About DOT

2008 Press Releases

Wednesday, December 31, 2008
Borden Avenue Bridge in Queens Closed for Six-Month Reconstruction Project

Tuesday, December 30, 2008
Study of Park Slope ASP suspension finds minimal impact on parking and local traffic

Tuesday, December 23, 2008
ASP regulations suspended for snow removal Wednesday, December 24 and on Christmas Day, Thursday, December 25

Monday, December 22, 2008
Suspension of Alternate Side Parking regulations to facilitate snow removal Tuesday, December 23

Monday, December 22, 2008
DOT and community leaders unveil a 'grand' new Grand Concourse for the Bronx

Monday, December 22, 2008
Suspension of Alternate Side Parking regulations to facilitate snow removal Monday, December 22

Friday, December 19, 2008
Suspension of Alternate Side Parking regulations to facilitate snow removal Saturday, December 20

Thursday, December 18, 2008
Suspension of Alternate Side Parking regulations to facilitate snow removal Friday, December 19

Monday, December 15, 2008
DOT study finds an unprecedented period of transit-oriented growth in city travel

Tuesday, December 9, 2008
DOT Releases 2009 Alternate Side Parking calendar

Friday, November 14, 2008
Winners announced in CityRacks design competition

Friday, November 14, 2008
New York City DOT Releases World Class Streets Report, Calling for Enhanced Public and Pedestrian Space

Thursday, October 30, 2008
DOT announces 35% increase in commuter cycling from 2007 to 2008 and calls on cyclists to use lights to be seen & safe

Wednesday, October 22, 2008
DOT announces major pedestrian and traffic redesign at the Bronx Hub

Wednesday, October 8, 2008
DOT unveils talking kiosk at Whitehall Ferry

Tuesday, September 30, 2008
Finalists Announced in "CityRack" Design Competition for New City Bike-Parking Standard

Monday, September 29, 2008
DOT completes conversion of street cleaning regulations for all of Brooklyn's community board 6

Monday, September 15, 2008
Commissioner Sadik-Khan, MTA Executive Director Sander Introduce 34th Street SBS Bus Lanes

Tuesday, September 9, 2008
DOT Commissioner Sadik-Khan and Councilman Liu announce safe streets for seniors initiative for Flushing, Queens

Monday, September 8, 2008
DOT Commissioner Sadik-Khan and Elected Officials Reopen Historic Manhattan Bridge Archway to Public

Tuesday, September 2, 2008
Street Cleaning Regulations Suspended In Parts Of Red Hook Starting Sept. 8th As DOT Starts Final Phase Of Sign-Replacement Project

Wednesday, August 27, 2008
DOT and DCAS Team Up to Expand Bicycle Parking at Municipal Buildings in Lower Manhattan

Tuesday, August 19, 2008
DOT Installs David Byrne-Designed Bike Racks

Tuesday, August 19, 2008
DOT Announces Hamilton Avenue Bridge Will Re-Open to Two-Way Traffic Tonight, Ahead of Schedule

Thursday, August 14, 2008
DOT Announces Summer Streets Photo Competition

Monday, August 11, 2008
Street Cleaning Regulations Suspended in Parts of Cobble Hill, Carroll Gardens and Other Areas West of Court Street Starting August 18th as DOT Starts the Third Phase of Sign-Replacement Project

Friday, August 1, 2008
DOT Announces Safety Upgrade at Park Avenue and 33rd Street/Trial Closure of Park Avenue Tunnel���s Southbound Lane

Thursday, July 31, 2008
DOT and Transportation Alternatives Announce Winners of Bike Friendly Business Competition

Tuesday, July 29, 2008
DOT Marks Progress Toward Livable Streets for New York City

Monday, July 28, 2008
DOT Announces Second Set of Schools to Receive Street Safety Improvements Under ���Safe Routes to School��� Program

Wednesday, July 9, 2008
DOT Announces Request for Expressions of Interest (RFEI) for Bringing Bike Share Program to NYC

Tuesday, July 8, 2008
DOT Announces A Record Year For Citywide Bicycle Improvements

Tuesday, July 1, 2008
Street Cleaning Regulations Suspended in Parts of Boerum Hill, Carroll Gardens, Cobble Hill and Gowanus, Brooklyn, Starting July 7 as DOT Starts Second Phase of Posting New Signs

Friday, June 27, 2008
DOT Resurfaces Administration-High 950th Lane-Mile of Street This Fiscal Year

Tuesday, June 24, 2008
DOT Launches NYC Plaza Program, Bringing Community-Based Planning to Create Public Spaces Throughout the City

Thursday, May 29, 2008
City Announces Next Round of Public Toilet Locations

Monday, May 12, 2008
Alternate Side Parking Regulations Suspended in Park Slope, Brooklyn from May 19 Until Further Notice as DOT Posts New, Reduced Street-Cleaning Restrictions

Thursday, May 1, 2008
Sunday May 4th Street Closures for Five Borough Bike Tour

Monday, April 28, 2008
DOT Lays Out Ambitious, Sustainable Vision In New Strategic Plan, "Sustainable Streets"

Sunday, April 27, 2008
City DOT and Transportation Alternatives Announce Bike Friendly Business Competition

Thursday, March 13, 2008
City DOT and Cooper-Hewitt Announce Bike Parking Design Competition

Friday, February 29, 2008
181st Street Ramp to Re-Open on Saturday, March 1

Monday, February 25, 2008
DOT Unveils First City Temporary Art Program in DUMBO

Thursday, February 21, 2008
Suspension of Alternate Side Parking (ASP) Regulations to Facilitate Snow Removal

Friday, January 25, 2008
Updated: Second Round of Workshops to Address Neighborhood Parking

Tuesday, January 15, 2008
City Transportation Leaders Unite to Tackle Pedestrian Safety

Sunday, January 13, 2008
Suspension of Alternate Side Parking (ASP) Regulations to Facilitate Snow Removal

Thursday, January 10, 2008
City Unveils First Public Toilet of Street Furniture Franchise