# **Provider or Staff Name Change**

If your name or any of your employees' names has changed, you must submit a copy of the person's government-issued photo ID with the renewal application materials.

## **Resources:**

New York City Health Department Bureau of Child Care @ nyc.gov/health/childcare \$ 311

New York City Child Care Resource and Referral Consortium nyccrr.org 888-469-5999 SUNY Early Childhood Education and Training Program albany.edu/earlychildhood 800-295-9616







# Group Family Day Care and Family Day Care Operator's Guide to License Renewals



:НС 33ЛБЛЭ1 — 12 ЭЛ



# **Renewal Application Deadline**

You must submit your renewal application at least 60 days before your registration/license will expire. You must provide your email address or that of another person designated to receive communications from the New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS).

# Inspections

As part of the renewal process, the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (Health Department) will conduct an inspection. In addition, all programs will be inspected annually and in response to complaints received.

# Training

Staff training is required as part of your renewal. Every two years, you and your staff must each complete 30 hours of training. The training period begins at the start date of your current registration/license and lasts until the date it expires. Once your program has submitted a renewal application and you and your staff have satisfied the 30-hour training requirement for the current registration period, any additional training (beyond the 30 hours) that you and your staff receive during this period will be credited towards the new registration period. If this is your first renewal, health and safety training received before issuance of the license/registration may be applied to the initial 15 hours of training.

A minimum of five hours of OCFS-approved training must be obtained each year, addressing topics required by state and federal law.

#### **Required Training Topics**

The training must cover nine required topics:

- 1. Principles of childhood development, focusing on the developmental stages of the age groups for which the program provides care
- 2. Nutrition and health needs of children
- 3. Child day care program development
- 4. Safety and security procedures, including communication between parents and caregivers
- 5. Business record maintenance and management
- 6. Child abuse and maltreatment identification and prevention
- 7. Statutes and regulations pertaining to child day care
- 8. Statutes and regulations pertaining to child abuse and maltreatment
- 9. Identification, diagnosis and prevention of shaken baby syndrome

You must provide proof that you and your staff have completed this training when you submit your renewal application. Proof may include a certificate, a letter from an instructor on letterhead or an attendance roster from the training organization. These documents must state the names of those trained, the training taken, the topics covered, the number of hours you were trained and the instructor's name and signature.

Additionally, when the program is operating, at least one caregiver on site must have a valid CPR and first aid certificate appropriate to the ages of children in care, and all certifications in CPR and first aid must contain an in-person competency component.

### Who Gets Trained?

Each employee and volunteer who starts after you have received initial licensing must complete at least 15 hours of training in one or more of the nine required topics during their first six months at work.

Every employee and volunteer must complete the OCFS-approved training that complies with the federal minimum health and safety pre-service training requirements or three-month orientation period training requirements. This training must be obtained before starting or within three months of starting a position. Individuals who have completed OCFS-approved training may be left All staff, volunteers and any person age 18 or unsupervised with children. Any employee or older living in the home where the program volunteer who does not complete this training is located must undergo a Comprehensive must not be left unsupervised with children until Background Check (CBC) which includes this training has been completed. the following:

#### If you operate more than one licensed or

**registered** family-based day care program, you must complete training in the management and administration of multiple day care sites.

#### Where to Get Training

Call the New York City Child Care Resource and Referral Consortium for information about training programs. You can also obtain information about training programs, including the 15-hour Health and Safety training and free e-learning and video conference training, by contacting the **SUNY Early** Childhood Education and Training Program or **OCFS**. Please make sure any online training you complete has been approved by OCFS and can count toward your 30-hour training requirement.

#### How to Get Funds for Training

You may be eligible for training scholarship funds from the Educational Incentive Program (EIP), sponsored by OCFS. To request an EIP application, contact the SUNY Early Childhood Education and **Training Program** 



- NYS criminal history record check with the **Division of Criminal Justice Services**
- National criminal record check with the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
- Search of the NYS Sex Offender Registry
- Database check of the NYS Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR) in accordance with section 424-a of the Social Services Law
- Search of the national sex offender registry using the National Crime and Information Center

#### In order to complete the CBC, a 6000 packet must be submitted to your borough office, including the following:

- OCFS-6000, Required Forms and Clearance List
- OCFS-6001, Child Care Provider, Staff, and Volunteer Information
- OCFS-6002, Qualifications

# **Comprehensive Background Checks**

- OCFS-6003, References
- Any new staff and substitutes must submit two references (one from a past employer and one personal). If the new employee has no past professional experience, they must provide two personal references.
- OCFS-6004, Medical
- Any new assistants, substitutes and household members must submit medical statements signed by a physician within 12 months before the expiration date of the registration/license.
- OCFS-6005, Criminal Conviction Statement
- OCFS-6022, Staff Exclusion List
- You must request the New York State Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs to conduct a check of the SEL for all caregivers and volunteers hired after June 30, 2013.
- OCFS-4930, Request for Fingerprinting
- Fingerprinting is provided by MorphoTrust USA. Be sure to take appropriate forms of identification and the completed Request for NYS Fingerprinting Services Information Form (OCFS-4930), available on the OCFS website.

- LDSS-3370, Statewide Central Register Database **Check Request**
- There is a \$25 fee per employee when this form is submitted to the borough office.

Acceptable forms of payment include certified check, postal or bank money order, teller's check, or cashier's check.

You must also complete and submit a new SCR form for any new household members or household members who have turned 18 and who were not cleared by the SCR since the last registration. Please submit this form as soon as possible.

Please make the check or money order payable to New York State Office of Children and **Family Services** and include the applicant's name. A fee is not required for child care program volunteers or consultants or for household members.

Employees and volunteers may begin employment once they submit the 6000 packet, complete their fingerprinting appointment and submit a fingerprint receipt and current medical form to the program. These individuals must be supervised at all times by a person who has been fully cleared until notification is received that the person is eligible to care for children based on the results of the CBC.

