Mayor's Interagency Task Force on Truancy, Chronic Absenteeism and School Engagement
Translate Email a Friend Printer Friendly Text Size: Sm Med Lg

Watch PSAs Created By Students

City Agencies

A number of complex and varied factors contribute to truancy and chronic absenteeism that go beyond the scope of the Department of Education. Accordingly, the Task Force consists of the heads of the key stakeholder agencies responsible for areas contributing to absenteeism, including:

  • Schools Chancellor Dennis Walcott, Department of Education
  • Commissioner Seth Diamond, Department of Homeless Services
  • Commissioner Ronald E. Richter, Administration for Children's Services
  • Commissioner Thomas Farley, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
  • Commissioner Jeanne Mullgrav, Department of Youth and Community Development
  • Chief Service Officer Diahann Billings-Burford,NYC Service
  • Commissioner Raymond Kelly, New York City Police Department
  • Commissioner Robert Doar, Human Resources Administration
  • Chairman John B. Rhea, New York City Housing Authority
  • Commissioner Lilliam Barrios-Paoli, Department for the Aging
  • Commissioner Vincent Schiraldi, Department of Probation
Wakeup NYC
Wakeup NYC
The Challenge

Learn what the Task Force is doing to tackle this problem.