Bail Bond Fees

The formula to determine the maximum fees that a bail bond agent can charge for a bail bond is:

- If the bond is \$200 or less, the maximum fee is \$10.
- If the bond is more than \$200, the maximum fee is:
 - 10% of the amount up to \$3,000
 - An additional 8% for any amount between \$3,000 and \$10,000
 - An additional 6% for any amount above \$10,000

The maximum fees are set based on the size of the bond, not the number of people signing for it. If the maximum fee for a bond is \$100 and two or more people sign for the bond, the bail bond agent may still only charge \$100 total.

Bail Bond Amount	Calculation of Fees	Maximum Fees
\$1 to \$200	\$10	\$10
\$1,000	10% of \$1,000	\$100
\$5,000	10% of \$3,000 + 8% of \$2,000	\$460
\$7,500	10% of \$3,000 + 8% of \$4,500	\$660
\$10,000	10% of \$3,000 + 8% of \$7,000	\$860
\$20,000	10% of \$3,000 + 8% of \$7,000 + 6% of \$10,000	\$1,460
\$50,000	10% of \$3,000 + 8% of \$7,000 + 6% of \$40,000	\$3,260

An online tool to calculate maximum fees is available at: https://nybondcalculator.org/

Consumer Bill of Rights

You are entitled to receive a Consumer Bill of Rights and you must sign it before entering into a contract with the bail bond agent.

File a Complaint

If you think the bail bond agent broke the law by charging excessive fees, you should file a complaint.

To report an unlicensed bail bond agent, or a bail bond agent charging illegal fees or failing to return or refund collateral, contact the New York State Department of Financial Services (DFS) at (800) 342-3736 or dfs.ny.gov.

To report other illegal business practices, contact the New York City Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) by calling 311 or visiting nyc.gov/dca. Illegal business practices may include refusing to provide copies of documents; failing to provide a complete receipt or providing an illegal receipt; or false advertising.

