

David Yassky Commissioner/Chair

Office of Public Affairs

33 Beaver Street 22nd Floor New York, NY 10004

+1 212 676 1013 tel +1 212 676 1101 fax Industry Notice #12-20 For Immediate Release June 6, 2012

<u>IMPORTANT:</u> METRO TAXI TO SEND SECOND INVOICE TO MEDALLION OWNERS WHO HAVE NOT PAID THE ACCESSIBLE DISPATCH FEE

In December 2011, the New York City Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC) voted unanimously to revise current taxicab accessibility regulations. This included creating an accessible dispatch program to provide on-demand service to passengers who use wheelchairs. The service will be funded by an annual payment from all medallion owners. The selected dispatch provider, Metro Taxi will collect the fee -- \$98 per medallion annually -- and will be responsible for dispatching accessible yellow medallion taxicabs in Manhattan.

In April of this year medallion owners were sent an invoice directly from <u>Metro Taxi</u>, or their alternative business title <u>Transportation</u> <u>General, Inc</u>., requesting the accessible dispatching fee. The payment was due on receipt, which requires an immediate response.

All medallion owners who have not paid the invoice, are required to respond as soon as possible and pay Metro Taxi the \$98 accessible dispatch fee. The payment is due immediately, but no later than **June 12, 2012**. Failure to make this



payment will result in a summons for violating rule **58-16(f)**, which is punishable by a **<u>\$1000</u>** TLC fine and **<u>suspension of the medallion</u>** for each instance of non-compliance.

Please only make payment to <u>Metro Taxi</u>, or their alternative busi ness title <u>Transportation</u> <u>General, Inc.</u> and not to the TLC. The TLC will not accept checks from Medallion Owners for the dispatching fund.

The recently passed rules that pertain to this dispatch service may be found on the TLC's website at:

http://www.nyc.gov/html/tlc/html/news/regulatio ns_new.shtml

Non-accessible Medallion owners are not required to take further action after paying the \$98 per medallion fee.

If you are the owner of an accessible medallion, and you have yet to schedule an appointment to have dispatching equipment installed in your vehicle, please do so immediately. All installation appointments must be made by **June 12, 2012**. Failure by an accessible medallion owner to comply with this directive will result in a summons for violating rule <u>53-06(a)(1)</u>, which is punishable by a <u>\$150-\$200</u> TLC fine and



suspension of the medallion for each instance of non-compliance.

To make an installation appointment, please contact Lisa Aponte at (203) 934-2096 ext. 141.

All questions and inquiries pertaining to the accessible dispatch rules, the dispatch program or the payment should be sent to <u>accessibledispatch@tlc.nyc.gov</u>