

33 Beaver Street New York, NY 10004

CLOSING ON A MEDALLION

Winning bidders must meet all TLC requirements for medallion ownership, and must file an application for ownership and submit all other documentation as required by TLC rules. Winning bidders must be approved for ownership by the TLC before any closing can occur.

- The closing process for each medallion must be completed. The full payment of winning bids is due to the TLC at the time of closing.
- In order to close you will be required to do all of the following in addition to making payment in full for your medallion(s):
 - o Provide a valid Government issued picture ID
 - Provide a valid, original Social security card
 - Provide Completed Licensing Application, with all required forms and documentation
 - Pay license and inspection fees for your new taxicab
 - Show that you have a valid TLC issued Taxicab Driver's License if you are purchasing an Independent Medallion
 - Provide Proof of Vehicle Purchase
 - Be Fingerprinted:

(if not previously printed within one year of closing date) and a \$75.00 money order to cover each fingerprint will be required on the day of closing. Any private lenders may also be required to be fingerprinted and a second \$75.00 money order will be required. All corporate officers/shareholders/LLC members of any buyer must be fingerprinted.

- Provide Proof of Funds Documentation and/or Commitment Letter(s):
 - o Bank books
 - o Credit card statements indicating credit limit
 - Certificate of deposits, etc.
- Provide corporate/entity documentation if you have formed an entity to hold you medallion.
- For Corporations:
 - Certificate of Incorporation
 - o Filing Receipt
 - Election of Officers (for Corporations)
 - o TLC approval of corporate entity name

- For Limited Liability Company (LLC's):
 - Filing receipts
 - Articles of Organization
 - Operating Agreement
 - TLC approval of entity name
- o For Partnership:
 - Certificate of Partnership

IF YOU CANNOT CLOSE WITHIN 90 DAYS OF BECOMING A WINNING BIDDER, YOU MUST PERFORM EACH OF THE FOLLOWING WITHIN THE 90 DAYS:

- Provide a second deposit of \$25,000 per medallion payable via certified check, money order, bank check, or licensed Broker or Agent check to the New York City Taxi and Limousine Commission;
- Provide proof of purchase of a qualifying vehicle in the form of:
 - Certificate of Origin
 - o Bill of Sale
 - Signed Purchase Contract
- Seek an extension of the closing period deadline from the Chairperson for a reasonable cause shown by a winning bidder

AFTER CLOSING ON A MEDALLION:

Your hacked up qualifying vehicle must be on the road no later than five (5) business days after closing on your medallion.



33 Beaver Street New York, NY 10004

ACCESSIBLE DISPATCH

Program 1997

The Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC) launched the Accessible Dispatch Program on September 14, 2012 which provides on-demand service for wheelchair-using customers any time of day, every day, year round at no extra charge. Advance reservations are also available. Customers can reques t a pickup anywhere in Manhattan and, at the regular metered fare, be taken to any destination in the five boroughs, the three regional airports and Westchester and Nassau counties. The program is funded through a Taxi Accessibility Fee charged to all 13, 237 medallion owners annually as per Section §58-16(f) of the TLC's Rules and Local Laws. There are currently 231 taxis in the accessible fleet. Metro Taxi, the selected vendor for Accessible Dispatch, administers the program.

TLC licensees should refer to Chapter 53 of TLC Rules and Local Laws for a full list of Accessible Taxicab service requirements. A brief explanation of the of the program is included below.

Medallion Owner Responsibilities

- Accessible taxicabs must participate in the Accessible Dispatch program when in service.
- Accessible Dispatch is financed by an annual Taxi Accessibility Fee (TLC Rule §58-16(f)). All medallion owners, regardless of vehicle status, are required to pay this fee for every medallion he or she owns annually. Failure to do so will result in a \$1,000 fine.
- Accessible Dispatch equipment must be installed in every accessible taxicab. The equipment is installed and paid for by Metro Taxi. It will be the owner's responsibility to replace lost, stolen, or damaged dispatch equipment.
- The taxi must be equipped with four tie-down securements and a shoulder safety belt in order to secure a wheelchair-using passenger safely in the taxicab.
- Only drivers who received wheelchair passenger assistance training TLC (Rule §54-04(n)) and dispatch equipment training may operate an accessible taxicab.



