

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND WORKER PROTECTION (DCWP)

42 Broadway, Lobby New York, NY 10004

By Appointment Only Hours:

Friday: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. Last appointment: 3:30 p.m.

Curable Violations Frequently Asked Questions

What is a curable violation?

A curable violation is one you may correct without a fine if it is the first time you received the violation. If your business receives a summons with a charge for violating one of the "curable" laws or rules, you will have the opportunity to avoid a fine by submitting to DCWP proof that you cured the violation within 30 days of the date of the summons.

What violations are "curable"?

A full list of curable violations begins on Page 3.

To cure (correct) a violation, visit nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox.

What is the process for curing a violation?

Your business will learn about the opportunity to cure a violation(s) through an Offer of Settlement, which you may receive by mail, email, or text. The Offer of Settlement will indicate which violation(s) you can cure.

If you receive an Offer of Settlement:

Follow the instructions to admit the violation(s) and submit a Cure Certification. You must submit the
Cure Certification within 30 days of the date of the summons and before your hearing. The
opportunity to cure a violation is only available before your hearing.

If you do NOT receive an Offer of Settlement:

You may still be able to cure a violation(s) even if you do not receive an Offer of Settlement. Send an
email or a text to LegalSettlements@dcwp.nyc.gov and include your Summons Number. If a cure is
available, you will receive an Offer of Settlement by email or text.

How can my business submit the Cure Certification?

You can submit the **completed**, **signed** Cure Certification by mail, email, online, or in person by appointment only. You can use the mail option only if you certify that your business cured *all* violations.

Submit the Cure Certification in ONE of the following ways:

- 1. By mail to DCWP, Attn: Collections, 42 Broadway, New York, NY 10004
- 2. By email to SubmitCure@dcwp.nyc.gov
- 3. Online via nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox. Search "cure"
- 4. In person by appointment* only at 42 Broadway, Lobby, New York, NY 10004.

*To schedule an appointment, email or text <u>Collections@dcwp.nyc.gov</u> (Monday-Friday, 9 a.m. – 4 p.m., Last appointment: 3:30 p.m.).

If my business submits a Cure Certification, is my business agreeing that we violated the law?

Yes. If you submit a Cure Certification, you are pleading guilty to the violation(s). If DCWP charges your business with violating the same law or rule again, you will be charged as a "recidivist" or repeat violator, which means you will be subject to a higher fine.

By submitting a Cure Certification, you are also certifying that you cured (corrected) the violation(s) and that you understand you will not get another opportunity to cure a repeat violation.

Must my business cure the violation or can I go to hearing on the violation?

You may choose to go to a hearing on the charges. Be prepared to present a defense.

If my business is charged with several violations and some are curable and some are not, can I cure the curable violations?

Yes. If your business is charged with multiple violations, you can submit the Cure Certification as proof of curing the curable violations. You can settle or go to hearing on the other violations.

Important:

If you submit the Cure Certification but fail to pay a fine for remaining violations (if owed), you must
attend a hearing on the remaining violations at the NYC Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings
(OATH). If you do not appear on the date and time of your scheduled hearing, a default decision may
be issued in which you will be found guilty of the charge(s) and may be ordered to pay maximum
fines for those charges

Can DCWP request additional proof that my business cured the violation?

Yes. DCWP may seek additional information to determine whether you cured the violation.

When might DCWP determine that a Cure Certification is an unsatisfactory proof of cure? DCWP may determine that you did not submit a valid Cure Certification when:

- You did not submit the Cure Certification that DCWP provided.
- You did not sign the Cure Certification.
- You changed the Cure Certification that DCWP provided.

What happens if DCWP decides that the proof of cure is not satisfactory?

DCWP will notify your business if there is a problem with the proof of cure you submitted and give you an opportunity to correct it before a hearing on the charge(s) begins.

Are violations of any other laws or rules curable?

DCWP encourages businesses to comply with all relevant laws and rules. In general, businesses may settle violations. Refer to the list of curable violations.

