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Wages & Hours 
Minimum Wage: 

 You must be paid for every hour you work, including, in some 
cases, work before and/or after your scheduled shift and time spent 
traveling during the workday.  
 

Minimum Wage in New York City 

 Through December 31, 2019, the minimum wage is $13.50 per 
hour for employers with 10 or fewer workers, and $15.00 per hour 
for employers with more than 10 workers.  
 

 Starting on January 1, 2020, the minimum wage in New York City 
is $15.00 per hour for all workers. 
 

 If your employer is located outside New York City, different 
minimum wage rates may apply. For more information regarding 
minimum wage rates in the State of New York, see: 
https://labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/minw
age.shtm. For more information regarding minimum wage rates 
throughout the United States, see: 
https://www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/america.htm.  

 

Overtime: 

 If you work more than 40 hours in a week, your employer must pay 
at least 1 ½ times your regular rate of pay for hours worked over 
40. 
 

 For some drivers and helpers, the Motor Carrier Exemption to the 
Fair Labor Standards Act may apply. For more information see 
https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs19.htm  

 

Maximum number of hours: 

Non-Drivers: 

 There are no restrictions on the number of hours you are allowed 
to work within a 24-hour period.  
 

Drivers: 

 After a required off-duty period of 10 or more consecutive hours, 
you may only drive a maximum of 11 hours during a 14-hour period 
after coming on duty.  
 

 This rule may not apply to all drivers. For more information see 
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/hours-service/summary-
hours-service-regulations  

 
 

For more information on wage and hour rights or to file a 
complaint, contact: 
 
 

 New York State Department of Labor Wage & Hour Division 
Call 888-469-7635  
Visit labor.ny.gov  
 

New York State Department of Labor NYC District Office 
Call 212-775-3880 
 

 U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division 
Call 866-487-9243 
Visit dol.gov/whd 

 
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division in NYC  

Call 212-264-8185 
 

 New York Attorney General  
Call 800-771-7755 
Visit ag.ny.gov 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Trade Waste Workers Have Rights 
In accordance with Local Law 56 of 2019, the NYC Business Integrity Commission requires all trade waste 

licensees & registrants to disseminate directly to employees engaged in operating vehicles or handling waste, and to 
post conspicuously the following information: 

File a Complaint with BIC 
 

If you believe that your employer has violated your 
rights, you may file a complaint with BIC for possible 

referral to the appropriate local, state, or federal 
agency. 

 

 Call BIC's complaint telephone line at 
212-437-0600 
 

 Fax your complaint to BIC at 646-500-
7096 
 

 File your complaint online by clicking 
“Submit a Complaint” at 
www.nyc.gov/bic: 

 

Worker Safety  
Training & Equipment 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
(OSHA) Requirements: 

 Your workplace must be free of known health 
and safety hazards. You have the right to 
receive information and training about job 
hazards.  
 

 Your employer must identify and provide 
appropriate personal protective equipment.  
 

All Workers Have the Right to: 

 See any OSHA citations issued to your 
employer. 
 

 Request an OSHA inspection of your 
workplace if you believe there are unsafe or 
unhealthy conditions. 

 

 File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days by 
phone, online, or by mail.  

 

For more information, see: 

https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/personalprotectiveequipme
nt/standards.html  

and 

https://www.osha.gov/Publications/osha2254.pdf  

To file a complaint, contact: 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 
 Call 800-321-6742 
 Visit osha.gov 
 

Paid Safe & Sick Leave 
If you work in NYC for more than 80 hours a year, you 
can earn up to 40 hours of safe and sick leave each 
year to use for yourself or to help anyone you consider 
family. For more information, contact:  
 

NYC Department of Consumer and Worker 
Protection  

Call 311 
Visit nyc.gov/workers 
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