33 Beaver Street New York, NY 10004

• Drivers receive a dispatch fee or "deadhead payment" for every completed trips or for a trip where the passenger does not show up. Metro Taxi sends medallion owners a detailed accounting and monies for every Accessible Dispatch trip completed by each driver. Medallion owners are required to transmit payment to drivers. Metro Taxi does not pay drivers directly.



Licensing and Standards Division 32-02 Queens Boulevard Long Island City, NY 11101-2324

+1 718 391 5501 tel

MEDALLION LICENSING INFORMATION GUIDE

CONTENTS:

Office Hours	<u>3</u>
General Information	<u>4</u>
New Medallion Owner Quick Step Guide	<u>5-6</u>
Vehicle Certification	<u>7</u>
Vehicle Transfer	<u>8</u>
Hack-up	<u>9</u>
File a Lease	<u>10</u>
Designate an Agent	<u>11</u>
Place in or remove your Medallion from Storage	<u>12</u>
Mutilated or Damaged Rate Card/Medallion	<u>13</u>
Lost or Stolen Rate Card/Medallion	<u>14</u>
Lost or Stolen or Mutilated/Damaged Plates	<u>15</u>
Change of Address	<u>16</u>
Confiscated Credentials	<u>16</u>
Ownership Verification	<u>17</u>





Our Office Hours:

TLC Courts: Mon - Fri 8:00am-4:00pm

Business & Medallion Owners Licensing: Mon - Fri 8:00am-3:30pm

> Driver Licensing: Mon - Fri 8:00am-4:00pm

Vehicle Redemption:

(Pick-up confiscated vehicles) Mon - Fri 8:00am-4:00pm

GENERAL INFORMATION – INSURANCE COVERAGE

All vehicle insurance, Workers' Compensation Certificates, Exemption Forms, FH-1 and Certificate of Liability must be current to complete any transactions.

If the documents on file with the TLC are expired or have changed you must notify the TLC immediately. You must send in or bring us the following:

Workers' Compensation: An <u>original</u> certificate or exemption form. You can get an exemption form from the NYS Workers' Compensation Board at one of the following addresses:

- 1. 111 Livingston Street, 22nd floor, Brooklyn, NY 11201
- 2. 168-46 91 Avenue, 3rd floor, Jamaica, NY 11432

Vehicle Insurance: Original FH1 and a photocopy of your <u>Insurance</u> <u>Declaration Page</u> or <u>Certificate of Liability</u>, signed by an authorized insurance company representative.

Note: No transactions will be done if your Medallion is on suspension.



NEW MEDALLION OWNERS:

Quick Step Guide: If you have just closed on a Medallion, here is what you must do to put your vehicle on the road:

1. Certify your vehicle by visiting our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101 with the required documents.

To learn how to certify your vehicle, please read Step I - <u>Vehicle Certification</u> on page 7.

After we have certified your vehicle and approved it to be used as a yellow taxicab we will give you a sub-plate letter that you must take to the NYS DMV in order to register your vehicle and receive Medallion plates.

2. Visit a NYS DMV office to get plates for your vehicle.

You will need to take the sub-plate letter given to you by the TLC to the NYS DMV office located at 1293 Broadway, 8th Floor, New York, NY 10001.

3. Get a Tax Stamp.

To get your Tax Stamp you must visit the Dept of Finance located at 66 John Street, New York, NY 10038-3735. The Tax Stamp must be placed on the lower right hand corner of the front windshield on your taxicab.

4. Visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101 to have your vehicle entered into our records.

You will need to bring all required documents. To learn more about the requirements and understand what documents are needed, please read Step IV - <u>Vehicle Transfer</u> in the Change of Vehicle section on page 8.

5. Visit a TLC licensed Taximeter shop to get a meter installed.

To view a list of TLC licensed, Taximeter shops, visit our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>.

6. Hack up* your vehicle by visiting our Woodside facility located at 24-55 BQE West, Woodside, NY 11377.

Only a **NEW** approved vehicle may be hacked-up as a taxicab. No appointment is needed.