Updated 05/31/2024

List of Curable Violations

New York State Law Violations

GENERAL BUSINESS LAW § 188: Business fails to post the required employment agency laws or fails to post conspicuously in the main room. (Including subsection 1)

New York City Administrative Code Violations

ADMIN CODE § 20-227.1: Prohibits operating a sidewalk café without a license.

ADMIN CODE § 20-231(h)(1): Prohibits newsstands from operating without Art Commission approval.

ADMIN CODE § 20-231(i): Prohibits newsstands from displaying advertising that is not placed by the newsstand franchisee.

ADMIN CODE § 20-233(b): Requires that stoop line stands sell only fruits, vegetables, soft drinks, confectionery, ice cream, and flowers.

ADMIN CODE § 20-237(b): Requires stoop line stands to maintain a straight, unobstructed pathway of at least 9 ½ feet, if the sidewalk is at least 16 feet, for the stands to extend up to 10 feet long and 5 feet wide; or up to 10 feet long and 10 feet wide, if the sidewalk is at least 21 feet wide, the premises is located within an M1, M2, or M3 zoning district, and the business was licensed on or before September 1, 2012.

ADMIN CODE § 20-544: Requires car washes to maintain a log documenting complaints of damage to vehicles and make those records available to DCWP upon request.

ADMIN CODE § 20-254(a)(13): Requires pedicabs to display a sign attached to the interior of the pedicab with the name and telephone number of the pedicab business, the pedicab's registration number and a telephone number that can be used to direct consumer complaints to DCWP.

ADMIN CODE § 20-254(a)(14): Requires pedicabs to display a sign conspicuously on both sides of the exterior of the pedicab with two-inch letters and numbers stating the dollar amount to be charged per minute per ride, and in one half-inch letters and numbers that no additional fees may be charged and drivers must give passengers a pedicab information card.

ADMIN CODE § 20-254(a)(15): Requires pedicabs to display a sign to the rear of the bicycle seat indicating in letters and numbers at least two inches high the dollar amount to be charged per minute per ride.

ADMIN CODE § 20-255(d): Requires pedicabs to affix a registration plate to a conspicuous and indispensable part of the pedicab.

ADMIN CODE § 20-255(e): Requires registration plates to conform with certain requirements for material, form, design and dimension as set by DCWP rule.

ADMIN CODE § 20-270: Requires dealers in second-hand articles that also sell new items to post a sign prominently in the store informing consumers that new and used items are sold in the store; the sign must be at least 216 square inches with letters at least 2 inches high.

ADMIN CODE § 20-271(a): Requires dealers in second-hand articles that also sell new items to label all second-hand items so that consumers know that the items are not new.

ADMIN CODE § 20-271(b): Requires dealers in second-hand automobiles to post the total selling price of the automobile conspicuously on the dashboard or where the automobile is displayed and to post the total selling price of any add-on product where the automobile is displayed or wherever those products are offered for sale. The sign must inform consumers that the add-on product is optional and not required for financing.

ADMIN CODE § 20-277.1(b): Requires pawnbrokers to call attention to the content of pawn tickets by displaying a sign stating: "Read your ticket."

ADMIN CODE § 20-277.1 (d): Requires pawnbrokers to prominently display a copy of the application for the pawn ticket and the front of the pawn ticket which have been enlarged to twice their normal size, and a copy of the back of the pawn ticket which has been enlarged to three times its normal size.

ADMIN CODE § 20-324(b): Requires parking lots and garages to conspicuously post at each public entrance a sign setting forth the schedule of rates the business charges, hours it is open, and its maximum capacity; the sign must comply with the sizing, height, width, spacing, color and description requirements provided in 6 RCNY § 2-161(g)(2).

ADMIN CODE § 20-327.1(b)(1): Requires garages and parking lots to maintain racks, hooks, poles or other devices to which bicycles can be secured and locks, chains or other devices with which to secure them.

ADMIN CODE § 20-327.1(g): Requires garages and parking lots to conspicuously post at each public entrance a sign stating the rate charged for bicycle parking, hours the business is open, and the minimum capacity of bicycles.

ADMIN CODE § 20-346: Requires that bingo licensees display their DCWP license.

