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Where Child Support Collections Come from in NYC
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Sources of Child Support Collections in NYC, 2021
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What We’ll Be Talking about Today

2

The importance of 
income 

withholding 
orders (IWOs)

How to report 
new hires and 

what you need to 
report

Understanding the 
Wage and Health 
Benefits Report 

(WHBR)

Employers’ 
responsibilities for 

IWOs

Recent changes to 
the IWO

How to deal with 
lump sum 
payments

Independent 
contractors

4
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Third-party Agents: A General Proviso
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Employers are 
responsible for 
ensuring that their 
agents meet these 
reporting 
responsibilities 

Third-party agents 
handling any of the 
duties we describe 
here have the same 
responsibilities as 

the employers 
themselves
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New Hire Reporting: Employer Responsibilities
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Employers must report 
all newly hired or 

rehired employees 
within 20 calendar days 

from the hire date.

• Reporting is important to your employees and their families
• Speeds the process of collecting and distributing child support 

payments
• Can help to fight fraud (including unemployment insurance and 

workers’ compensation fraud) and improper payments
• Can help families in other states

• Newly hired = never worked for you before 
• Rehired = previously employed but separated for 60 or more 

consecutive days
• Employers with employees in more than one state can choose one 

state to report all new hires

Penalties for failing to 
report on time and with 

full, accurate 
information

• $20 penalty for each employee not reported in a timely manner, and
• $20 penalty for each employee for whom the employer does not 

provide the required information
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New Hire Reporting: What You Need to Report
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About the employee
• Name 
• Address 
• Social Security number (SSN)
• Hire date

• Hire date = first day the employee performs any services for which they will be paid (or are eligible to be 
paid) wages, tips, commissions or any other type of compensation

About the employer
• Name
• Address

• This address will be used to send child support notices, so the accuracy of it is very important
• Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

About health insurance benefits
• Whether dependent health insurance benefits are available to this employee
• The date on which the employee qualifies for this benefit
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New Hire Reporting: How to Report
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Online
• www.nynewhire.com

Electronic
• For current specifications, call the New York New Hire Employer Outreach Department at (518) 320-1079

Fax
• (518) 320-1080

Mail
• New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

New Hire Notification
PO Box 15119
Albany, NY  12212-5119

Contact
• Email childsupport.fc-ny@xerox.com
• Call the Withholding Tax Information Center at (518) 485-6654

http://www.nynewhire.com/
mailto:childsupport.fc-ny@xerox.com
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Wage and Health Benefits Report (WHBR)
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Provides information about an employee 
or contractor’s earnings and health 
insurance benefits
• Equivalent to other states’ Verification of Employment 

(VOE) forms
• No longer generated for all cases
• Has been shortened to two pages

To complete the form

• Provide wage and health insurance benefit information
• Complete entirely, without blank sections
• Provide it even if the person listed is no longer working 

for your (or under contract with you)
• Return within 10 business days of the date on the form
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The Income Withholding Order (IWO)
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The official title of the form is “Income Withholding for Support”

Considered an order if it comes from the Child Support program (IV-D)

Considered a notice if it comes from an attorney, tribal legal 
representative, private collection agency, or individual (non-IV-D)

• Notices must be accompanied by a copy of the child support order (and the order 
must authorize withholding)

All payments (IV-D and non-IV-D) must go through the Support 
Distribution Unit (SDU)

• In NYS the SDU is:
NYS Child Support Processing Center
PO Box 15363, Albany, NY12212-5363

• Notices that do not direct payments through the SDU should be returned to the 
sender 
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The IWO: Critical Points to Remember
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In NYS, employers cannot charge a fee for income withholding

Employers are required to comply with an income execution order and may not 
discriminate against employees in any way because of child support deductions. 