***Hack-up:** The vehicle being used as a taxicab must first visit a TLC authorized Meter Shop. The meter shop is responsible for painting, signs, installing partitions and meters. The vehicle must then visit our Woodside facility where we will install the medallion and make sure all equipment is working within TLC regulations.

CHANGE OF VEHICLE:

This section explains how to get your vehicle set up to provide service as a TLC licensed Medallion taxicab.

Only a **NEW** approved vehicle may be hacked-up as a taxicab. The only exceptions are:

- 1. <u>Same Agent</u>: A vehicle may be transferred to another Medallion operated by the same agent.
- 2. **Long Term Driver**: A long term driver must be a named driver on the Rate Card for more than 5 months. The title of the vehicle must be in the name of the driver.

Note: A long-term driver is a licensed taxi driver who meets all of the following requirements: The driver must be:

- 1. A steady driver, who drives the taxicab for a minimum of at least 160 hours per month.
- 2. A named driver, one whose name is listed on the vehicles Rate Card and is properly licensed by the TLC to operate a medallion.
- 3. An owner/shareholder <u>or</u> a driver named on the lease of the Medallion. The lease must expire in no less than five months.
- 4. A driver for no more than one taxicab.
- 3. **Repossession:** If you can not make the payments on your vehicle and the bank takes back your vehicle, a new owner who buys the car already hacked-up, inspected and approved for use as a taxi, can submit change of vehicle documentation with the TLC and be approved to put the car on the road. To see a copy of our rules, please visit our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101.
- 4. <u>Same Medallion</u>: A vehicle may operate with the same Medallion until the vehicle's retirement date. A Medallion owner or agent with more than one Medallion can transfer a Medallion from vehicle to vehicle as long as he/she follows all requirements. To see a list of requirements, visit our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101.



STEP I – <u>Vehicle Certification</u>:

This step is necessary to have your vehicle registered by DMV & TLC to operate as a Medallion taxicab.

Bring the following **original** documents to our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101:

- 1. Certificate of Origin (new car) or Original Certificate of Title (used car).
- 2. Vehicle Bill of Sale/Invoice (notarized).
- 3. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1).
- 4. Certificate of Liability.
- 5. Certificate of Insurance or Declaration Page as coverage in the amount of \$100.000, \$300,000, \$200,000 P.I.P (Personal Injury Protection).
- FS-6 (Motor Vehicle receipt for the old plates) or a Notice from the NYPD or TLC Officers and a \$25.00 fee paid by Money Order, Visa, Master Card, AMEX or Discover.
 Note: If you already have plates you do not need to bring in an FS-6 or Notice.

The vehicle retirement date is determined at the time of certification. There are two types of retirement classifications:

<u>3 year vehicle</u>: (36 months) - A vehicle which is double-shifted and has no long-term driver for <u>any</u> period of time on or after March 1, 1997 and is not in service just as an authorized stand-by vehicle from the time the vehicle is hacked-up, must be retired from taxicab service.

<u>5 year vehicle</u> (60 months) - A vehicle that has at least one long-term driver must be retired from taxicab service and replaced no later than the first scheduled inspection of the vehicle. This means 60 months after the vehicle was first hacked-up, that vehicle may no longer be driven as a taxi.

Hybrid Vehicle Only:

Additional time to a vehicle's retirement age will be given for clean air or accessible taxicabs:

4 Year (48 Months) Vehicle

If your vehicle is Level One & Two Clean Air or Accessible, taxicabs get an extension of 1 year (12 months) added to your 3 year retirement date.

6 Year (72 Months) Vehicle

If your vehicle is Level Two Clean Air, taxicabs get an extension of 1 year (12 Months) added to your 5 year retirement date.

7 Year (84 Months) Vehicle

If your vehicle is Level One Clean Air or Accessible, taxicabs get an extension of 2 Years (24 Months) added to your 5 year retirement date.

Medallion Licensing Information Guide

Note: A vehicle which cannot pass inspection must be replaced, even if it has not reached its retirement. A vehicle which has reached its retirement date including any extension must be retired even if it may still pass inspection.