ADMIN CODE § 20-417(6): Requires electronic or home appliance service dealers to display a sign where electronics or home appliance are accepted for repair stating the identity of the service dealer, informing customers of their right to a written estimate of all repairs and indicating that no repair work may be done without the customer's authorization.

ADMIN CODE § 20-485.5(a): Requires that electronics stores display their DCWP license.

ADMIN CODE § 20-485.5(b): Requires that electronics stores display the total selling price for all merchandise sold, either affixed to the item or on a sign indicating to which item the price refers.

ADMIN CODE § 20-595: Requires businesses that provide a scale, weighing or measuring device for customer use to display a prominent and conspicuous sign on or above the scale, weighing or measuring device stating that the device is for customer use and may be used to reweigh customer purchases.

ADMIN CODE § 20-632(a): Requires retail laundry operators to include their name and/or address on all bills, tickets, cards, advertising and/or stationery issued to customers.

ADMIN CODE § 20-632(d): Requires retail laundry operators that use vehicles for delivery to display laundry operator's name, address, and telephone number in lettering at least two inches in height.

ADMIN CODE § 20-672: Requires price displays for sales of petroleum products.

ADMIN CODE § 20-682(b): Requires that any retailer selling prepackaged meat, with clear packaging on only one side, to post a sign where such products are displayed stating that the retailer shall accept the return of such prepackaged meat found to be unsatisfactory upon the request of a consumer who provides proof of purchase and that the retailer shall either refund the full purchase price or provide a satisfactory replacement for such purchase.

ADMIN CODE § 20-691(a): Requires that food stores with cash registers that display item cost indicators make those indicators visible to customers paying for items.

ADMIN CODE § 20-691(b): Requires that food stores have cash registers with item cost indicators.

ADMIN CODE § 20-708: Requires retail stores to include a stamp, tag, label or sign listing the total selling price on all consumer commodities that are sold or offered for sale.

ADMIN CODE § 20-708.1(b): Requires retail stores to disclose the price of each stock keeping item by conspicuously, clearly, and plainly marking, stamping, tagging, or affixing the item price to each item.

ADMIN CODE § 20-727: Requires businesses that have adopted a policy of issuing rainchecks to consumers to clearly and conspicuously post a sign in the store describing this policy and where rainchecks can be obtained.

ADMIN CODE § 20-740(a): Requires tax preparer to prominently and conspicuously post on its premises an Identification and Qualifications of Tax Preparer sign that includes the tax preparer's name, year-round address, year-round phone number, and qualifications.

ADMIN CODE § 20-746: Requires businesses that sell beverages for off-premises consumption in beverage containers to conspicuously post a sign that summarizes the rights and obligations of beverage container redeemers pursuant to Title 10 of Article 27 of the NYS Environmental Conservation Law.

ADMIN CODE § 20-750: Requires retail service establishments to post a list conspicuously wherever orders are placed or payments are made listing the current selling prices of services and any additional charges or factors that may increase the price. Prohibits retail service establishments from listing different prices and fees based on gender.

ADMIN CODE § 20-751: Requires that retail service establishments disclose a list of base fees as determined by labor, time, cost of materials and parts. The list shall also state that warranty information is available upon request.

ADMIN CODE § 20-809(a): Requires businesses that request application information from prospective tenants to post a sign that discloses the name and address of all consumer reporting agencies used and contains a statement that consumers are entitled to 1 free tenant screening report from each agency and may dispute inaccurate or incorrect information; the sign must comply with the form, manner, and location requirements provided in 6 RCNY § 5-265.

ADMIN CODE § 20-861: Requires car rental businesses that reserve vehicles for consumers to conspicuously display a sign containing the consumer rights pertaining to the reservation. The sign must comply with the requirements provided in 6 RCNY § 5-46.

ADMIN CODE § 20-290(f): Requires that chain stores conspicuously post a 311 complaint sign regarding violations of DCWP's air conditioning requirements.

New York City Rules Violations

6 RCNY § 1-03(a): Requires businesses to post a sign stating that individuals may complain to the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection about a licensed business.

6 RCNY § 1-03(b): Requires sidewalk cafés to post a sign stating the maximum number of tables and chairs licensed for the sidewalk café and that individuals may complain to the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection about the café.

