

## LICENSE DIVISION RIFLE / SHOTGUN SECTION 120-55 Queens Blvd, B-11 Kew Gardens, New York 11424 718-520-9300

1. Complete each form as directed and answer all questions. All entries must be clearly printed in blue or black ink or typed.

2. The minimum age to receive a permit is 21.

3. <u>If you were ever arrested</u> for any crime or violation you must submit a certificate of disposition from the court concerned indicating the offense and the final disposition of the charges. You must do this even if the case was dismissed, the record sealed or the case nullified by operation of law (i.e. Youthful Offender status). The New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services will report to us every instance involving the arrest of an applicant. Do not rely on anyone's representation that you need not list a previous arrest. ANY OMISSION OF A PREVIOUS ARREST MAY RESULT IN THE DENIAL OF YOUR APPLICATION. You must submit a notarized statement explaining the circumstances of the arrest.

4. If you were ever convicted of a felony, before your application can be considered, you must apply for a Certificate of Relief from Forfeitures and Disabilities from New York State.

5. If you were ever convicted of a Serious Offense you must get a New York State Certificate of Relief from Forfeitures and Disabilities. Serious Offenses are listed in Section 265.00(17) of the Penal Law. They include any offense involving drugs or narcotics, any sex offense, any violation of the laws pertaining to the illegal use or possession of a pistol or other dangerous weapon, possession of burglars tools and receiving stolen property.

To apply for a New York State Certificate of Relief contact either the Division of Probation, the Department of Parole or the Court in which you were convicted.

6. If you served in the Armed Forces of the United States, you must submit your separation papers (DD 214) and your discharge. If you were issued other than an honorable discharge, you must submit a notarized statement explaining the reason for discharge.

7. If your answer to any of Questions 3, 4 or 5 on the application is YES you must submit a letter from a licensed physician stating that he/she has examined you within the last 30 days, that the examination included a review of your past medical history and all pertinent hospital and institutional records, and must conclude that you are capable of possessing a rifle and or shotgun without presenting a danger of harm to yourself (applicant) or to others. Further evidence may be requested.

- 8. Two separate fees are required. These are payable by certified check, money order or credit card. All fees are non-refundable.
  - \$140.00 Made payable to New York City Police Department.
  - \$89.75 Made payable to New York City Police Department. (for fingerprints)
- 9. You will be fingerprinted at the time that you file your application.

10. Four passport-size color photographs, taken from the chest up, of the applicant must accompany the application. Photos must have been taken within the past 30 days. No sunglasses or other items that obscure the face are permitted.

11. You must submit proof of your present address. Proof may consist of a utility bill (gas, electric or phone) showing your name and current address and not more than sixty (60) days old, or a notarized lease. If you do not have a lease or a utility bill in your name, a notarized statement from the person with whom you reside, accompanied by a utility bill in their name showing the same address is acceptable. Further documentation may be required.

12. If you were born in the United States, you must submit your birth certificate. If there is no record of your birth on file with the Department of Health or the Bureau of Vital Statistics, some other proof of your birth date, e.g., a military record, or U.S. Passport must be submitted.

13. If you were born outside of the United States, you must submit your naturalization papers, valid U.S. Passport or other evidence of citizenship if derived from your parents. All other applicants born outside the United States must submit their **ALIEN REGISTRATION CARD**.

14. Submit signed and notarized (where required) statements regarding arrest history, affidavit of familiarity, affidavit of co-habitant and acknowledgment of person agreeing to safeguard firearms along with the application.

15. It is unlawful to possess firearms in New York City without a possession permit issued by the Police Department.

All rifles and shotguns owned by a permit holder must be registered with the Police Department. There is no charge for registering firearms. The registration of a rifle or shotgun can be accomplished by filling out the registration form PD 641-121 and mailing the two top copies (Green) to: License Division, Rifle/Shotgun Section, Room B11, 120-55 Queens Blvd., Kew Gardens, N.Y. 11424.

16. You must bring your original Social Security card with you when you apply.



## APPLICATION — RIFLE / SHOTGUN PERMIT PD 641-040 (Rev. 03-15)

## LICENSE DIVISION RIFLE/SHOTGUN SECTION

120-55 Queens Blvd. Room B11 Kew Gardens, New York 11424 FOUR FULL FACE COLOR PHOTOS OF APPLICANT MUST ACCOMPANY THIS APPLICATION

Last Name							Fi	First Name			ddle Name Social		curity No.
Legal Address (Number & Street) City						City				State		Zip Code	
Apt. # Floor Res. Pct.					Alien Registration Number								
						ZEN		N					
Sex Date		e of Birth	Height	Height Weight		Hair Color Eye		Color Place of Birth		Occupation			
Employer Employer's Address or Pla					s or Place	of Business			Bus. Daytir	me Phone	Res. Phone		

1. Have you ever been arrested  $\Box$  Yes  $\Box$  No. If yes you must list each arrest below. This must be done even if the case was dismissed and/or the record sealed. The law permits the release of sealed records for the purpose of evaluating an applicant's suitability to receive a rifle/shotgun permit.

Date of Arrest	City, State of Arrest	Charge	Disposition or Sentence

2. If disposition of arrest case is not provided by New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services, applicant may be required to obtain a disposition certificate from court that adjudicated case. Do not list minor traffic violations which did not involve physical arrest.

## QUESTIONS TO BE ANSWERED BY APPLICANT.

- 1. Have you ever applied for a Rifle/Shotgun permit before? 
  Yes No. Old Permit # \_\_\_\_\_ Date Exp.\_
- 2. If you were a member of the Armed Services were you discharged under honorable conditions? □ Yes □ No (If no explain on a separate sheet.)
- 3. Are you addicted to drugs or alcohol? □ Yes □ No
- Have you ever been confined to an institution or treated as an out patient for drug addiction, alcoholism or mental illness?
   □ Yes □ No. (If yes explain on a separate sheet, including name of institution and dates).
- 5. Do you suffer from any physical defect or illness which would interfere with or handicap the use of a firearm?  $\Box$  Yes  $\Box$  No (If yes explain on a separate sheet.)
- 6. Have you been the subject or recipient of an order of protection or a temporary order of protection? □ Yes □ No (If yes explain on a separate sheet.)

THEATRICAL PERMITS: 

TELEVISION

FILM

STILL PHOTOS

OTHER

Describe Purpose:

Name of Production/Company:

I\_\_\_\_\_\_, the applicant, have answered all of the above questions to the best of my ability. I understand that any misstatement or omission of fact will be considered grounds for not issuing a rifle/shotgun permit.