STEP II - <u>Visit NYS DMV</u>: Go to the NYS DMV to have your vehicle registered as a yellow taxicab with the following documents from the TLC:

- 1. A Certification Card.
- 2. Sub-plate letter (this is issued only if you are a new owner or if your plates have been lost, stolen, mutilated or destroyed).

If you only need to register your new vehicle, you may go to any district DMV office within the 5 boroughs. If you have been given a sub-plate letter you must visit the DMV Herald Square office at 1293 Broadway, 8th Floor, New York, NY 10001.

STEP III – <u>**Tax Stamp</u>**: Visit the Dept of Finance located at 66 John Street, New York, NY 10038-3735 to get your Tax Stamp. The Tax Stamp must be placed on the lower right hand corner of the front windshield on your taxicab.</u>

STEP IV - <u>Vehicle Transfer</u>: To complete this process you must visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101 within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of vehicle certification. We will process your paperwork and then approve your vehicle in our records to operate your vehicle as a yellow taxicab with DMV Medallion plates.

Return to Medallion Licensing with the following:

- 1. New Vehicle Registration.
- 2. Transfer fee of \$50 (If your vehicle is used/out of cycle, this means your vehicle has had all 3 inspections for its cycle, you will have to pay a total of \$140).
- 3. A state issued photo Identification or your Medallion Operators (Hack) License.
- 4. Power of attorney (if not the owner).
- 5. Rate Card/Storage Receipt/Credential Receipt.
- 6. Used car inspection papers (if this is a transfer from another Medallion).

Note: Used and out of cycle vehicles are vehicles that are not new and have had three (3) inspections completed for the past year. These vehicles have to pay \$50 for the transfer and \$90 for inspection. If the vehicle you are transferring is within its scheduled inspection cycle fee (this means you have at least one inspection left in your cycle), you will only have to pay \$50 for the transfer.

8

STEP V – <u>Hack-up</u>: hack-up means to set up a vehicle as a taxicab and obtain approval from the TLC for that vehicle to serve as a taxicab.

- 1. Visit any TLC licensed Taximeter shop to have your meter, roof light and all required decals installed (interior and exterior). To see a list of current TLC licensed Taximeter shops visit our Web site at www.nyc.gov/tlc.
- Visit our Woodside TLC inspection facility located at 24-55 BQE West Woodside, NY 11377. Stop at the entrance to get a "Gate Entry Form."

Note: You do not need to make an appointment. You can visit the "Hack-site" at our Woodside facility during the following hours:

Hack-up full inspection	8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Hack-up re-inspection	8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Used Car* full inspection	7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Used Car* re-inspection	7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

<u>Note</u>: If any taxicab fails to pass the 1st re-inspection, it will be re-inspected a 2nd time for an additional fee of thirty-five dollars (\$35). If a taxicab fails to pass the 2nd re-inspection, it will be re-inspected a 3rd time. No additional fee will be charged for the 3rd or any re-inspections after that.

*Used and out of cycle vehicles are vehicles that are not new and have had three (3) inspections completed for the past year. These vehicles have to pay \$50 for the transfer and \$90 for inspection. If the vehicle you are transferring is within its scheduled inspection cycle fee (this means you have at least one inspection left in your cycle), you will only have to pay \$50 for the transfer.

Please have the following when you get your vehicle Hacked-up:

- 1. Taxicab with all required equipment/decals.
- 2. Vehicle registration.
- 3. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1).
- 4. Rate Card and Medallion.
- 5. Vehicle Bill of Sale/Invoice (notarized).
- 6. Hack License or DMV license and Power of attorney needed (if not the owner).
- 7. Meter Certification: This is a Meter Mile Run (MMR) test, done one time each year at a TLC licensed Taximeter shop. You will receive a print out from the shop to show the TLC.
- 8. Tax Stamp receipt on windshield (get this from the Department of Finance).
- 9. Vehicle transfer receipt for (fee that was issued at our LIC facility).
- 10. Approval letter (if you are a new owner).
- 11. Used car inspection papers (if this is a transfer from another Medallion).

