On-Line Transactions (LARS) Printer Friendly Format Newsletter Sign-up Translate This Page Text Size Small Medium Large

Apply for a License
Upload Documents (TLC UP)
Pay Renewal Fee
Pay Summons
Pay Other Fees
Update License Information
Additional Information

Lost Property Search

Register to Vote

Thank you for visiting the TLC's Licensing section. Here, visitors will find information related to:

  • Obtaining a license
  • Important policy and program information
  • Online transactions that we offer

We encourage you to visit each of the available options.

Please select from below:

Apply for a License / Permit

Renew a License

FHV, Paratransit and Commuter Van Owners

Medallion Owners

SHL Owners

Base/Business Owners

Important Information About Drug Test Requirements

Request an appointment to update the photo for your TLC driver license

You can update your appearance or change a poor quality image on your TLC license by appointment.

You will need to have the Update TLC Credential Form available here and payment of $25.

Request your appointment here.


  • If you received a directive or summons instructing you to update your photo, you will not need an appointment.
  • Do not use this appointment to request a replacement license or change to new license type. Replacement licenses can be requested without an appointment and will cost $25.
  • Changing to new license style can be requested for free here.

Check TLC & DMV License Status

Check TLC Driver License Application Status

Check Penalty Points & Open Summonses 

Request an Appointment:

Scheduled Appointments


Frequently used Forms

Study Guide and Education Resources for Drivers

Additional Information

Get Free Financial or Business Counseling

At NYC’s Financial Empowerment Center, you can meet one-on-one with a professional, financial counselor who can help you with financial guidance. Service provided by New York Department of Consumer Affair.

At NYC’s Industrial Business Service Providers Centers you can connect with trained specialists who can provide assistance by reviewing your business plan and providing feedback and recommendations, identifying incentives and financing assistance, and providing recommendations on recruiting and hiring employees. Service provided by New York Department of Small Business Services.