• This means employers may not discharge, lay off, discipline, or refuse to hire or promote someone 
because of the existence of an IWO

• Remember that income execution is the default method for collecting child support and in no way 
suggests the employee is or was unwilling to support his or her children

Having an order that is paid by income execution can protect NCPs from certain 
child support administrative enforcement actions

• The timely, accurate withholding and remitting of support can help employees and their families in 
many different ways
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Determining What Income Should Be Withheld
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What counts as income for an IWO? 
• According to  New York State Civil Practice Law and Rules (CPLR) 

§5241 (a)(6):
• Income includes: 

• Earned, unearned, taxable or non-taxable income, benefits, or 
periodic or lump sum payment due to an individual, regardless 
of source

• Wages, salaries, commissions, bonuses, workers’ compensation, 
disability benefits, unemployment insurance benefits, payments 
from a public or private pension or retirement program, federal 
Social Security benefits, and interest

• Income excludes:
• Cash assistance
• Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

https://law.justia.com/codes/new-york/2012/cvp/article-52/5241/
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IWOs: The Employer’s Responsibilities
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1. Check the type and source of the IWO 
2. Confirm the identifying information for both the employer and the 

employee
3. Notify us if the employee or contractor named on the IWO has 

never worked for you or is terminated
4. Check the date of the IWO at the top of the page to determine 

when you begin withholding
5. Review the Order Information and Amounts to Withhold sections to 

determine how much to withhold based on your existing pay cycle 
for that employee or contractor

6. Confirm that the amount to be withheld from the employee’s 
disposable income will not exceed what the Consumer Credit 
Protection Act (CCPA) allows 

7. Remit payments—there are multiple ways to do it

What
Who

What Happens If...

When

How Much
and

How Often

How to Pay
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Check the Type and Source of IWO
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1. Check the type and source of the IWO 
A. Type of IWO

• Notice for 
Support

• Amended
• One-time
• Terminated

B. Source of IWO 
in General

• Child support
• Court
• Attorney
• Private party

C. Source of IWO 
Specifically

• Local child support 
district for the case

A

B

C Remember: the amount you are supposed to withhold can only be 
changed or discontinued by an Amended IWO or a Termination of IWO



15

Confirm the Key Details of the IWO
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2. Confirm the identifying information for both the employer 
and the employee

A. Employer’s 
information

• Name
• Address
• FEIN B. Employee or 

contractor’s 
identifying 
information

• Name
• SSN
• DOB

A
B
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Terminations and Past Employees
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3. Notify us if the employee or contractor named on the IWO 
has never worked for you or is terminated

To notify us, complete page 4 
of the IWO and return it to the 
NYS Child Support Processing 
Center
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When to Start Withholding and Remitting
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4. Check the date of the IWO at the top of the page to 
determine when you begin withholding

Date of the IWO

• Withhold no later than the first pay period that occurs 14 days after the date of service of the IWO
• Remit payment to the NYS Child Support Processing Center within 7 working days of the pay date
• Not withholding or remitting payments may result in the withholder having to pay the total 

amount that should have been withheld in addition to potential interest, attorney’s fees, and civil 
penalties
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When to Start Withholding: An Example
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Date of IWO X
The first pay date in your 
pay cycle after the IWOX

Date by 
which 
withholding 
must begin 
(14 days 
after date of 
IWO)

X The next pay date in your 
pay cycle after the IWOX

If you can’t 
make this 
date…

You must 
make this 
date

October 31, 2018
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Determining the Amount and Frequency
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5. Review the Order Information and Amounts to Withhold 
sections to determine how much to withhold based on your 
existing pay cycle for that employee or contractor

A. The elements of this 
child support order, 
including
• Child support
• Medical support
• Spousal support

A

BB. Total withholding 

C. The total withholding 
adjusted to suit different 
pay cycles

C
• Weekly
• Biweekly

• Semimonthly
• Monthly
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The Add Amount
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This part of the IWO is also 
called the Add Amount
• Added to the IWO when 

more than 12 weeks’ worth of 
child support is past-due

• Normally calculated as 50% 
of the obligation amount

• When only paying off debt, 
the add amount is 150% of 
the most recent current 
support amount

What You Can Say to an Employee or Contractor Who Feels the Add Amount Is Unmanageable
• Noncustodial parents should not have an add amount when:

• Their income already falls below the New York State self-support reserve ($18,347 for 2022), or
• Their income falls below the self-support reserve because of the add amount

• If this is true of a noncustodial parent who works for your organization, you can suggest that they seek an Add Amount Review (also called a Hardship 
Review)