TO FILE A LEASE:

To lease out your Medallion and add a driver's name on your TLC record, follow these directions:

If you are an Independent Medallion Owner/Operator

- You can lease out your vehicle as long as you drive the required amount of time. If you own a medallion that you purchased **after** January 7, 1990 it is considered an "Owner Must Drive." This means you are required to drive 210 nine (9) hour shifts per year. You may lease the medallion the rest of the time <u>and</u> for a second shift.
- If the medallion was purchased **before** January 7, 1990, you are not required to drive the taxi.
- If you own your medallion in a partnership or a corporation with one or more shareholders one of the named owners or shareholders must drive the required shifts.
- You must bring all leases to our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101 to update the name(s) of the driver(s) on record with the TLC.

If you are a Minifleet Medallion Owner

• You can lease out your vehicles and you are not required to drive.

Please note: Mini fleets must be double shifted.

 You must bring all leases to our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101 to update the name(s) of the driver(s) on record with the TLC.

How to submit your lease request:

Once you have leased your Medallion, if there are any changes to the lease, you must notify the TLC. You can do it either through our Web site (to do this please read <u>Online Leasing</u> on page 11), or you may update your record in person by visiting our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Boulevard, 2nd Floor, LIC, NY 11101. Please bring the following:

- A completed Leasing Declaration Statement. To download the Leasing Declaration Statement please go to our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or visit our LIC facility for a copy of the form.
- 2. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1). Insurance must be issued in the applicant's name.
- 3. Current Insurance Declaration Page directly from your insurance company showing levels of insurance coverage.
- 4. Certificate of Liability.

Note: You can lease your medallion through any <u>TLC licensed agent</u>. These agents can list your Medallion and write up a lease. To see a list of TLC licensed agents, please visit our Web site at www.nyc.gov/tlc. **YOU ARE NOT REQUIRED TO USE AN AGENT**. If you choose to use an agent you must use the same agent for all medallions you own.



Note: Minifleet taxicabs may use more than one agent <u>only</u> if they signed a contract with the agents before February 1, 1996. There are no exceptions for taxicabs to use more than one agent for contracts signed after December 31, 1996. Once the earlier contract expires, the minifleet taxicabs must go by the **current** rules and be managed by <u>no more than one</u> agent.

Online Leasing

Medallion Owners and Agents have to visit our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u> to fill out a form online and have a lessee added or removed from their record.

Once you submit your request, you will automatically receive a confirmation. To check that your change has been updated, please check the next business day, after 10AM, our list of Current Authorized Drivers of Record for Medallion Owners on our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc.</u>

If you are not a TLC licensed Agent or Owner-Operator registered with the TLC, you must file all Leasing Disclosure Statement Forms in person at our LIC Facility located at 32-02 Queens Boulevard, Long Island City, New York 11101.

TO DESIGNATE AN AGENT:

An owner may designate an agent to act on his/her behalf. An owner may only designate one agent for the owner's taxicabs. The designated agent must be licensed by the TLC. If an agent is operating your Medallion, you must notify the TLC with the following documentation:

- Medallion Agent Designation Form.
- Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH1).
- Certificate of Liability.
- Rate Card.

Note:

- When designating an agent the mailing address is not changed. A Change of Address form <u>must</u> be submitted by the owner in order to change the address.
- Minifleet taxicabs may use more than one agent <u>only</u> if they signed a contract with the agents before February 1, 1996. There are no exceptions for taxicabs to use more than one agent for contracts signed after December 31, 1996. Once the earlier contract expires, the minifleet taxicabs must go by the current rules and be managed by <u>no</u> <u>more than one</u> agent.

STORAGE:

To Place your Medallion IN Storage:

Any time your vehicle is not driven as a taxi for ten (10) or more days you must surrender the Medallion and Rate Card and place it in storage to Medallion Licensing. Storage of the medallion is only a temporary measure and can not exceed sixty (60) days. You must put your vehicle back into service as soon as possible.

As per TLC rule, your license may be revoked any time a vehicle is not driven as a taxi for sixty (60) consecutive days.

To put your Medallion in storage you must visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2^{nd} floor, LIC, NY 11101 with:

- 1. Your Medallion and Rate Card.
- 2. A completed Medallion Storage Receipt form.
- 3. A letter from the agent if the Medallion is currently affiliated to an agent.