6 RCNY § 1-05: Requires DCWP license number on all advertisement or other printed matter, electronic matter, or emails to consumers.

- 6 RCNY §§ 2-41 through 2-59: All sidewalk café rules.
- **6 RCNY § 2-66(a)**: Prohibits newsstands from displaying merchandise in any public space adjacent to the newsstand or affixing items to the exterior sides, rear or roof of the newsstand. Requires that all sales take place in front of the newsstand.
- **6 RCNY § 2-66(b)**: Prohibits newsstand licensees from placing any advertising on any exterior side of the newsstand and from interfering with or covering advertising placed by the newsstand franchisee.
- **6 RCNY § 2-70.2(g)**: Requires that stoop line stands only sell fruits, vegetables, soft drinks, confectionery, ice cream, and flowers.
- 6 RCNY § 2-161(g)(1): Requires parking lots and garages that have separate entrances and exits to have their main entrance and main exit clearly designated with illuminated signs marked "Entrance" and "Exit."
- 6 RCNY § 2-161(g)(2)(i): Requires that parking lots and garages post a rate sign.
- 6 RCNY § 2-161(g)(2)(iv): Requires that parking lots and garages post a rate sign at the location for payment of charges.
- 6 RCNY § 2-161(g)(2)(v): Requires that parking lot and garage auxiliary signs contain equally sized letters and numbers.
- **6 RCNY § 2-161(g)(2)(vi)**: Each licensee shall also post conspicuously at the public entrance or entrances to the garage or parking facility or, when impossible, in immediate proximity thereto, a separate sign composed of letters and numerals of the same dimensions and specifications as hereinabove set forth, stating the name, address, license number of the Licensee, the licensed capacity of said premises, the minimum number of bicycle parking spaces in said premises, and the business hours thereof.
- 6 RCNY § 2-161(a)(2)(viii): Requires that parking lots and garages post a rate sign about bicycle parking.
- **6 RCNY § 2-161(g)(3)(i)**: Requires that the parking lot and garage sign required is illuminated, clearly visible, and readable.
- 6 RCNY § 2-161(g)(3)(ii): Requires that parking lots and garages post a Manhattan residents sign regarding parking tax surcharge exemption.
- 6 RCNY § 2-161(h)(1): Requires parking lots and garages to post at each public entrance a sign stating the parking lot or garage is at full capacity for car parking.
- **6 RCNY § 2-161(h)(2)**: Requires parking lots and garages to post at each public entrance a sign stating the parking lot or garage is at full capacity for bicycle parking.
- **6 RCNY § 2-161(u)**: Requires parking lots and garages with waivers under Admin. Code § 20-327.1 to post at each public entrance a sign stating that bicycle parking is not required by law.
- **6 RCNY § 2-211(h)**: Requires sightseeing buses to conspicuously post a sign on the windshield and near the entrance door of the bus that designates the departure time of the bus.
- **6 RCNY § 2-253**: Requires electronic or home appliance service dealers to post a sign about the service dealer identity, its cash policy, and written estimates.
- **6 RCNY § 2-275(c)**: Requires dealers of products for the disabled to conspicuously post a sign summarizing provisions of the New York City Products for the Disabled Law.

