Bulletin to Property Owners – June 2022

Dear Property Owners,

The Department of Housing Preservation and Development (HPD) periodically provides updates on new legislation and information on available materials and resources to residential building owners to support compliance with the New York City Housing Maintenance Code, the New York State Multiple Dwelling Law and other relevant city codes. Visit the HPD website to read this bulletin (and past bulletins) in other languages.

This publication is intended for informational purposes only and is not intended as legal advice. This information is not a complete or final statement of all the duties of owners and tenants regarding laws and rules relating to housing in New York City.

Self-Closing Doors

Local Law 62 of 2022 defines a "self-closing door" as a door equipped with a device that will ensure the door, when opened and released, returns to the closed position and self-latches shut.

Local Law 63 of 2022 also amends the New York City Administrative Code in relation to self-closing door corrections, false certifications of correction of violations, and penalties for self-closing door violations. Owners are required to keep and maintain self-closing doors in good repair. Owners who fail to keep and maintain self-closing doors in good repair are liable for a class C immediately hazardous violation.

The Local Law includes the following changes which become effective on July 16, 2022:

- Local Law 63 reduces the amount of time a landlord has to correct a violation to keep or maintain self-closing doors from <u>21 days to 14 days</u>.
- It clarifies that all doors providing access to interior corridors or stairs in R-1 and R-2 occupancy groups must be equipped with a device that will ensure such doors when opened and released, close shut and self-latches.
- New Civil Penalties for failure to correct a self-closing door violation:
 - \$250 \$500 plus \$250 per day from the date set for correction until the violation is corrected.
- Changes to false certification penalties for all violations: A person willfully making a false certification of correction of any violation will be subject to a civil penalty for each violation falsely certified. Civil penalties relating to false certification of correction for non-lead, non-heat violations are as follows:
 - \$500 \$1,000 for each immediately hazardous violation falsely certified
 - \$250 \$500 for each hazardous violation falsely certified
 - \$50 \$250 for each non-hazardous violation falsely certified

The Local Law also provides that beginning January 1, 2023:

- After the 14-day correction period, HPD will conduct a re-inspection of self-closing door violations within 20 days, regardless of whether the owner has submitted a certification of correction.
- HPD will notify tenants of re-inspection efforts and how to reschedule re-inspections if there is no access.

Fire Safety Notice

Beginning in June, during the course of all apartment inspections, HPD inspectors will be checking the inside of apartment doors for the **FIRE SAFETY NOTICE** that is required by the NYC Fire Code to be posted there.

There are two versions of the required notice. Please select the proper version - based on whether your building is <u>fireproof</u> or <u>non-fireproof</u> - and make sure that the notice is posted in each apartment as required as soon as possible. If HPD identifies that the signage is missing/damaged or for the wrong building type, HPD will send a notice to you. The missing/damaged/incorrect notices will also be reported to the New York City Fire Department for appropriate action. You should post the required notice in each apartment promptly. You do not need to notify either HPD or FDNY when you post the proper signage.

The Fire Safety Notice is required to be posted on each dwelling unit door by Section FC401.6 of the New York City Fire Code and Section 401-06 of the Fire Department's rules (3 RCNY 401-06) so that tenants know how to respond in the event of a fire. Please review Section 401-06(e) for information about the design, content and posting of the Fire Safety Notice; its maintenance and replacement; and recordkeeping requirements. (Note: Section 401-06 refers to the Fire Safety Notice as the "fire and emergency preparedness notice.") All apartment building owners and managing agents are required to comply with the other requirements of Section 401-06, including:

- Distribution of the current (2021) NYC Apartment Building Emergency Preparedness Guide ("Guide"), with a building-specific Building Information Section; the Individual Emergency Preparedness/Evacuation Planning Checklist; and the Fire Safety Notice Certification Form.
- Posting of the Building Information Section, Fire Safety Notice and Hurricane Zone Notice in the building lobby common area, and "Close the Door" notices on stairwell doors.

Section 401-06 and all of the materials mentioned above may be viewed on the Fire Department's website at:

https://www1.nyc.gov/site/fdny/codes/fire-department-rules/fire-dept-rules.page https://www1.nyc.gov/site/fdny/codes/reference/reference.page (materials)

Stove Knob Covers and Permanent Stove Safety Knobs

Administrative Code section 27-2056.4 provides that owners of multiple dwellings must annually inform tenants that they may request either stove knob covers or permanent stove safety knobs with integrated locking mechanisms for gas stoves. Recent amendments to section 27-2056.4 by <u>Local Law 44</u> of 2022 and to HPD's stove knob rules resulted in the following changes:

(1) Owners are still required to distribute to tenants an annual notice about the provision of devices to limit access to stove knobs on or prior to January 16th annually. The notice has been modified

- to reflect the changes to the law and the new notice must be used for any notices provided. A sample of the new notice is here.
- (2) Tenants must affirmatively request either device in writing to the owner after receiving the required annual notice.
- (3) Tenants may request permanent stove safety knobs with integrated locking mechanisms instead of stove knob covers.
- (4) The owner does not have to provide either the stove knob covers or the permanent stove safety knobs if there is no such available device for the stove, if the owner has already fulfilled two requests for replacement of such devices within the previous year, or if the owner has not received a request for installation of such devices.
- (5) Owners must keep a record of providing the annual notice, written tenant responses, a list of requests for such devices and a list of units for which devices were provided. Owners must also document where requests were made for stove knob covers or permanent stove safety knobs with integrated locking mechanisms but not provided because there was no such available device for the stove.

Know Your Zone

Hurricane season began on June 1—do you have a hurricane preparation plan?

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration predicts an above average hurricane season. Visit nyc.gov/know.your.zone to learn more about hurricane preparedness in New York City, including:

- whether you live in a hurricane evacuation zone
- the hazards associated with coastal storms and hurricanes
- how to make an emergency plan for you and your family
- where to sign up for emergency alerts and updates.