You can get a copy of the Medallion Storage Receipt form by visiting our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u> or you may pick it up in person.

Note: You may have a broker, agent or driver submit your Medallion and Rate Card for storage. **The TLC may revoke any license any time a vehicle is not driven as a taxi for sixty (60) consecutive days.**

To take your Medallion OUT of Storage:

To take your Medallion out of storage you must submit the following documents to our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101:

- 1. Storage receipt (which was issued when placed in storage).
- 2. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1).
- 3. Certificate of Liability.
- 4. Current Registration.
- 5. A state issued photo identification (or Hack License).
- 6. Power of attorney (if not the owner).
- A vehicle inspection report (VIR). If vehicle missed an inspection cycle, you can get this report from our Woodside facility located at 24-55 BQE West, Woodside, NY 11377.
- 8. Latest meter Measured Mile Run (MMR). If your MMR is overdue, you can get a new certificate from a TLC licensed meter shop.

MUTILATED OR DAMAGED RATE CARD:

If your Rate Card is mutilated or badly damaged, it must be turned in to our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101 so a replacement can be given to you. If the Rate Card was confiscated by the Hack-site or Police Department for being mutilated, you must bring the Notice of Violation and the Receipt for Credentials that was given to you.

You will need to visit our LIC facility with:

- 1. Current Registration.
- 2. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1).
- 3. A state issued photo Identification (or Hack License).
- 4. Power of Attorney (if not the owner).
- 5. Certificate of Liability.
- 6. Copy of the back of the rate card or last vehicle report and the meter mile run report.

Note: If you do not have the Rate Card to turn in, you must bring the following documents to our LIC facility:

- 1. Last Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR). You can get a copy of this report from our Woodside facility located at 24-55 BQE West, Woodside, NY 11377.
- 2. Last meter Measured Mile Run (MMR). You can get a copy of this report from the TLC licensed Taximeter shop you used last.
- No fee required

MUTILATED OR DAMAGED MEDALLION:

If your Medallion is mutilated or badly damaged, it must be turned in at our LIC facility. If the Medallion was confiscated by the Hack-site or Police Department for being mutilated, you must bring the Notice of Violation and the Receipt for Credentials that was given to you.

You will need to visit our LIC Facility with:

- 1. Current Registration.
- 2. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH1).
- 3. A state issued photo Identification (or Hack license).
- 4. Power of Attorney (if not the owner).
- 5. Certificate of Liability.
- Fee: A \$25.00 fee must be paid by Money Order, Visa, Master Card, AMEX or Discover.



LOST OR STOLEN RATE CARD:

Report the lost or stolen Rate Card to the police precinct closest to where the incident occurred. To get your police report you will need to give the precinct a copy of our **Lost/Stolen Credential-Police Memo**. You can download a Police Memo from our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101. Once you have received a police report and have been given a complaint number, you must bring the following to our LIC facility:

- 1. Incident slip from the Police Precinct near where the incident occurred.
- An Affirmation to Request a Replacement Credential signed by the owner. You can download an Affirmation form from our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101.
- 3. Registration.
- 4. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1).
- 5. A state issued photo Identification (or Hack License).
- 6. Power of Attorney (if not the owner).
- 7. Last Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR).
- 8. Last meter Measured Mile Run (MMR).
- 9. Certificate of Liability.

There is no fee to replace your Rate Card.

To get more information, please visit our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101.

LOST OR STOLEN MEDALLION:

Report the lost or stolen Medallion to the police precinct closest to where the incident occurred. To get your police report you will need to give the precinct a copy of our **Lost/Stolen Credential-Police Memo**. You can download a Police Memo from our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101. Once you get the police report and have a complaint number, you must bring the following to our LIC facility to be issued a 30-day temporary Medallion:

- 1. Incident slip from the Police Precinct where the incident occurred.
- An Affirmation to Request a Replacement Credential signed by the owner. You can download an Affirmation form from our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101.
- 3. Registration.
- 4. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1).
- 5. Certificate of Liability.
- 6. A state issued photo Identification (or Hack License).
- 7. Power of Attorney (if not the owner).

