

BOROUGH OF STATEN ISLAND COMMUNITY BOARD #3 1243 Woodrow Road - 2nd Floor Staten Island, NY 10309 Telephone: (718) 356-7900 Fax: (718) 966-9013 Website: www.nyc.gov/sich3 Email: sicb3@cb.nyc.gov

Ethics, Rules & By-Laws Committee Report

Date: February 13, 2025 Time: 6:00PM

Committee Members Present

Frank Morano, *Chairman of the Board* Jeff Geary, *Chair, Ethics Committee* Al Klingele Danny Venuto <u>Committee Members Absent</u> Robert DiGennaro

Board Members Present Vito Gallo Jerome Goldman

<u>Staff</u>

Stacey Wertheim, *Community Coordinator* Susan LaForgia, *Community Coordinator*

<u>Agenda</u>

The Ethics Committee will review the board's current responsibilities, rules, and conduct. This discussion aims to ensure accountability and uphold the integrity and transparency of our governing processes.

DISCUSSION

• A review of attendance records revealed repeated absences following the distribution of warning letters. Warning letters will be sent to members with 3 or more absences. A courtesy phone call will be made to those who have received warning letters and continue to be absent and non-communicative.

MOTION

Whereas, the Community Board 3 Ethics, Rules, and By-Laws Committee reviewed attendance records of the committee; and

Whereas, Attendance records revealed continued absences of three members after being put on notice by way of warning letters;

Whereas, the Chair will contact these three members to assess their level of commitment to serving on this Board. If these members do not show good faith or intention, it is agreed that they should be removed from the Board.

Ethics, Rules & By-Laws Committee/Public Hearing Committee Report February 13, 2025 Page 2 of 2

Now, Therefore, be it Resolved, the Committee will remove any or all three members for repeated absences without providing cause or valid reasons.

VOTE: In Favor 4; Against 0; Abstentions 0 Morano Y; Geary; Klingele Y; Venuto Y Motion Passes

Old Business None

New Business None

Respectfully submitted,

Jeffrey Geary

Jeffrey Geary Chair, Ethics, Rules & By-laws Committee