Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

October 13, 2022

Dennis M. Walcott, Chair New York City Districting Commission 253 Broadway, 4th Floor New York, NY 10007

RE: Response to NYC Districting Commission Updated Revised Plan Approved October 6, 2022

Dear Chair Walcott,

I am writing on behalf of Community Board 8 Manhattan ("CB8") to express our sincere thanks to you for revising the City Council district maps to keep Roosevelt Island, the Upper East Side, and Sutton Place wholly within Manhattan-based Council districts, and to ask that you maintain that aspect of the revisions through the end of the redistricting process.

As you know, many members of CB8 and of the community we represent testified, in writing and in person, about the need to change the draft maps to keep our communities of interest together. We are grateful that you listened to us and incorporated the changes we requested, and just as CB8 let you know of our concern about the initial draft, we want to let you know that we approve of the revisions you made in response to our concerns to produce the current draft.

I know that the redistricting process is not yet complete, so to the extent that there will be further changes to the draft maps, please do not undo the good work you have done in the revised map in keeping the Upper East Side, Sutton Place, and Roosevelt Island together in Manhattan-based districts. Again, thank you for listening to us and incorporating our feedback, and please do not hesitate to reach out to me with any questions regarding our community district.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District