Taxi Info for Yellow Cabs

Metered Fare Information

e On-screen rate is ‘Rate #01 — Standard City Rate.’

e Theinitial charge is $2.50.

e Plus 50 cents per 1/5 mile or 50 cents per 60 seconds in slow traffic or when the vehicle is
stopped.

e In moving traffic on Manhattan streets, the meter should “click” approximately every four
downtown blocks, or one block going cross-town (East-West).

e There is a 50-cent MTA State Surcharge for all trips that end in New York City or
Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange or Putnam Counties.

e There is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.

e There is a daily 50-cent surcharge from 8pm to 6am.

e Thereisa $1 surcharge from 4pm to 8pm on weekdays, excluding holidays.

e Passengers must pay all bridge and tunnel tolls.

e Your receipt will show your total fare including tolls. Please take your receipt.

e The driver is not required to accept bills over $20.

e Please tip your driver for good service and safe driving.

e There are no charges for extra passengers or bags.

Toll Information

e The passenger is responsible for paying all bridge and tunnel tolls.
e Use of E-ZPass
o Adriver must use an E-ZPass when taking a toll bridge or tunnel and must pass the
discounted toll amount to the passenger. The amount of the toll will be added to the
metered fare at the end of the trip.
e Round-trip tolls
o Passengers must pay all tolls to and from the destination in Westchester and Nassau
Counties.
o Passengers must pay return tolls for trips over the Cross Bay Veterans, and Marine
Parkway-Gil Hodges Memorial Bridges.
o Passengers must pay for all tolls to and from Newark Airport.

Credit/Debit Cards

e You can pay for your trip with cash or credit/debit/prepaid card.
e There are no minimum fares required for credit/debit/prepaid card payment.
e There are no additional fees (surcharges) for paying with your credit/debit/prepaid card.



Medallion Taxicab Passenger Bill of Rights

As a taxi rider, you have the right to:

e Adriver who has and uses E-ZPass at all toll crossings that accept it and who charges
passengers the discounted E-ZPass rate;

e Pay for your ride with credit/debit/prepaid card;

e Go to any destination in NYC, Westchester County, Nassau County, or Newark Airport;

e Direct the route taken: The most direct route or one of your choice;

e Asafe and courteous driver who obeys all traffic laws;

e A knowledgeable driver who speaks English and knows City geography;

e Air conditioning or heat on request;

e A noise-free trip: no horn honking or radio;

e (Clean air. Smoke and scent-free air;

e Working seatbelts for all passengers;

e A clean taxicab: interior, exterior and partition;

e Be accompanied by a service animal;

e Adriver who does not use a cell phone while driving (hand-held or hands free);

e Decline to tip for poor service.

Airport Trips

e To & From LaGuardia Airport:
This is a metered fare.

o Onscreen rate is ‘Rate #01 — Standard City Rate’.
o The initial charge is $2.50.
o Plus 50 cents per 1/5 mile or 50 cents per 60 seconds in slow traffic or when the vehicle

is stopped. Plus tolls, surcharges, extras and, as an option, tips.
o There is a 50-cent MTA State Surcharge for all trips ending in New York City or Nassau,
Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange or Putnam Counties.
There is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.
There is a daily 50-cent surcharge from 8pm to 6am.
There is a $1 surcharge from 4pm to 8pm on weekdays excluding holidays.

e To/From JFK and any location in Manhattan:
o Thisis a flat fare of $52 plus tolls, the 50-cent MTA State Surcharge, and the 30-cent
Improvement Surcharge. Onscreen rate is ‘Rate #02 — JFK Airport’.
o Passenger is responsible for paying all tolls.

e From JFK to other New York City destinations:
o Thisis a metered fare.



Onscreen rate is ‘Rate #01 — Standard City Rate’.
The initial charge is $2.50. Plus 50-cents per 1/5 mile or 50-cents per 60 seconds in slow
traffic or when the vehicle is stopped. Plus tolls, surcharges, extras and, as an option,
tips.
o There is a 50-cent MTA State Surcharge for all trips ending in New York City or Nassau,
Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange or Putnam Counties.
There is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.
There is a daily 50-cent surcharge from 8pm to 6am.
There is a $1 surcharge from 4pm to 8pm on weekdays excluding holidays.
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Tips are optional.

To Newark Airport:

o Thisis a metered fare with an initial charge of $20 (517.50 Newark Surcharge plus initial
charge within City limit), plus the mileage/time charges, plus all roundtrip tolls.
Onscreen rate is ‘Rate #03 — Newark Airport.’

There is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.
Tips are optional.

Out of Town Trips

Westchester & Nassau Counties:

o This is a metered fare that is equal to the metered amount to City limit ‘Rate Code #01 —
Standard City’ plus double the metered amount from the City limit to your destination
plus round-trip tolls, the MTA State Surcharge, and the 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.

o Once the taxi goes beyond the City limit to Nassau or Westchester, the onscreen rate
message should read ‘Rate #04 — Out of City Rate to Nassau or Westchester’.
Additionally, a message should appear on screen alerting the passenger of the rate
change.

o Tips are optional. Passenger must pay all bridge and tunnel tolls.

To Newark Airport:

o This is a metered fare with an initial charge of $20 ($17.50 Newark surcharge plus initial
charge in City limit) plus the mileage/time charges and all round-trip tolls. Onscreen
rate is ‘Rate #03 — Newark Airport’.

o Thereis a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge. Tips are optional.

Other Points Outside the City:
o The Driver may choose whether to take such trips. The fare must be mutually agreed
upon before the trip may begin.
o Negotiated Flat Fare — The fare will be a Flat Rate negotiated between the Driver and



Passenger plus the MTA State Surcharge must be added to the flat rate for any trip that
ends in the following counties: Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland or Suffolk. The
onscreen rate message should read ‘Rate #05 — Out of City Negotiated Flat Rate’. There
is a 30-cent Improvement Surcharge.

o Tips are optional.

Group Ride Information

e Two, three, or four people can take a group ride from a yellow taxi Group Ride Stand and pay a

flat rate.

Group Ride Pickup Route End Point Fare/Person 50-cent MTA State
Location Surcharge

Port Authority Bus 59th St./6th Ave $3.00 One Passenger Pays
York Avenue Financial District $6.00 One Passenger Pays

e Group Ride pickup times are 6am — 10am, Monday — Friday (excluding holidays).
e Drop-offs are restricted to the Group Rides route. The onscreen rate message should read
‘Rate # 06 — Group Rate.’

Contact the TLC
Lost Property, Questions, Comments, Compliments, Complaints...

e Contact 311 or visit www.nyc.gov/311
e Qut of Town - call 212-New-York
® www.nyc.gov/taxi



