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October 2018 BIC Safety Rules 
 
On October 9, 2018, the Business Integrity Commission passed rules that affect all licensees, 
registrants, and applicants.  The new rules go into effect on November 16, 2018.  Failure to 
comply with the new rules may result in fines or have an adverse impact on your license or 
registration status. 
 
Insurance requirements.  The new rules increase the insurance liability limits licensees and 
registrants must maintain.  All licensees and registrants must submit updated insurance 
information to BIC by November 16, 2018. 

 
• Commercial General Liability Insurance.  Licensees must maintain commercial general 

liability insurance with liability limits of no less than $5,000,000 combined single limit 
per occurrence for bodily and property damage.  The deductible can be no more than 
$50,000. 

 
• Employer’s Liability Insurance.  Licensees must maintain employer’s liability insurance 

with limits of no less than $1,500,000 per accident. 
 

• Business Automobile Insurance.  Licensees and registrants must maintain business 
automobile insurance that covers every vehicle used by the licensee or registrant in its 
business with liability limits of no less than $2,000,000 combined single limit per 
accident for bodily injury and property damage.  

 
Notifications.  Licensees, registrants, and applicants must notify BIC if certain events occur, 
and in some cases provide related documents.  Although enrollment is not required by the new 
rules, programs like the New York State Department of Motor Vehicle’s License Event 
Notification System (LENS) can help you comply with these rules.  Starting on November 16, 
2018, all licensees, registrants, and applicants must notify BIC of the following events within 10 
business days from the day the event occurs: 

 
• Vehicle and Traffic Summonses.  You must notify BIC all vehicle and traffic tickets 

issued to the company or the company’s drivers while operating a vehicle on behalf of 
the company. 
  

https://dmv.ny.gov/dmv-records/license-event-notification-service-lens-accounts
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• Driver License Suspensions or Revocations. You must notify BIC if one of the 
company’s vehicle operator’s driver’s license is suspended or revoked. 
 

• Crashes.  You must notify BIC if any vehicle used in the course of its business are 
involved in any crash. If the company is required to file a Report of Motor Vehicle 
Accident (MV-104) or other forms with the New York State of DMV, the company must 
also provide those documents to BIC.  
 

• Determinations by Federal, State, or Local Authorities. You must notify BIC of all 
determinations by any federal, state, or local government agency or authority that result 
in (1) the suspension or revocation of a permit or license required for the operation of its 
business, (2) any injunctive relief against the company or its employees or agents, (3) a 
fine or penalty of more than $1,000, or (4) the determination relates to a violation of the 
Vehicle and Traffic Law or any other laws relating the safe operation of a vehicle. 

 
Recordkeeping.  Starting on November 16, 2018, the new rules require licensees and registrants 
to maintain the following records: 

 
• Written Policies and Procedures.  Licensees and registrants must maintain written 

policies and procedures regarding compliance with all federal, state, and local laws and 
regulations concerning vehicle specifications, sanitary requirements, handling, transport, 
receipt, transfer or disposal of trade waste, regulated medical waste or waste containing 
asbestos or other hazardous, toxic or dangerous material. 
 

• MV-104 and other NYS DMV Forms.  Licensees and registrants must maintain all 
Reports of Motor Vehicle Accident (MV-104) and any other forms it is required to file 
with the New York State DMV related to a crash. 
 

• Determinations by Federal, State, or Local Authorities.  Licensees, registrants, and 
applicants must maintain all determinations by any federal, state, or local government 
agency or authority that result in (1) the suspension or revocation of a permit or license 
required for the operation of its business, (2) any injunctive relief against the company or 
its employees or agents, (3) a fine or penalty of more than $1,000, or (4) the 
determination relates to a violation of the Vehicle and Traffic Law or any other laws 
relating the safe operation of a vehicle. 


