11373

(718) 595-6600