

### Community Board 12 The City of New York Borough of Queens

Jamaica, Hollis, St. Albans, South Ozone Park, and Springfield Gardens

90-28 161<sup>st</sup> Street Jamaica, New York 11432 <u>qn12@cb.nyc.gov</u> www.nyc.gov/qcb12 (718) 658-3308 Fax (718) 739-6997

Donovan Richards BOROUGH PRESIDENT Rev. Carlene O. Thorbs CHAIRPERSON

Khaleel Bragg DIRECTOR OF COMMUNITY BOARDS Yvonne Reddick DISTRICT MANAGER

### Minutes of the General Meeting

### Wednesday, December 20, 2023, 7:00pm

Members Present - 27			
Ahnaf Alam	Mohammad Ali	Wanda Best	
Jacqueline Boyce	Maxine Brannon		
Manuel Caughman	Marcia Francis	Glenn Greenidge	
Nurul Haque	Rene Cheatham Hill	Khondokar Tarikul Islam	
Vishal Hardowar, Esq.	Jolander Headley	Crystal Isaac	
Audrey Lee Jacobs	Celeste James	Clementine James Chantel Johnson	
Al Hussan-Kanu	Bilal Karriem, 2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice Chairperson	Michele Keller, 1 <sup>st</sup> Vice Chairperson	
Donald Murphy	Akther H. Rahman	Krystal Roberts	
Fitzroy Searles, Secretary	Amanda Sewanan	Florence Simmons	
Owen Shakespeare	Rev. C. Princess Thorbs-Mcgee, Chairperson	Toni Totten	
Linette Townsley	Jeanette Wilson	Patricia Wooden	
Khari White			

Members Absent or Excused – 22			
Angela Allen	Jean Randolph-Castro	Kenny Carter	
Clifton Stanley Diaz	Yullanda Hinds		

Dawn Kelly	Latoya Legrand	Sharon Sweeting-Lindsey
Rev. Edward Mckay	Angela Miskis	Abdus Salaam Musa
Shah Nawaz	Charline Ogbeni	Yvette Sledge

Rev. Thorbs welcomed attendees and called the general meeting to order at 7:05 pm.

#### **Chairperson's Report – Rev. Carlene Thorbs**

Chairperson Thorbs stated wished everyone a happy and safe holiday season.

This evening we have two (2) items that need to be voted on, and we also have the election of the CB12 Officers. With that being said, we are on a tight schedule and must keep the agenda moving ahead.

#### **District Manager's Report – Yvonne Reddick**

Ms. Reddick stated that Hope 2024 Tuesday, January 23, 2024, at night DSS, HRA, DHS will conduct its annual homeless Outreach Population Estimate Hope Survey. The survey helps the city to estimate the number of unsheltered New Yorkers living on the street.

If you are interested in participating, go to <u>NYC.gov/hope</u> to learn more and to register. Volunteers help by canvassing streets, parks, subways, and other public spaces. Volunteers are needed from approximately 10:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m.

ADA Joseph T. Conley III, Bureau Chief, Frauds Bureau, Queens County District Attorney's Office reported Tuesday, December 5, 2023, at the Borough Cabinet Meeting on the latest Emerging scams targeting Queens Residents.

#### **Business Session**

Bilal Karriem made a motion for the board to enter its business session. The motion was seconded by Glenn Greenidge and passed unanimously.

Bilal Karriem made a motion to accept November 15, 2023 minutes with corrections. The motion was seconded by Jeanette Wilson, motion passed.

#### Correction made to page 2 of November 15, 2023 Minutes – Motion Passed

#### **Committees to Report**

#### Land Use Committee – Chairperson Vishal Hardowar, Esq.

 In the matter of BSA Application #2023-55-BZ (149-04 Rockaway Boulevard, Jamaica, NY 11436, Block: 12101, Lot # 22) submitted by Eric Palatnik, P.C. The Application is to permit a use group 16 automotive service station with accessory uses located in an R5D/C2-3 zoning district.

# Motion made by Vishal Hardowar, Esq. to accept the application with stipulations, seconded by Glenn Greenidge; motion passed.

2. Michael Portegies-Zwart, City Planner, Facilities Planning & Engineering NYC Department of Sanitation; DSNY with co-applicants DCAS are looking for disposition approval of a retired Section Station at 97-22 Cresskill Place (Block 10011, Lot 14).

# Motion made by Vishal Hardowar, Esq. to disapprove the application, seconded by Marcia Francis, motion passed.

# **ELECTION/INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS:** Vishal Hardowar, Esq. presided over the election in the absence of Angela Allen, Nominating Chairperson

- There was a total of 32 ballots submitted to the Nomination Committee Slate:
  - 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chairperson: Bilal Karriem
  - 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice Chairperson: Khari White
  - Treasurer: Rene Hill
  - Parliamentarian: Dr. Abdus Musa

Nominations were taken from the floor for the positions of Treasurer and Parliamentarian

The 2023 – 2025 Term Officers were sworn in by State Senator Leroy Comrie, 14<sup>th</sup> S.D.

- 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chairperson: Bilal Karriem
- 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice Chairperson: Khari White
- Treasurer: Rene Hill
- Parliamentarian: Dr. Abdus Musa

The meeting was adjourned at 9:05 pm as there was no other business.