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COMMISSION DIRECTIVE 
 
Dear Licensees and Registrants: 
 
Local Law 56 of 2019 requires all trade waste licensees and registrants to disseminate directly to 
their employees engaged in operating vehicles or handling waste, and to post conspicuously, the 
following information: 
 

(i) the maximum number of hours such employees are permitted to work in a twenty-four 
hour period; 
 

(ii) the minimum wage such employees must be paid; 
 

(iii) any required worker safety trainings for such employees; 
 

(iv) information regarding what safety equipment must be provided by employers; 
 

(v) a description of how to contact the Commission to lodge a complaint; and 
 

(vi) a list of additional governmental agencies that accept complaints about violations of 
workers’ rights, including the New York State Attorney General, the New York State 
Department of Labor, and the United States Department of Labor, and contact 
information for such agencies. 

 
Enclosed for your convenience is a document that includes the required information.  In addition 
to posting this information conspicuously, you are also required to disseminate this information 
directly to your employees who operate vehicles or handle waste. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
 
Noah D. Genel  
Commissioner and Chair 



Dec. 2019 

Wages & Hours 
Minimum Wage: 

 You must be paid for every hour you work, including, in some
cases, work before and/or after your scheduled shift and time spent
traveling during the workday.

Minimum Wage in New York City 

 Through December 31, 2019, the minimum wage is $13.50 per
hour for employers with 10 or fewer workers, and $15.00 per hour
for employers with more than 10 workers.

 Starting on January 1, 2020, the minimum wage in New York City
is $15.00 per hour for all workers.

 If your employer is located outside New York City, different
minimum wage rates may apply. For more information regarding
minimum wage rates in the State of New York, see:
https://labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/minw
age.shtm. For more information regarding minimum wage rates
throughout the United States, see:
https://www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/america.htm.

Overtime: 

 If you work more than 40 hours in a week, your employer must pay
at least 1 ½ times your regular rate of pay for hours worked over
40.

 For some drivers and helpers, the Motor Carrier Exemption to the
Fair Labor Standards Act may apply. For more information see
https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs19.htm

Maximum number of hours: 

Non-Drivers: 

 There are no restrictions on the number of hours you are allowed
to work within a 24-hour period.

Drivers: 

 After a required off-duty period of 10 or more consecutive hours,
you may only drive a maximum of 11 hours during a 14-hour period
after coming on duty.

 This rule may not apply to all drivers. For more information see
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/hours-service/summary-
hours-service-regulations

For more information on wage and hour rights or to file a 
complaint, contact: 

 New York State Department of Labor Wage & Hour Division
Call 888-469-7635 
Visit labor.ny.gov  

New York State Department of Labor NYC District Office 
Call 212-775-3880 

 U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division
Call 866-487-9243 
Visit dol.gov/whd 

U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division in NYC 
Call 212-264-8185 

 New York Attorney General
Call 800-771-7755 
Visit ag.ny.gov 

 

 

Trade Waste Workers Have Rights 
In accordance with Local Law 56 of 2019, the NYC Business Integrity Commission requires all trade waste 

licensees & registrants to disseminate directly to employees engaged in operating vehicles or handling waste, and to 
post conspicuously the following information: 

File a Complaint with BIC 
If you believe that your employer has violated your 

rights, you may file a complaint with BIC for possible 
referral to the appropriate local, state, or federal 

agency. 

 Call BIC's complaint telephone line at 
212-437-0600

 Fax your complaint to BIC at 646-500-
7096 

 File your complaint online by clicking
“Submit a Complaint” at
www.nyc.gov/bic:

Worker Safety 
Training & Equipment 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
(OSHA) Requirements: 

 Your workplace must be free of known health
and safety hazards. You have the right to
receive information and training about job
hazards.

 Your employer must identify and provide
appropriate personal protective equipment.

All Workers Have the Right to: 

 See any OSHA citations issued to your
employer.

 Request an OSHA inspection of your
workplace if you believe there are unsafe or
unhealthy conditions.

 File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days by
phone, online, or by mail.

For more information, see: 

https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/personalprotectiveequipme
nt/standards.html  

and 

https://www.osha.gov/Publications/osha2254.pdf 

To file a complaint, contact: 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 
 Call 800-321-6742 
 Visit osha.gov 

Paid Safe & Sick Leave 
If you work in NYC for more than 80 hours a year, you 
can earn up to 40 hours of safe and sick leave each 
year to use for yourself or to help anyone you consider 
family. For more information, contact:  

NYC Department of Consumer and Worker 
Protection  

Call 311 
Visit nyc.gov/workers 
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