

Community Board 12 The City of New York

Borough of Queens

Jamaica, Hollis, St. Albans, South Ozone Park, and Springfield Gardens

90-28 161st Street Jamaica, New York 11432 <u>qn12@cb.nyc.gov</u> www.nyc.gov/qcb12 (718) 658-3308 Fax (718) 739-6997

Melinda Katz BOROUGH PRESIDENT Rene Hill CHAIRPERSON

Vicky Morales Casella
DIRECTOR OF COMMUNITY BOARDS

Yvonne Reddick
DISTRICT MANAGER

COMMUNITY BOARD 12, QUEENS January 16, 2019

MINUTES

General meeting of Community Board 12 was held on Wednesday, January 16, 2019 at 7:00 p.m.

PRESIDING: Rene Hill, Chairperson

PRESENT: Amir Abbady

Maxine Allen, Treasurer

Melvin Artis Yasinul Ashraf Nigel Barker Jacqueline Boyce

Geraldine Taylor-Brown

Kenneth Carter Manuel Caughman Brittany Chambers Clifton Stanley Diaz Barbara Duncan Daniel Englander Mabel Everett

Joan Flowers, 1st Vice Chair

Marcia Francis Nadi Ghaness

Thomas Greenaway
Glenn Greenidge
Dora Griszell
Ian Harris
Nurul Haque
James Heyliger
Rene Hill, Chairperson

Derek Irby

Khondokar Tarikul Islam

Audrey Lee Jacobs

Celeste James

Clementine James

Aiysha Jaggassar-Johnson

Bilal Karriem

Michele Keller

Gregory Mays

C. Princess Thorbs McGee, 2nd Vice Chairperson

Rev. Edward McKay

Kemar Newman

Jean Phelps

Rodney Pride

Florence Simmons, 3rd Vice Chairperson

Yvette Sledge

Toni Totten

Bryan White

ABSENT: Richard Hogan

Michelle Kirkland Tunisia Morrison

Kamal Saleem

Benjamin Wright, Jr.

I. CORRESPONDENCE

Announcements were read by Aiysha Jaggassar, Secretary

II. REPORT OF THE CHAIRPERSON

• The Community Board office sent out a link on Charter Revision 2019; please visit Charter 2019.

•

Elected Officials and their Representatives were acknowledged by the Chairperson.

PRESENTATION

1. Kenny Kelvin, Applebee's

Motion to open business section made by Joan Flowers, Esq. seconded by Celeste James

V. <u>BUSINESS SESSION</u>

Aiysha Jaggassar-Johnson, Secretary, 41 members present at roll call; quorum pronounced

I. ADOPTION OF MINUTES: Motion to accept December 12, 2018, 2018 minutes was made

made by Rev. Princess Thorbs-McGee, seconded by Maxine Allen; the motion passed.

VI. ELECTION/INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS: Yvette Sledge, Nominating Chairperson
Last month Maurice Muir was nominated, and accepted the nomination for Parliamentarian.
Since the last meeting, Mr. Muir has declined the nomination. The floor was opened for
nominations for the office of Treasurer. Reverend Thorbs-McGee nominated Reverend
Richard Hogan, nomination seconded by Glenn Greenidge. Reverend Hogan accepted
the nomination. Ballots were distributed to Board members for voting purposes.

Slate:

- Bishop Melvin Artis -
- 2nd Vice Chairperson: Reverend C. Princess Thorbs-McGee

The 2018 – 2020 Term Officers were sworn in by Assemblymember Clyde Vanel, 33rd A.D. Bishop Melvin Artis - Parliamentarian Nadi Ghaness - Treasurer

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 9:00 p.m.