- 8. Rate Card, a copy of the back of your Rate Card and the expired temporary Medallion. A replacement Medallion will be issued at this time.
- 9. A copy of your vehicle's last Measured Mile Run (MMR) from its last inspection.

Fee: A \$25.00 fee must be paid by Money Order, Visa, Master Card, AMEX or Discover.

Note: You must return in thirty (30) days after getting your temporary Medallion.

To get more information, please visit our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101.

LOST OR STOLEN LICENSE PLATES:

An owner must report the replacement of any lost or stolen New York State license plates within forty-eight (48) hours, not including weekends and holidays to the TLC.

To request new plates because your original ones were lost or stolen, you must visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101 and must bring the following to be issued a sub-plate letter:

- 1. FS-6 from NYS DMV or Notice to replace a plate from TLC or NYPD Enforcement.
- 2. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1).
- 3. Certificate of Liability.
- 4. A state issued photo Identification (or Hack License).
- 5. Power of Attorney (if not the owner).
- 6. \$25.00 fee must be paid by Money Order, Visa, Master Card, Amex or Discover.

Note: Once you have received your new license plates from the NYS DMV, you must return to the TLC with your Rate Card and the new registration.

MUTILATED LICENSE PLATES:

To replace your mutilated or badly damaged license plates, you must visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101 and bring in:

- 1. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1).
- 2. Certificate of Liability.
- 3. A state issued photo Identification (or Hack License).
- 4. Power of Attorney (if not the owner).
- 5. FS-6 from NYS DMV or a summons or notice from either a TLC or NYPD officer directing the owner to replace the license plates.
- 6. \$25.00 fee paid by Money Order, Visa, Master Card, Amex or Discover.

Note: Once you have received your new license plates from the NYS DMV (at Herald Square- NYS DMV, 1293 Broadway 8th Floor NYC), you must return to the TLC with your Rate Card and the new registration.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

To change the mailing address of a Medallion owner you **must** bring the completed Change of Address form in person, along with all required documents to our LIC Facility. Your documents will be reviewed and then your new address will be changed in our system.

To get a Change of Address form, you can either:

1. Visit our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>

Or,

2. Visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101

When you visit our LIC facility you must bring:

- 1. A completed Change of Address form.
- 2. The Rate Card.
- 3. Current For-Hire Insurance Certificate (FH-1).
- 4. Certificate of Liability.

CONFISCATED RATE CARD OR MEDALLION:

If your TLC credentials were confiscated by **TLC enforcement or the Hack site**, you can pick them up at the LIC facility. To pick up a confiscated credential you must visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101 with:

• A credential receipt from a TLC enforcement officer or Hack site Inspector that confiscated it.

If your TLC credentials were confiscated by the **Police Department or other law enforcement agency**, you must bring the following to our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101:

• A credential receipt from the enforcement agency.

Note: To get your police report you will need to give the Police Precinct a copy of our **Police Memo**. You can download a Police Memo from our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101. Once you get the police report and a complaint number, you must bring the following to our LIC facility:

An Affirmation to Request a Replacement Credential signed by the owner. You can download an affirmation from our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>, or you may visit our LIC facility located at, 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101.

OWNERSHIP VERIFICATION LETTER:

An Ownership Verification Letter is a statement showing people approved by the TLC to own and operate the Medallion. For corporations, the Ownership Verification Letter will list the names of the approved officers and shareholders and the amount of shares each owns.

To get a Medallion Ownership Verification Letter you must fill out and bring the Ownership Verification Request Form. You can get either an Individual Ownership Verification Form or a Corporate Ownership Verification Form by either:

1. Visiting our Web site at <u>www.nyc.gov/tlc</u>

Or,

2. Visiting our LIC facility located at 32-02 Queens Blvd, 2nd floor, LIC, NY 11101

This guide is for informational purposes only and is not a full statement of your rights, duties and obligations under TLC Rules and applicable law. In the event that any of the information contained in this guide is not current or otherwise incorrect, TLC Rules and applicable law govern. For the complete TLC Rules, please visit our Web site at www.nyc.gov/tlc.

Inquiries may also be directed to our Call Center at: 718 391- 5501