- **6 RCNY § 2-424**: Requires pedicabs to follow certain restrictions on where advertisements may be placed on the pedicab.
- **6 RCNY § 2-425**: Requires pedicabs to post a sign on the interior of the cab in one-half inch letters with the licensee name, telephone number, DCWP complaint information, that no additional fees may by charged and that drivers must give passengers a Pedicab Information Card.
- 6 RCNY § 2-433: Requires car washes to maintain a log documenting complaints of damage to vehicles.
- **6 RCNY § 3-12**: Requires labeling declarations required by subchapter A of Chapter 3 of Title 6 of the Rules of the City of New York be written in English.
- **6 RCNY § 3-24(f)(2)**: Requires stores with weighing and measuring devices for customer use to prominently and conspicuously post a sign informing customers that they may reweigh products using the weighing or measuring devices.
- **6 RCNY § 3-60**: Requires certain signage for selling prepackaged meats.
- **6 RCNY § 4-55**: Requires display of out-of-order sign with red letters at least one inch high on any petroleum pump that is not working.
- 6 RCNY § 4-63: Requires display of price signs on petroleum pumps.
- 6 RCNY § 4-131(a)(4)(i): Requires retail laundries to post a notice that complaints and claims for refunds may be made to a certain person or persons.
- 6 RCNY § 4-131(a)(4)(ii): Requires retail laundries to post an out-of-order sign on non-functioning machines.
- **6 RCNY § 4-142**: Requires amusement arcades and gaming cafés to post a sign describing age restrictions during certain hours of operation.
- **6 RCNY § 5-24**: Requires businesses that accept credit cards to post a list of limitations that the business puts on credit card usage at or near the entrance of the business and in all advertising indicating that credit cards are accepted.
- 6 RCNY § 5-37: Requires the posting of refund policies.
- **6 RCNY § 5-40(e)**: Prohibits a business from posting a sign stating that the business is not liable for its negligence if such statement is invalid under the law.
- **6 RCNY § 5-66(c)**: Requires tax preparers to post a price list sign and a disclosure sign or signs; the signs must be posted prominently and conspicuously at each public entrance or in the immediate area where consumers arrive and are met for business, and at each point at which orders are placed or payment is made.
- **6 RCNY § 5-70**: Requires that retail service establishments post a price list with the minimum price for each service, reasons why that price may increase, the range of potential additional charges, and the hourly rate of labor for services, if that affects the price.
- 6 RCNY § 5-113: Sets out requirements for the calculation and display of price per measure.
- 6 RCNY § 5-114: Requires that certain consumer commodities be labeled.
- **6 RCNY § 5-115**: Sets out guidelines for multiple pricing.

- 6 RCNY § 5-171: Requires income tax preparers to post certain signage in certain locations.
- 6 RCNY § 5-172: Requires income tax preparer signage to be in a certain form and include certain content.
- **6 RCNY § 5-191**: Requires that signs regarding redemption of beverage containers be at least 11 by 17 inches in size.
- 6 RCNY § 5-192: Sets out requirements for content of sign regarding redemption of beverage containers.
- **6 RCNY § 5-194**: Requires that substitute signs for redemption of beverage containers be approved by DCWP prior to use and meet certain requirements.
- **6 RCNY § 5-195**: Requires signage at businesses that sell beverages for off-premises consumption in beverage containers that are covered by Title 10 of Article 27 of the NYC Environmental Conservation Law to be conspicuously placed within 10 feet of the dealer's cash register(s) and shall be visible to consumers prior to the time they pay for their merchandise.
- **6 RCNY § 5-222(b)**: Requires collateral loan brokers to place signage directing customers to read their pawn tickets.
- 6 RCNY § 5-222(d): Requires collateral loan brokers to place signage with a copy of the pawn ticket.
- **6 RCNY § 5-250(a)**: DCWP sign is not at least 12 x 18 inches, or letters are not at least 1-inch high, or sign does not include name as it appears on license, license number, and instructions on contacting DCWP to file a complaint; or sign is not posted conspicuously at place of business.
- **6 RCNY § 5-250(b)**: Business fails to post sign containing employment agency laws conspicuously in main room of place of business; or fails to post sign in all languages in which it does business, or sign is not at least 12 x 18 inches or does not include all required sections of the law.
- **6 RCNY § 5-250(c)**: Business fails to post sign containing job seekers rights conspicuously in main room of place of business; or fails to post sign in all languages in which it does business, or sign is not at least 8.5 x 11 inches or does not include all job seekers rights.
- 6 RCNY § 5-251: Business fails to conspicuously display license or displays license improperly.
- **6 RCNY § 5-265**: Requiring the posting of signs about tenant screening reports pursuant to section 20-809 of Subchapter 16 of Chapter 5 of Title 20 of the Administrative Code of the City of New York.
- 6 RCNY § 5-290(a): Requiring car rental businesses to comply with reservation requirements.
- 6 RCNY § 5-290(d): Requiring car rental businesses to post a sign about certain rights.
- 24 RCNY §6-19: Failure to post a letter grade on mobile food vending cart as required.