

# NEW YORK CITY TAXI AND LIMOUSINE COMMISSION New Lease Caps

David Yassky Commissioner

Office of Public Affairs 33 Beaver Street 22nd Floor New York, NY 10004 The New York City Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC) hereby announces the following industry information specific to the increase in lease caps for all medallion taxicabs (as published in TLC rules Chapter 58, Section 21).

The following changes are effective as of 12:01a.m. on September 30, 2012:

## I. Credit card fees.

Owners may no longer charge drivers 5% of credit card fares for processing fees. All processing costs are now included in lease caps for fleets and agents.

## II. Medallion-and-vehicle (fleet) lease caps.

An owner of a taxicab can charge a lease rate to a driver that is not greater than the following:

		Monday	Tuesday	Wednesday	Thursday	Friday	Saturday	Sunday	Weekly
AM	Standard	\$115	\$115	\$115	\$115	\$115	\$115	\$115	\$690
	Hybrid	\$118	\$118	\$118	\$118	\$118	\$118	\$118	\$708
PM	Standard	\$125	\$125	\$130	\$139	\$139	\$139	\$125	\$797
	Hybrid	\$128	\$128	\$133	\$142	\$142	\$142	\$128	\$812

# III. Driver Owned Vehicle (DOV) lease caps.

An owner of a taxicab can charge a lease rate to a driver that is not greater than the following:

	"Medallion-only" Lease	"All-in" Lease
Standard	\$1,072	\$1,347
Hybrid	\$1,114	\$1,389

A "Medallion-only" lease includes:

- use of the medallion
- all applicable TLC fees except for TLC vehicle inspection fees



(the lessor is not required to provide vehicle registration or payment of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Tax)

- insurance as required by TLC rules
- credit card fees or charges
- up to 3 drivers on a lease at the request of the drivers

A lessor may not accept payment for the lease or purchase of a vehicle.

The lessor may agree with the driver to provide services or accommodations on an arms-length basis outside of the lease; all of these transactions must be recorded by the lessor and the records must be available for inspection by the Commission.

An "All-in" lease includes:

- use of the medallion
- all applicable TLC and DMV fees except TLC vehicle inspection fees
- insurance as required by TLC rules
- credit card fees or charges
- all vehicle purchase and/or finance costs, vehicle sales tax, and related costs
- up to 3 drivers on a lease at the request of the drivers

Title for the lease vehicle must pass to one or more of the lessees, if the lessee requests, after 3 years, or after all vehicle financing costs have been paid, whichever is sooner.

A lessor can offer coverage for collision and physical damage to the vehicle to the lessee not to exceed \$50 per week but cannot require that the lessee purchase such coverage.

The lessor may agree with the driver to provide services or accommodations on an arms-length basis outside of the lease; all of these transactions must be recorded by the lessor and the records must be available for inspection by the Commission.

PLEASE NOTE: All DOV medallion leases and DOV long-term vehicle lease agreements entered into before September 30, 2012 must be amended, if necessary, to meet the above requirements by September 30, 2012. If you are unable to determine if an amendment is necessary, please contact David Ross at (212) 676-1116.

IV. Driver's Bill of Rights.



All owners, lessors, and agents must post the updated Driver's Bill of Rights (found on the TLC website: <u>www.nyc.gov/taxi</u>) as directed in the TLC rules.

### V. Change meters and update fare.

All owners, lessors, and agents who own taxicabs must update the meter, rate card, and exterior decals as outlined in Industry Notice 12-25 before the new lease caps take effect for their lease rates.

### VI. Optional gasoline surcharge.

An owner/lessor or his or her agent leasing a medallion and vehicle (fleet lease) may choose to provide gasoline to a lessee and charge a gas surcharge. This surcharge will be \$21 per shift or \$126 per week until December 31, 2012. After December 31, 2012, the TLC will reset the surcharge based on changes in gasoline prices.