BUSINESS INTEGRITY COMMISSION
100 Church Street - 20th Floor

New York - New York 10007
Tel. (212) 437-0500

Elizabeth Crotty
Commissioner and Chair

July 31, 2025

IMPORTANT NOTICE:
Workers’ Rights Information MUST Be Provided to Employees
Updated BIC Poster Available

To All Trade Waste Licensees and Registrants:

You are required, per Local Law 56 of 2019, to post conspicuously and provide directly
to employees engaged in operating vehicles or handling waste, the following information:

The maximum number of hours employees are permitted to work in a 24-hour period
The minimum wage

Any required worker safety trainings

Information regarding what safety equipment must be provided by employers

A description of how to contact BIC to file a complaint

A list of additional governmental agencies that accept complaints about violations
of workers’ rights and their contact information, including the New York State
Attorney General, the New York State Department of Labor, and the United States
Department of Labor

The poster attached to this notice and posted on BIC’s website here includes the required
information and is available to use for your convenience. It will also be available in
additional languages including Spanish on BIC’s website in the next few weeks.

Please be advised that proof of compliance with the requirement to post such information
for trade waste workers may be requested by BIC investigators at the time of a facility
Visit.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.


https://www.nyc.gov/site/bic/industries/online-portal.page
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NEW YORK CITY BUSINESS INTEGRITY COMMISSION (BIC)

TRADE WASTE WORKER RIGHTS

Per Local Law 56 of 2019, for all employees that operate vehicles and/or handle waste, BIC trade waste licensees & registrants are
required to disseminate directly and to post conspicuously the following information:

e You must be paid for every hour you work

o MAY include work before and/or after your
scheduled shift and time spent traveling during
the workday

Minimum Wage in New York City:
e $16.50 per hour as of January 1, 2025

¢ Increasing by $0.50 per hour on January 1, 2026

e Beginning in 2027, the minimum wage will increase
annually related to the Consumer Price Index.

¢ For more information and to see minimum wage
rates outside of NYC visit:
https:/dol.ny.gov/minimum-wage-0
HOURS *
Overtime:
¢ Your employer must pay at least 12 times your regular
rate of pay for hours worked over 40.
e For some drivers and helpers, the Motor Carrier
Exemption to the Fair Labor Standards Act may apply. For

more information see:
https./www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs19.htm

Maximum Number of Hours:
¢ NON-DRIVERS:
o There are no restrictions on the number of hours you
are allowed to work within a 24-hour period.

e DRIVERS:

o After a required off-duty period of 10 or more
consecutive hours, you may only drive a maximum of
11 hours during a 14-hour period after coming on duty.

o This rule may not apply to all drivers.

o For more information see:
https./www.fmcsa.dot.gov/requlations/hours-
service/summary- hours-service-regulations

FOR MORE INFORMATION ON
WAGE AND HOUR RIGHTS

OR TO FILE A COMPLAINT,
CONTACT:

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division in NYC
Call 212-264-8185

NYC District Office
Call 212-775-3880

U.S. Department of Labor NYS Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division Wage & Hour Division
Call 866-487-9243 Call 888-469-7635
Visit dolgov/whd Visit labor.ny.gov
New York Attorney General
Call 800-771-7755

New York State Department of Labor

WORKER SAFETY,

1

TRAINING, & EQUIPMENT

Workers Have the Right To:
e A workplace free of known health and safety hazards

e Receive information and training about job hazards

e Personal protective equipment provided by your
employer

e See any Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA) citations issued to your
employer

e Request an OSHA inspection of your workplace if you
believe there are unsafe or unhealthy conditions

¢ File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days

File an OSHA Complaint:
Call 800-321-6742
Visit osha.gov

For more information see:
https./www.osha.gov/SLTC/personalprotectiveequipme
nt/standards.html and
https./www.osha.gov/Publications/osha2254.pdf

NYC PAID SAFE & SICK

LEAVE

If you work in NYC for more than 80 hours a year,
you can earn up to 40 hours of safe and sick leave
each year to use for yourself or to help anyone
you consider family.

For more information see:
https:/www.nyc.gov/assets/dca/downloads/pdf/ab
out/PaidSickl eave-FAQs.pdf

Or Contact NYC Department of Consumer and
Worker Protection (DCWP)

Call 311

Visit nyc.gov/workers

CHECK U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND
OSHA WEBSITES DIRECTLY FOR THE MOST
UP-TO-DATE INFORMATION ABOUT FEDERAL
STANDARDS AND REGULATIONS

SUBMIT A COMPLAINT
DIRECTLY TO BIC:

BIC Main : (212) 437-0500
Complaints: (212) 437-0600
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