• They can do that by
• E-mailing OCSS at dcse.cseweb@dfa.state.ny.us (include name, child support case #, description of issue, phone number)
• Visiting the OCSS Customer Service Walk-in Center at 151 West Broadway in Manhattan 
• Mailing a request to OCSS, PO Box 830, Canal Street Station, New York, NY 10013

mailto:dcse.cseweb@dfa.state.ny.us
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Checking CCPA Limitations
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6. Confirm that the amount to be withheld from the 
employee’s disposable income will not exceed what the 
Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA) allows 

• For CCPA purposes, disposable income is the amount left after deductions for federal, state, 
and local taxes, as well as Social Security and Medicare

• CCPA limitations do apply to compensation for personal services, such as
• Salaries or hourly pay • Severance pay
• Commissions • Lump sum payments
• Back pay

• CCPA limitations do not apply if the employee is not being compensated for personal services, 
such as
• Dividends • Benefits
• Interest payments
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New CCPA Limitations for Child Support in NYS
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This is now the most important part of the IWO to check when looking at CCPA limitations for child 
support

Effective August 2018, Changes at the Federal Level Have Led to Changes for States
• For NYS IWOs dated August 29, 2018, or later,  the question is whether the noncustodial parent has 

qualifying arrears
• For NYS IWOs dated before August 29, 2018, you need to know about qualifying arrears and whether 

the employee or contractor supports another child besides those listed on the IWO
• This is how New York State is handling the change. Other states are taking other approaches
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Making a Smooth Transition to the New IWO
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The old CCPA limitations still apply to IWOs 
dated before August 29, 2018

If an employee has two cases (and thus two 
IWOs), the most recent IWO governs both 
• For example:

• An employee has an IWO dated September 2018 and 
one dated May 2018

• You should follow the CCPA limitations of the one 
dated September 2018
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From Four Levels of CCPA Limitations to Two
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Maximum Percentage 
of Disposable Income 
That Can Be Taken . . .

. . . When the Employee 
Meets These Criteria

50%
• Supports a second family
• No arrears or less than 12 

weeks in arrears

55%
• Supports a second family
• More than 12 weeks in arrears

60%
• Supports only a single family
• No arrears or less than 12 

weeks in arrears

65%
• Supports only a single family
• More than 12 weeks in arrears

CCPA Guidelines for Older IWOs 
For NYS income-withholding orders dated 
before August 29, 2018

CCPA Guidelines for Recent IWOs
For NYS income-withholding orders dated 
August 29, 2018, or later 
Maximum Percentage 
of Disposable Income 
That Can Be Taken . . .

. . . When the NCP Meets 
These Criteria

50%
• No qualifying arrears 

(equivalent to 12 or more weeks 
of their current child support)

55%
• Has qualifying arrears 

(equivalent to 12 or more weeks 
of their current child support)
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Priority of Withholding 
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When the IWO amount exceeds the maximum 
withholding amount for that employee or 

contractor, employers must prioritize 
withholdings in the following order:

1. Current support obligation
2. Court-ordered health insurance premiums
3. Past-due support

Remember: Under State law, withholding for support has priority over any other legal 
process against the same income. If a federal tax levy is in effect, notify the sender of 
the IWO



26

Priority of Withholding for Multiple IWOs 
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Employers must withhold 
payments on each order 
for current support to the 
greatest extent possible 
on a prorated basis

When an 
individual 

employee or 
contractor 

has multiple 
cases and 

thus multiple 
IWOs…
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How to Remit Payments
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7. Remit payments—there are multiple ways to do it
1. Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)/Electronic Data 

Interchange (EDI)
• To arrange for the first EFT/EDI payment, call the 

Employer Helpline at 
(800)846-0773 or (888) 208-4485 (TTY: 1-866-875-
9975) 

2. ExpertPay.com 
• Requires Federal Information Processing Standards 

(FIPS) code
• ExpertPay does not charge a transaction fee for NYS
• Call (800)846-0773 or (888) 208-4485 for registration 

information

Note: No matter how you 
pay, we always need to 
know:

• The date of withholding
• The NY Case Identifier
• The amount of payment 

for each account

You may also wish to include the 
employee or contractor's name and 
your company’s name and Federal EIN
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How to Remit Payments

28

3. Check
• You can combine payments for multiple 

employees into one
• You must still identify for each employee

• The date of withholding
• The NY Case Identifier
• The amount of payment for each account

• To make that easier, you can use:
• Payment Listing Form or
• Payment Coupon 

• Mail payments to:
NYS Child Support Processing Center
PO Box 15363
Albany, NY 12212-5363

NYS Payment Listing Form
http://bit.ly/NYSpaymentlist

NYS Payment Coupon
http://bit.ly/NYSpaycoupon

http://bit.ly/NYSpaymentlist
http://bit.ly/NYSpaycoupon
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Employers’ Responsibilities for Lump Sums
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Lump sum payments are included 
in an IWO and are required to be 

garnished to collect past-due child 
support

Note the emphasis on past-due 
child support. Because you don’t 
necessarily know how much past-
due child support the employee 

might owe—or even if any is owed 
on the case at all—contact Child 

Support first before disbursing any 
lump sum payment
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Examples of Lump Sum Payments

30

Bonuses Retirement 
Incentives 1099 Income Commissions

Workers’ 
Comp Social Security Severance 

Payments
Insurance 

Settlements

Personal 
Injury 

Settlements

Stock Options 
and Dividends Leave Payouts

This list is not exhaustive. For questions about what qualifies as a lump sum payment write to 
nysdulumpsum@otda.ny.gov or call 888-208-4485.

mailto:nysdulumpsum@otda.ny.gov
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The Lump Sum Reporting Process
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How to Contact the NYS SDU about Lump Sums
Email: nysdulumpsum@otda.ny.gov
Phone: 888-208-4485

Contact the SDU to 
determine whether the 
employee has past-due 

support

No past-due child 
support

100% of the payment 
goes to the employee

There is past-due 
support

Is the payment for 
personal services?

If so, apply the CCPA 
limitations

If not, do not apply 
CCPA limitations 

The SDU will respond by email or fax with the amount of past-due 
child support (arrears) owed by the employee.

mailto:nysdulumpsum@otda.ny.gov
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Lump Sum Payments and CCPA Limitations
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As with other income, the question of whether CCPA limitations apply boils down to whether the money 
is for personal services

Commissions

Leave Payouts

Severance 
Payments

Examples of Lump Sum Payments 
for Personal Services
CCPA limitations apply

Examples of Lump Sum Payments 
Not for Personal Services
Withhold up to 100%

Examples of Lump Sum Payments 
for Personal Services

Dividends

Benefits

Interest 
Payments
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What to Report with Lump Sum Payments
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Employer contact information
• Company name
• Address
• Phone number and fax number
• Email address
• FEIN

Employee identifying information
•Name
•Social Security number (last four digits okay)

New York Case Identifier (see page 1 of the IWO)

County name associated with the New York Case Identifier
• In all Boroughs of New York City, the county can be given as New York City

Amount of the lump sum payment

Expected pay out date
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Independent Contractors
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If you receive an IWO for 
a non-employee, and you 
make payments to that 
person, you must 
withhold child support 
from those payment

Employers are 
responsible for 
IWOs related to 

independent 
contractors
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e-IWO: The Most Efficient Way to Handle IWOs
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• No cost
• Saves time, money and resources (no more IWOs by mail!)
• Money gets to the family faster
• All of your IWOs are in one place: the e-IWO 
• Signing up in one state means you’re signed up in all states
• Increases accuracy and reliability of data
• For more information on e-IWOs, contact 

eiwomail@ach.hhs.gov or learn more at:
• www.acf.hhs.gov/css/employers/e-IWO

e-IWOs Have Many Advantages

mailto:eiwomail@ach.hhs.gov
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/css/employers/e-IWO
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New York City Employer Contacts
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Michael J. Pocchia, Executive Director
• Michael.Pocchia@dfa.state.ny.us 

Bronislava Shmayenik, Director
• Bronislava.Shmayenik@dfa.state.ny.us

Alla Pirogovskaya, Supervisor
• Alla.Pirogovskaya@dfa.state.ny.us
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